LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Wendy Holden - Author

About the Author

Number One bestselling author Wendy Holden has written ten consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers. A former journalist on the Sunday Times, Tatler and the Mail on Sunday, she contributes to a range of publications and is a TV and radio regular. She was a judge for the Costa 2013 Novel and Book of the Year Awards. Wendy lives with her husband and two children in Derbyshire.

Photo © Laurie Fletcher

Featured books by Wendy Holden

Gifted and Talented

Gifted and Talented

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/01/2014

Welcome to Branston College ...We are an academic institution in the heart of an ancient university town. Our architecture might not feature dreaming spires, but the central dome nonetheless casts a characterful shadow. Amenities include a distinctive subterranean bar and a newly renovated garden where you can observe local wildlife. Diana is starting a new life as gardener at Branston, a challenging restoration project which allows her to indulge a love of delphiniums beneath the disconcerting gaze of dishy but remote Richard, the recently widowed College Master. A new term brings new students, among them It Girl Amber, darling of the gossip columns and dead ringer for inclusion in the university's notorious elite society. As lustful teenagers and crabby tutors run riot in Diana's garden, her peaceful haven is trampled, and then a blast from the past threatens to ruin a new romance. Can anything save Diana's hard-won happiness, let alone her herbaceous borders?

ebook of the month

Other books by Wendy Holden

Haatchi and Little B - Junior edition

Haatchi and Little B - Junior edition

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2015

When Haatchi was injured by a train, he lost one of his legs and his tail - a huge problem for such a big dog. He needed some serious love; he needed to find his perfect Forever Home. And then Haatchi met Owen. Owen was finding life hard too. He also needed some love. And, like Haatchi, he had a lot of love to give . . . This is the inspiring true story of the best friends who can overcome any problem together. Because, after all, it doesn't matter how many legs or wheels you have, it's who journeys with you.

Haatchi and Little B

Haatchi and Little B

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/11/2014

Haatchi and Little B tells the inspiring and moving true story of Owen Howkins (also known as Little B, short for 'Buddy') and Haatchi, an Anatolian shepherd dog who was abandoned on a railway line as a puppy and left for dead. Thankfully, Haatchi was rescued, despite sustaining severe injuries. And so Haatchi, in turn, was able to rescue Owen, at the time an anxious and withdrawn little boy born with a rare genetic disorder, who found it hard to make friends. But Owen fell in love with his new three-legged canine housemate at first sight, and life would never be the same. The touching story of this dynamic and loveable duo is a life-affirming tale of happiness and friendship.

Haatchi & Little B

Haatchi & Little B

Author: Wendy Holden Format: eBook Release Date: 01/07/2014

#1 International BestsellerWhen Owen met Haatchi, the lives of one adorable little boy and one great, big dog were destined to change forever.Owen-known to his family as "e;little buddy"e; or "e;Little B"e;-has a rare genetic disorder that leaves him largely confined to a wheelchair. Before being united with Haatchi, Little B was anxious and found it difficult to make friends. Haatchi-an adorable Anatolian Shepherd puppy-was abused and left for dead on railroad tracks. He was struck by an oncoming train, and although his life was saved, his leg and tail were partially severed. Haatchi was left massively disabled and totally dispirited.But kind-hearted Will and Colleen Howkins, Little B's father and step-mother, decided to introduce the big dog and the little boy to each other, and an unbelievable bond was formed that transformed both boy and dog in miraculous ways.Wendy Holden's Haatchi & Little B is the true story of an astonishing little boy, a very special dog, and the inspiring, inseparable pair that they make together.

Echte Freunde

Echte Freunde

Author: Wendy Holden Format: eBook Release Date: 27/03/2014

Ein kleiner Junge und ein groer Hund haben beide die Schattenseiten des Lebens kennengelernt. Wahrend Owen an einer seltenen Krankheit leidet und an den Rollstuhl gefesselt ist, wurde Haatchi an ein Bahngleis gebunden und von einem Zug erfasst, wodurch er ein Bein verlor. Beide kennen das Gefuhl, Auenseiter zu sein, fur beide ist jeder Tag ein Kampf. Erst ihre Freundschaft schenkt ihnen das Vertrauen in sich und zu anderen, und so entdecken beide das groe Gluck, nicht allein zu sein.

Gifted and Talented

Gifted and Talented

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/01/2014

Welcome to Branston College ...We are an academic institution in the heart of an ancient university town. Our architecture might not feature dreaming spires, but the central dome nonetheless casts a characterful shadow. Amenities include a distinctive subterranean bar and a newly renovated garden where you can observe local wildlife. Diana is starting a new life as gardener at Branston, a challenging restoration project which allows her to indulge a love of delphiniums beneath the disconcerting gaze of dishy but remote Richard, the recently widowed College Master. A new term brings new students, among them It Girl Amber, darling of the gossip columns and dead ringer for inclusion in the university's notorious elite society. As lustful teenagers and crabby tutors run riot in Diana's garden, her peaceful haven is trampled, and then a blast from the past threatens to ruin a new romance. Can anything save Diana's hard-won happiness, let alone her herbaceous borders?

ebook of the month
Marrying Up

Marrying Up

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/09/2011

She stopped at nothing. To get everything. Scheming social climber Alexa may be humbly born. But she's a class-hopping cruise missile aimed at the very top of the gold-digging tree. Only a title, mansion and family tiara will do. Befriending feckless aristo Florrie (three surnames plus black hole where her brain should be) means the grandest doors swing open and the prince of her dreams is in sight. But has Florrie's mother, the formidable Lady Annabel, rumbled what Alexa is up to? Beautiful but penniless student Polly, meanwhile, is in love. Is Max, the handsome young vet she's found in a country lane, quite as ordinary as he seems, however? Passionate love, eye-widening snobbery and more than naked ambition abound in this contemporary Cinderella tale - a deliciously satirical novel of the upwardly mobile.

Level 4: The Full Monty Book for Pack

Level 4: The Full Monty Book for Pack

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/03/2010

Contemporary / British English Gaz and five others decide to form a strippers' group. none of the men have stripped before. Gaz must make sure the local women come to the show, so he tells them that the group will take their clothes off. Will these unlikely strippers dare to go for the 'full monty'? The Full Monty is a very popular and funny British film!

The School for Husbands

The School for Husbands

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/06/2007

Sophie's marriage was perfect, but now it's all gone wrong. Mark works late; she's left with the baby, domestic drudgery, her own career to keep on the go and the growing feeling that Mark is having an affair. When he fails to come home one night it's the last straw. Sophie wants a divorce. But Mark doesn't. He hasn't been unfaithful, just thoughtless. Desperate not to lose his family, he signs up to the 'School for Husbands', which transforms hopeless spouses into perfect marriage partners. But will its intensive and unusual tuition be enough to get him back with Sophie? Especially now an eligible millionaire is after her...

Bad Heir Day

Bad Heir Day

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2006

Anna's boyfriend Seb is impossibly handsome, impossibly rich and generally just impossible. When eventually he dumps her, she vows to give up men and throw herself into her career. Which is how she ends up working for Cassandra. The social climber from hell, Cassandra has a huge house in Kensington, a philandering rock star husband and the spawn of Satan for a son. So when desperate-to-escape Anna meets dashing Jamie, charming heir to a castle in Scotland, she can't believe her luck. And she probably shouldn't...

Simply Divine

Simply Divine

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2006

'A modern day Jilly Cooper' Glamour. A witty, well-observed tale from bestseller WENDY HOLDEN, author of MARRYING UP and FAME FATALE. Champagne D'Vyne is a celebrity socialite with a charmed life - and a mania for men, money and fame. Jane is a journalist with an ordinary life - love stress, work stress and a spare tyre that won't go away. As their contrasting worlds become bizarrely intertwined, Jane realises that the blonde, busty and blatantly ambitious Champagne will let nothing come between her and what she wants. Least of all Jane.

Fame Fatale

Fame Fatale

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2006

A sparklingly witty novel from the bestselling author WENDY HOLDEN. For fans of GALLERY GIRL and BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE. Ruthless, beautiful Belinda wants a rich and famous man. Her problem is that interviewing Z-list celebs offers zero opportunity for megastar-bagging. Gentle Grace, meanwhile, only wants a quiet life. Her problems include an egomaniac boyfriend, a meddling mother and a publishing job with the authors from hell. Belinda finally makes the A-list, while Grace finds fame thrust upon her in the shape of a handsome film star. As the girls' lives and careers spectacularly collide, their real problems begin...

Pastures Nouveaux

Pastures Nouveaux

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2006

Cash-strapped Rosie and her boyfriend Mark are city folk longing for a country cottage. Rampantly nouveaux-riches Samantha and Guy are also searching for rustic bliss - a mansion complete with mile-long drive and hot and cold running gardeners. The village of Eight Mile Bottom seems quiet enough, despite a nosy postman, a reclusive rock star, a glamorous Bond Girl and a ghost with a knife in its back. But there are unexpected thrills in the hills. The local siren seduces Guy while mysterious millionaire makes Rosie an offer she can't refuse. But should she?

Azur Like It

Azur Like It

Author: Wendy Holden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2006

Kate, a journalist in a small northern town, is fed up with covering black pudding championships for the Slackmucklethwaite Mercury and living with Mum, Dad and Gran in a semi called Wits End. When evil tycoon Peter Hardstone takes over the paper, slashes budgets and sacks staff, Kate's career hits an all-time low. Gloom turns to glamour once Hardstone's sexy son arrives to work on the Mercury. And when Kate's sent with him to cover the glittering Cannes Film Festival, she can't believe her luck. But it's not all fun and games: behind the glitz and sunshine lies a dark mystery that is Kate's most challenging newspaper assignment yet.