All the Bright Places

by Jennifer Niven

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on All the Bright Places

Fans of John Green will love this heart-wrenching teenage novel. School students Violet and Theodore Finch first meet on the ledge at the top of the school bell-tower. Of course, it is out of bounds and neither should be there but, for different reasons and in different ways, both are struggling to believe that their lives are worth living. Together, they have something worthwhile to share and maybe, through that sharing, they can save each other – and themselves? Jennifer Niven convincingly captures their despair and their hope and the importance of friendship.

Winner of the Readers Vote for Zoella Book Club title Summer 16.

Jennifer Niven says “Years ago, I knew and loved a boy. The experience was life-changing. I’d always wanted to write about it—I just wasn’t convinced I would ever be able to. ‘All the Bright Places’ was written about a very hard, sad, lovely time during a very hard, sad, stressful time - and now here it is in your hands. (I am still pinching myself that it even exists.) Thank you, reader. To me, you are the brightest of places.”

All the Bright Places Synopsis

All the Bright Places is a compelling and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the 'natural wonders' of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.

How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love? An intense, gripping YA novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.

All the Bright Places Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lauren Coffman - 'This book was exciting, happy, funny, thrilling and sad all in one and I would recommend it very highly.' Read full review >
  • Emily Passmore - 'Initially, I didn't think I'd like this book that much, but it grew on me! It was funny, interesting and emotional. Brilliant!' Read full review >
  • Ruby Woods - 'Niven has created a dark, yet hopelessly light world which you will never want to leave...A wonderful book, I will never forget.' Read full review >
  • Chloe Shortall - 'All The Bright Places is an emotional and honest novel about teenagers who do their best to save each other from the problems in their lives.' Read full review >
  • Louisa Cunliffe - 'One of the most beautiful yet gut wrenching books I have ever had the pleasure of reading...It will have a place in my heart and on my bookshelf for many years to come.' Read full review >
  • Amanda Gray - 'Finch is, a beautiful character, he's a character that will stay with me a very long time.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson - 'The characters were good and were portrayed very well...I got a little bit bored because I like more action I suppose but it wasn't my type of book.' Read full review >
  • Rose Heathcote - 'An incredible read although slow to start...I have already started to read this book again and I will recommend it to my friends and family. 5 stars'  Read full review >

All the Bright Places Press Reviews

“It’s beautiful, heartbreaking and as exhilarating as it is sad. Expect huge things.” - The Bookseller

 

“The YA bar just got raised a country mile” – Phil Earle, award-winning author

 

“One of the best books that I have read in a long time”  – Olivia, teen reviewer

 

“One of the most remarkable books I’ve read”  – Annie Everall, Authors Aloud

 

“A beautiful and powerful book”  – Jo, School Librarian

 

“Not just a typical love story” – Rhiannon, teen reviewer

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
One Would Think the Deep
Dark Tracks
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141357034
Publication date: 08/01/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141357034
Publication date: 8th January 2015
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Jennifer Niven

Jennifer Niven is the author of two narrative non-fiction books, The Ice Master and Ada Blackjack; a high school memoir, The Aqua Net Diaries; and four historical novels for adults: Velva Jean Learns to Drive (based on her Emmy Award-winning film of the same name), Velva Jean Learns to Fly, Becoming Clementine, and the forthcoming American Blonde. Jennifer lives in Los Angeles and you can learn more about her at www.jenniferniven.com. All the Bright Places is her first book for young adults.

More About Jennifer Niven

More Books By Jennifer Niven

Cover for Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
View All Books By Jennifer Niven

Share this book