twitter
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Those Above by Daniel Polansky
  

Lovereading view...

The first in an explosive new epic fantasy series by Daniel Polansky, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence.

If you like Daniel Polansky you might also like to read books by Alan Campbell, Joe Abercrombie and John Gwynne.

Win a signed copy of Circe

Circe

Circe is the amazing sequel to The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller.

"I remember Circe was one of the challenges met by Odysseus, the one who turned men into pigs. The beautiful character who narrates this story is that same “wicked witch” but a far cry from how Homer portrayed her. She is lovely, misunderstood, wilful and brilliant, a strong woman slowly growing into her power." - Sarah Broadhurst

Get your hands on a SIGNED copy of this innovative new take on Greek Mythology by clicking the button below and entering this prize draw! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winner will be notified by 7 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Those Above by Daniel Polansky

They enslaved humanity three thousand years ago. Tall, strong, perfect, superhuman and near immortal they rule from their glittering palaces in the eternal city in the centre of the world. They are called Those Above by their subjects. They enforce their will with fire and sword. Twenty five years ago mankind mustered an army and rose up against them, only to be slaughtered in a terrible battle. Hope died that day, but hatred survived. Whispers of another revolt are beginning to stir in the hearts of the oppressed: a woman, widowed in the war, who has dedicated her life to revenge; the general, the only man to ever defeat one of Those Above in single combat, summoned forth to raise a new legion; and a boy killer who rises from the gutter to lead an uprising in the capital. Those Above is the first of an extraordinary new fantasy epic by the author of the acclaimed Low Town series that will sweep the reader into a wholly alien, wholly recognizable world of rebellion and revenge, of love and of death, of intrigue and pitiless war.

Reviews

'With THE STRAIGHT RAZOR CURE, Polansky pushed the envelope of modern fantasy. With TOMORROW THE KILLING, he tears through the envelope and pushes for horizons yet unseen.' Myke Cole, author of Control Point

'In Tomorrow the Killing, Polansky shows us he is no one-book wonder... If you haven't read Polansky yet, you must remedy this ASAP. He writes gripping, addictive stories with a grim eloquence...Very, very highly recommended. Polansky is definitely among my new favourite authors. Essential reading.'
civilian-reader.blogspot.com

'Tomorrow The Killing delivers more of the same noir-esque brilliance that placed The Straight Razor Cure amongst the top releases of last year.
The British Fantasy Society

About the Author

Daniel Polansky was born in Baltimore, Maryland. He can be found in Brooklyn, when he isn't somewhere else. His debut novel THE STRAIGHT RAZOR CURE won the Prix Imaginales Award for Best Foreign Novel in 2012, and it sequel TOMORROW, THE KILLING has been proclaimed 'an absolute must for fans of fantasy' by Starburst Magazine. This is the third novel in the 'Low Town' series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Daniel Polansky

More books by Daniel Polansky
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.danielpolansky.com/uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781444779899

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools