desmond elliott 2017 twitter
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Those Above by Daniel Polansky
  

Those Above

Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £0.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

The first in an explosive new epic fantasy series by Daniel Polansky, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence.

If you like Daniel Polansky you might also like to read books by John Gwynne, Alan Campbell and Joe Abercrombie.

Synopsis

Those Above by Daniel Polansky

They enslaved humanity three thousand years ago. Tall, strong, perfect, superhuman and near immortal they rule from their glittering palaces in the eternal city in the centre of the world. They are called Those Above by their subjects. They enforce their will with fire and sword. Twenty five years ago mankind mustered an army and rose up against them, only to be slaughtered in a terrible battle. Hope died that day, but hatred survived. Whispers of another revolt are beginning to stir in the hearts of the oppressed: a woman, widowed in the war, who has dedicated her life to revenge; the general, the only man to ever defeat one of Those Above in single combat, summoned forth to raise a new legion; and a boy killer who rises from the gutter to lead an uprising in the capital. Those Above is the first of an extraordinary new fantasy epic by the author of the acclaimed Low Town series that will sweep the reader into a wholly alien, wholly recognizable world of rebellion and revenge, of love and of death, of intrigue and pitiless war.

Reviews

'With THE STRAIGHT RAZOR CURE, Polansky pushed the envelope of modern fantasy. With TOMORROW THE KILLING, he tears through the envelope and pushes for horizons yet unseen.' Myke Cole, author of Control Point

'In Tomorrow the Killing, Polansky shows us he is no one-book wonder... If you haven't read Polansky yet, you must remedy this ASAP. He writes gripping, addictive stories with a grim eloquence...Very, very highly recommended. Polansky is definitely among my new favourite authors. Essential reading.'
civilian-reader.blogspot.com

'Tomorrow The Killing delivers more of the same noir-esque brilliance that placed The Straight Razor Cure amongst the top releases of last year.
The British Fantasy Society

About the Author

Daniel Polansky was born in Baltimore, Maryland. He can be found in Brooklyn, when he isn't somewhere else. His debut novel THE STRAIGHT RAZOR CURE won the Prix Imaginales Award for Best Foreign Novel in 2012, and it sequel TOMORROW, THE KILLING has been proclaimed 'an absolute must for fans of fantasy' by Starburst Magazine. This is the third novel in the 'Low Town' series.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Daniel Polansky

More books by Daniel Polansky
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.danielpolansky.com/uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781444779899

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools