Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove twitter debuts of the month
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
  

Gretel and the Dark

Fantasy   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta.

Synopsis

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope. It is suitable for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth. Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed... A powerful, terrifying story. It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages. Heartbreaking and heart-racing. (The Times). Dark and intriguing ...a highly clever, original book . (Daily Mail). Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Reviews

'Powerful, heartbreaking, heart-racing, terrifying ... It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages' The Times

'Atmospheric and beautifully written. Gretel and the Dark will be one of the best books of 2014' The List

'Dark and intriguing ... a highly clever, original book' Daily Mail

'Ambitious and enticing' Independent

'Truly beautiful writing. Read this book' Guardian

'A back-and-forth tale of secrets and imagination, a thoroughly engaging journey into the darkest corners of humanity' Publishers Weekly

'As dark and twisting as the Black Forest ... forbidding, secretive, richly historical, this is a gripping novel that will leave you guessing until the end' Historical Novel Review

About the Author

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and currently lives in Bath. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th February 2015

Author

Eliza Granville

More books by Eliza Granville
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Fantasy
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780241146460

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools