book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
  

Gretel and the Dark

Fantasy   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta.

Synopsis

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope. It is suitable for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth. Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed... A powerful, terrifying story. It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages. Heartbreaking and heart-racing. (The Times). Dark and intriguing ...a highly clever, original book . (Daily Mail). Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Reviews

'Powerful, heartbreaking, heart-racing, terrifying ... It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages' The Times

'Atmospheric and beautifully written. Gretel and the Dark will be one of the best books of 2014' The List

'Dark and intriguing ... a highly clever, original book' Daily Mail

'Ambitious and enticing' Independent

'Truly beautiful writing. Read this book' Guardian

'A back-and-forth tale of secrets and imagination, a thoroughly engaging journey into the darkest corners of humanity' Publishers Weekly

'As dark and twisting as the Black Forest ... forbidding, secretive, richly historical, this is a gripping novel that will leave you guessing until the end' Historical Novel Review

About the Author

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and currently lives in Bath. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th February 2015

Author

Eliza Granville

More books by Eliza Granville
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Fantasy
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780241146460

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools