Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Gretel and the Dark

by Eliza Granville

eBooks of the Month Fantasy Historical Fiction

Gretel and the Dark Synopsis

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope. It is suitable for fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth. Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed... A powerful, terrifying story. It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages. Heartbreaking and heart-racing. (The Times). Dark and intriguing ...a highly clever, original book . (Daily Mail). Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Gretel and the Dark Press Reviews

'Powerful, heartbreaking, heart-racing, terrifying ... It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages' The Times

 

'Atmospheric and beautifully written. Gretel and the Dark will be one of the best books of 2014' The List

 

'Dark and intriguing ... a highly clever, original book' Daily Mail

 

'Ambitious and enticing' Independent

 

'Truly beautiful writing. Read this book' Guardian

 

'A back-and-forth tale of secrets and imagination, a thoroughly engaging journey into the darkest corners of humanity' Publishers Weekly

 

'As dark and twisting as the Black Forest ... forbidding, secretive, richly historical, this is a gripping novel that will leave you guessing until the end' Historical Novel Review

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Binding
Legion: Lies of the Beholder
The Belles
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241146460
Publication date: 26/02/2015
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780241146453
Publication date: 06/02/2014
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241146460
Publication date: 26th February 2015
Author: Eliza Granville
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Fantasy, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Eliza Granville

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and currently lives in Bath. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

More About Eliza Granville

More Books By Eliza Granville

Cover for Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
View All Books By Eliza Granville

Share this book