The Brightonomicon

by Robert Rankin

eBooks of the Month Fantasy

LoveReading View on The Brightonomicon

It’s a Robert Rankin, to tell you anything will spoil it.  Set in Brighton in the 60s, but not quite as we knew it, this stands alone, although it does make reference to earlier works and features ‘The Most Amazing Man Who Ever Lived’ who seems to crop up all over Rankin’s work.  If you know him you’ll love it, if you don’t, what took you so long?

Similar this month: None.
Comparison: Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Andy Secombe.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Brightonomicon Synopsis

Robert Rankin's THE BRENTFORD TRILOGY - seven books and counting - catapulted him into the dizzy heights of "cult success", but over the years that cult following has grown and Robert Rankin is now the second best-selling writer of comic fantasy in Britain, after Terry "He Always Makes Me Laugh" Pratchett.

Were you aware that there are, hidden in the streets of Brighton, twelve ancient constellations, like the Hangleton Hound and the Bevendean Bat . . . well, there are: and on each one hangs a tale, a tale so strange that only The Lad Himself, that inveterate spinner of tales and talker of the toot, Hugo Rune, can get to the bottom of them. And he'd better do it quickly, because if he doesn't solve the dozen mysteries before the year is out, that'll be the end of the world as we know it. And everything.

The Brightonomicon Press Reviews

"If you liked the lunacy of The Goon Show, outrageous running gags, names that rhyme, terrible poetry, and an often inspired and playful use of language, this will be right up your street." 
Barbara Davies - STARBURST

"Rankin's Milligan-esque mind shows no signs of fatigue or flagging. Rocking good fun."  

"All Rankin's old charms remain fresh and punchy in this wonderful novel. Like all great comedians, Rankin is an excellent wordsmith and he combines magic, humour and pirates perfectly to leave you chuckling all the way through." OUTLAND

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Heart of Mars
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Omnibus A Trilogy in Five Parts
Diggers The Second Book of the Nomes
Truckers The First Book of the Nomes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780575085466
Publication date: 03/12/2009
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback (a Format)

Book Information

ISBN: 9780575085466
Publication date: 3rd December 2009
Author: Robert Rankin
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback (a Format)
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Fantasy,
Categories: Fantasy,

About Robert Rankin

Robert Rankin is an unrepentant Luddite who writes his bestselling novels by hand in exercise books. He is the author of THE HOLLOW CHOCLATE BUNNIES OF THE APOCALYPSE, THE WITCHES OF CHISWICK, The Brentford Trilogy (5 books), The Armageddon Quartet (3 books) and many more. 

More About Robert Rankin

More Books By Robert Rankin

Cover for The Chickens of Atlantis and Other Foul and Filthy Fiends by Robert Rankin
Cover for The Mechanical Messiah and Other Marvels of the Modern Age A Novel by Robert Rankin
Cover for The Japanese Devil Fish Girl and Other Unnatural Attractions by Robert Rankin
View All Books By Robert Rankin

Share this book