The Queen's Man

by Rory Clements

Part of the John Shakespeare Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Queen's Man

December 2014 Book of the Month.

It is 1582 and John Shakespeare, brother of William, spy for Walsingham, is sent with his loyal servant Boltfoot on a mission to his home town, Stratford-on-Avon, to investigate a conspiracy to free Mary Queen of Scots.  The conflict between crown and Catholics has seeped into the Shakespeare family, or almost for Anne Hathaway, engaged to William has signed a document claiming loyalty to the Church in Rome!  Much now ensues: murder, duplicity, missing documents, plots of treason and skulduggery all bounce off the pages at a hell of a lick.  This is great stuff, a terrific addition to an excellent series which, if you haven’t discovered it, then you have a treat in store.

The Queen's Man Synopsis

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is a Judas nest of conspiracy It is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots. On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?

The Queen's Man Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'His story brings this Elizabethan world to life...I just had to keep on reading until he got the answers he needed to solve the mystery, find the traitors and still protect his own family.'  Read full review >
  • Riki Gabrielle Bill - 'An adventure that doesn't disappoint for a first time reader of this author. The author takes the reader on a mysterious adventure through Elizabethan England thwarting enemies at every turn.'  Read full review >
  • Liz Robinson - 'I found it hard to put down and as a consequence possibly read it too quickly, I will be revisiting it very soon!'  Read full review >
  • Angela Rhodes - 'With a little romance thrown in, this is a novel which had me turning the pages with baited breath.'  Read full review >

The Good Book Guide Review

The man in question is, once again, William Shakespeare’s brother, John, who is recruited by that most archetypal of all spy masters, Sir Francis Walsingham. His first mission will take him into the heart of a nest of conspirators who threaten the rule of good Queen Bess and wish to see the Scottish Queen Mary on the throne of England instead. Shakespeare is young and green, but he is a quick learner, and in this deftly plotted first novel in this series we see him maturing into a steady pair of hands in defence of the realm. Gripping stuff.

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Hero in France
Conspiracy
Fire
A Hero in France

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781848548480
Publication date: 20/11/2014
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781848548442
Publication date: 27/02/2014
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848548480
Publication date: 20th November 2014
Author: Rory Clements
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Rory Clements

Rory Clements is the bestselling author of the John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. His six acclaimed novels, Martyr, Revenger, Prince, Traitor, The Heretics and The Queen's Man, follow Elizabeth's Intelligencer, John Shakespeare, brother to the playwright William, through the dark underworld of Tudor England as he unmasks the traitors and conspirators who plot against the Queen. The seventh John Shakespeare novel, Holy Spy, is due to be published in February 2015. Rory Clements won the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award in 2010 for Revenger, and has been shortlisted for CWA Awards for Martyr, Prince and The Heretics. ...

More About Rory Clements

More Books By Rory Clements

Cover for Corpus by Rory Clements
Cover for Corpus by Rory Clements
Cover for Holy Spy The New John Shakespeare by Rory Clements
View All Books By Rory Clements

Share this book