debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This is the introduction of a great new part-time detective, Wylie ‘Coyote’ Melville, who has the ability to ‘read minds’ and approaches cases in an unorthodox way. We are in Florida and half the population appear to be wacky so Wylie fits right in. Littered with perhaps too many characters, it’s the humour and personalities that really keep this bubbling. The plot concerns a family, all murdered with the father then turning the gun on himself … or did he? It’s very American, nicely noir and great fun.

If you like John Dufresne you might also like to read books by Carl Hiaasen, Elmore Leonard and Christopher Brookmyre.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne

It's Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, and Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, professional therapist and hobbyist forensic consultant, is called to the scene of a horrific crime at a quiet suburban address. Wylie has enough on his plate as it is, his father is slipping deeper into the clutches of Alzheimer's, his new kitten Django is wreaking havoc with the soft furnishings and a homeless man has taken up residence on his front lawn. But a local family has been found brutally slain in their own home, and Wylie's friend Detective Sergeant Carlos O'Brien wants him to use his rare ability to 'read minds', to see the clues. So he starts his own haphazard investigation, but with suspicions of mob involvement and the police strangely keen to shut down Wylie's amateur operation, he might be biting off more than he can chew. No Regrets, Coyote is a wild ride to the dark heart of the Florida underworld. For fans of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard, and introduces a brilliantly original detective with the crime scene skills of Sherlock Holmes and the personal life of Jeff 'the Dude' Lebowski.


'A novel so good you want to throw a party for it. It's tense, unnerving, fearless and funny as hell.' - Dennis Lehane

'Genuinely funny, genuinely suspenseful ... Dufresne's hilariously dark vision of South Florida brings to mind the work of such masters as Donald Westlake and Elmore Leonard.'

- Tom Perrotta

'No Regrets, Coyote is an extraordinary crime novel. Steeped in place, wholly original, it is, line by line, one of the best books I've read in a long time.'

- Laura Lippman

'Touching, nervy, richly detailed and populated with a cast of characters who are utterly unique and terrifyingly real, including a detective hero unlike any we've ever met. American crime fiction has just gotten a lot more interesting.'

- James W. Hall

'The total package - beautifully written, filled with unexpected twists, driven by crisp and edgy dialogue. Nelson DeMille meets Carl Hiaasen, and the result (like the ending) is totally satisfying.' - James Grippando

'Here, American treasure John Dufresne has written a noir, but instead of playing by the rules of noir, he makes noir play by the Rules of Dufresne. And we are the beneficiaries. So sit back, put a cooler of beer by your chair and settle in, you'll be here awhile. No Regrets, Coyote is impossible to close.'

- Tom Franklin

'No Regrets, Coyote takes noir fiction and slivers it with shards of humour, ironic insight and an almost hallucinogenic specificity. This is lean and honest storytelling that is as moving as it is engaging. Read this book. Believe me, you'll have no regrets!'

- Andre Dubus III

'John Dufresne has created a unique and compelling sleuth in Wylie 'Coyote Melville. His quirky adventures will keep you reading.'
- James O Born

'A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated as a novelist in South Florida, he couldn't nail it any better than John Dufresne.'

- Carl Hiaasen

'Ghoulishly funny ... Dufresne is an original talent.'

-The New York Times

About the Author

John Dufresne is the author of seven books, including the New York Times Notable Books Love Warps the Mind a Little and Louisiana Power & Light. He lives in Dania Beach, Florida.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th November 2014


John Dufresne

More books by John Dufresne
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...


Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd


352 pages


Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery



I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville