books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne
  

No Regrets, Coyote

Part of the Wylie 'Coyote' Melville Series
Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This is the introduction of a great new part-time detective, Wylie ‘Coyote’ Melville, who has the ability to ‘read minds’ and approaches cases in an unorthodox way. We are in Florida and half the population appear to be wacky so Wylie fits right in. Littered with perhaps too many characters, it’s the humour and personalities that really keep this bubbling. The plot concerns a family, all murdered with the father then turning the gun on himself … or did he? It’s very American, nicely noir and great fun.

If you like John Dufresne you might also like to read books by Carl Hiaasen, Elmore Leonard and Christopher Brookmyre.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne

It's Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, and Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, professional therapist and hobbyist forensic consultant, is called to the scene of a horrific crime at a quiet suburban address. Wylie has enough on his plate as it is, his father is slipping deeper into the clutches of Alzheimer's, his new kitten Django is wreaking havoc with the soft furnishings and a homeless man has taken up residence on his front lawn. But a local family has been found brutally slain in their own home, and Wylie's friend Detective Sergeant Carlos O'Brien wants him to use his rare ability to 'read minds', to see the clues. So he starts his own haphazard investigation, but with suspicions of mob involvement and the police strangely keen to shut down Wylie's amateur operation, he might be biting off more than he can chew. No Regrets, Coyote is a wild ride to the dark heart of the Florida underworld. For fans of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard, and introduces a brilliantly original detective with the crime scene skills of Sherlock Holmes and the personal life of Jeff 'the Dude' Lebowski.

Reviews

'A novel so good you want to throw a party for it. It's tense, unnerving, fearless and funny as hell.' - Dennis Lehane

'Genuinely funny, genuinely suspenseful ... Dufresne's hilariously dark vision of South Florida brings to mind the work of such masters as Donald Westlake and Elmore Leonard.'

- Tom Perrotta

'No Regrets, Coyote is an extraordinary crime novel. Steeped in place, wholly original, it is, line by line, one of the best books I've read in a long time.'

- Laura Lippman

'Touching, nervy, richly detailed and populated with a cast of characters who are utterly unique and terrifyingly real, including a detective hero unlike any we've ever met. American crime fiction has just gotten a lot more interesting.'

- James W. Hall

'The total package - beautifully written, filled with unexpected twists, driven by crisp and edgy dialogue. Nelson DeMille meets Carl Hiaasen, and the result (like the ending) is totally satisfying.' - James Grippando

'Here, American treasure John Dufresne has written a noir, but instead of playing by the rules of noir, he makes noir play by the Rules of Dufresne. And we are the beneficiaries. So sit back, put a cooler of beer by your chair and settle in, you'll be here awhile. No Regrets, Coyote is impossible to close.'

- Tom Franklin

'No Regrets, Coyote takes noir fiction and slivers it with shards of humour, ironic insight and an almost hallucinogenic specificity. This is lean and honest storytelling that is as moving as it is engaging. Read this book. Believe me, you'll have no regrets!'

- Andre Dubus III

'John Dufresne has created a unique and compelling sleuth in Wylie 'Coyote Melville. His quirky adventures will keep you reading.'
- James O Born

'A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated as a novelist in South Florida, he couldn't nail it any better than John Dufresne.'

- Carl Hiaasen

'Ghoulishly funny ... Dufresne is an original talent.'

-The New York Times

About the Author

John Dufresne is the author of seven books, including the New York Times Notable Books Love Warps the Mind a Little and Louisiana Power & Light. He lives in Dania Beach, Florida.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th November 2014

Author

John Dufresne

More books by John Dufresne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johndufresne.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781846689765

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools