eleanor oliphant debuts of the month make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne
  

No Regrets, Coyote

Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This is the introduction of a great new part-time detective, Wylie ‘Coyote’ Melville, who has the ability to ‘read minds’ and approaches cases in an unorthodox way. We are in Florida and half the population appear to be wacky so Wylie fits right in. Littered with perhaps too many characters, it’s the humour and personalities that really keep this bubbling. The plot concerns a family, all murdered with the father then turning the gun on himself … or did he? It’s very American, nicely noir and great fun.

If you like John Dufresne you might also like to read books by Christopher Brookmyre, Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

No Regrets, Coyote by John Dufresne

It's Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, and Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, professional therapist and hobbyist forensic consultant, is called to the scene of a horrific crime at a quiet suburban address. Wylie has enough on his plate as it is, his father is slipping deeper into the clutches of Alzheimer's, his new kitten Django is wreaking havoc with the soft furnishings and a homeless man has taken up residence on his front lawn. But a local family has been found brutally slain in their own home, and Wylie's friend Detective Sergeant Carlos O'Brien wants him to use his rare ability to 'read minds', to see the clues. So he starts his own haphazard investigation, but with suspicions of mob involvement and the police strangely keen to shut down Wylie's amateur operation, he might be biting off more than he can chew. No Regrets, Coyote is a wild ride to the dark heart of the Florida underworld. For fans of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard, and introduces a brilliantly original detective with the crime scene skills of Sherlock Holmes and the personal life of Jeff 'the Dude' Lebowski.

Reviews

'A novel so good you want to throw a party for it. It's tense, unnerving, fearless and funny as hell.' - Dennis Lehane

'Genuinely funny, genuinely suspenseful ... Dufresne's hilariously dark vision of South Florida brings to mind the work of such masters as Donald Westlake and Elmore Leonard.'

- Tom Perrotta

'No Regrets, Coyote is an extraordinary crime novel. Steeped in place, wholly original, it is, line by line, one of the best books I've read in a long time.'

- Laura Lippman

'Touching, nervy, richly detailed and populated with a cast of characters who are utterly unique and terrifyingly real, including a detective hero unlike any we've ever met. American crime fiction has just gotten a lot more interesting.'

- James W. Hall

'The total package - beautifully written, filled with unexpected twists, driven by crisp and edgy dialogue. Nelson DeMille meets Carl Hiaasen, and the result (like the ending) is totally satisfying.' - James Grippando

'Here, American treasure John Dufresne has written a noir, but instead of playing by the rules of noir, he makes noir play by the Rules of Dufresne. And we are the beneficiaries. So sit back, put a cooler of beer by your chair and settle in, you'll be here awhile. No Regrets, Coyote is impossible to close.'

- Tom Franklin

'No Regrets, Coyote takes noir fiction and slivers it with shards of humour, ironic insight and an almost hallucinogenic specificity. This is lean and honest storytelling that is as moving as it is engaging. Read this book. Believe me, you'll have no regrets!'

- Andre Dubus III

'John Dufresne has created a unique and compelling sleuth in Wylie 'Coyote Melville. His quirky adventures will keep you reading.'
- James O Born

'A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated as a novelist in South Florida, he couldn't nail it any better than John Dufresne.'

- Carl Hiaasen

'Ghoulishly funny ... Dufresne is an original talent.'

-The New York Times

About the Author

John Dufresne is the author of seven books, including the New York Times Notable Books Love Warps the Mind a Little and Louisiana Power & Light. He lives in Dania Beach, Florida.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th November 2014

Author

John Dufresne

More books by John Dufresne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johndufresne.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781846689765

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools