The Bone Clocks

by David Mitchell

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Bone Clocks

Longlisted for The Man Booker Prize 2014.

This is a big story on a huge canvas.  If you are a David Mitchell fan then you are in for a treat.  If new to him then be prepared to be blown away.  It is a metaphysical thriller, a morality tale, a complicated book that twists and turns through time.  There are many chapters on reincarnated people who are killed in early childhood and thereafter are occupied by a person who already has centuries of knowledge – in other words they are ‘super human’; some good, some bad.  They have influenced the past and are now influencing the Chinese, Russian and Arab races.  The worlds’ future looks bleak.  We see it through the life of an extraordinary woman.  This is superb.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Bone Clocks Synopsis

One drowsy summer's day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who offers a small kindness in exchange for 'asylum'. Decades will pass before Holly understands exactly what sort of asylum the woman was seeking ...The Bone Clocks follows the twists and turns of Holly's life from a scarred adolescence in Gravesend to old age on Ireland's Atlantic coast as Europe's oil supply dries up - a life not so far out of the ordinary, yet punctuated by flashes of precognition, visits from people who emerge from thin air and brief lapses in the laws of reality. For Holly Sykes - daughter, sister, mother, guardian - is also an unwitting player in a murderous feud played out in the shadows and margins of our world, and may prove to be its decisive weapon.

The Good Book Guide Review

Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas has been hailed as one of the books of the century so far, in its ambition and scope. Since then, as a regular nominee for the Booker Prize, he has continued to write refreshing and rewarding books, and The Bone Clocks is as enjoyable as anything he has done yet. In a series of six seemingly separate stories, Mitchell moves through time and space from southern England in the eighties to the west coast of Ireland in the middle of the 21st century, via the Alps, Iceland, and Australia, meeting many memorable characters on the way. There is Crispin Hershey, a bitter and twisted novelist, as well as an old favourite of Mitchell’s, Dr Marinus, who first appeared in The Thousand Summers of Jacob de Zoet. Returning characters and time-shifts have become part and parcel of Mitchell’s burgeoning oeuvre. Here the central character is Holly, whom we meet at various stages in her life, from runaway teenager to fretting grandmother, and whose links with another world are far too complex to explain here!

The Bone Clocks Press Reviews

'Open up Mitchell's head and a whole magical, ecstatic symphony of inventiveness and ideas will fly out as if from a benign and felicitous Pandora's box. Read him.' -- Neel Mukherjee The Times


'No other British novelist, to my mind, combines such a darkly futuristic intelligence with such polyphonic ease.' -- Robert Macfarlane The Sunday Times


'The most audacious, thrilling and, above all, entertaining young British novelist there is.' -- William Skidelsky Observer


'One of the most brilliantly inventive writers in this or any country' -- Boyd Tonkin Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Long Way From Home
Madame Zero
The Handmaid's Tale
Men Without Women Stories

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780340921609
Publication date: 02/09/2014
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780340921609
Publication date: 2nd September 2014
Author: David Mitchell
Publisher: Sceptre an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 608 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About David Mitchell

Born in 1969, David Mitchell grew up in Worcestershire. After graduating from Kent University, he taught English in Japan, where he wrote his first novel, Ghostwritten. Published in 1999, it was awarded the Mail on Sunday John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award. His second novel, number9dream, was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and in 2003, David Mitchell was selected as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists. His third novel, Cloud Atlas, was shortlisted for six awards including the Man Booker Prize, and adapted for film in 2012. It ...

More About David Mitchell

More Books By David Mitchell

Cover for Slade House by David Mitchell
Cover for The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
Cover for Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
View All Books By David Mitchell

Share this book