Daisy Buchanan - Author

About the Author

Daisy Buchanan is a columnist and features writer covering arts, entertainment and women's issues. She contributes to the Guardian, Marie Claire, humour site The Daily Mash and the Mirror. She started writing about TV for Sabotage Times, penning a regular catch-up column about the reality show Made In Chelsea. These columns became the book The Wickedly Unofficial Guide to Made in Chelsea. She lives in Greenwich, London.

Featured books by Daisy Buchanan

Insatiable

Insatiable

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/02/2021

A Grazia, Stylist, Cosmo, i paper, Red and Independent book of the year for 2021 Stuck in a dead-end job, broken-hearted, broke and estranged from her best friend: Violet's life is nothing like she thought it would be. She wants more - better friends, better sex, a better job - and she wants it now. So, when Lottie - who looks like the woman Violet wants to be when she grows up - offers Violet the chance to join her exciting start-up, she bites. Only it soon becomes clear that Lottie and her husband Simon are not only inviting Violet into their company, they are also inviting her into their lives. Seduced by their townhouse, their expensive candles and their Friday-night sex parties, Violet cannot tear herself away from Lottie, Simon or their friends. But is this really the more Violet yearns for? Will it grant her the satisfaction she is so desperately seeking? Insatiable is about women and desire - lust, longing and the need to be loved. It is a story about being unable to tell whether you are running towards your future or simply running away from your past. The result is at once tender and sad, funny and hopeful.

Meeting Your Match Navigating the Minefield of Online Dating

Meeting Your Match Navigating the Minefield of Online Dating

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/01/2015

This dating book for the digital age is a mix of humour, frank advice and real information, with a healthy touch of irreverence. Aimed at 20-30s females, it details the different personalities of the various sites so that the reader can make an informed decision about their suitability. Advice is given on how to get the most out of online dating, including suggestions on how to write a compelling profile and interpret the profiles of others, write messages, spot timewasters and weirdos, as well as staying safe on a date night and keeping a sense of humour throughout. Real-life case studies illustrate those online dates that have ended in long-term relationships, giving the reader confidence to continue, as well as those that have been a disaster from the start, as a warning of what situations to avoid.

Other books by Daisy Buchanan

Careering

Careering

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/03/2022

careering (verb) 1. working endlessly for a job you used to love and now resent entirely 2. knowing that a little of your soul is inextricably tied to the work you do 3. moving in a way that feels out of control * There's a fine line between on the right track and coming off the rails. Harri has poured her life into her job at Panache magazine, losing friendships, the love of her life, and increasingly, her sanity. She knows it will all be worth it when she gets the top job. Until she's side lined, passed over for promotion and forced into running 'a new venture', which everyone knows is code for 'being pushed out'. Imogen has had to hustle her whole professional life to cling onto an industry that favours the privileged. When Harri offers her a job, putting an end to her constant sofa-surfing, she feels like all her dreams are coming true. But her fairy-tale ending soon sours as she finds herself putting more and more of herself into writing for a company that doesn't care if she sinks or swims. Harri and Imogen both thought they loved their jobs, but it is becoming increasingly clear that their jobs do not love them. Together, they stage a rebellion the only way they know how. But what will the view look like from the other side? Hilarious and unflinchingly honest, Careering takes a hard look at the often toxic relationship working women have with their dream jobs.

Insatiable

Insatiable

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/02/2021

'Extremely funny, touching and wonderfully refreshing on women and sexual desire' Marian Keyes 'As filthy as it is funny, you won't be able to put it down' Dolly Alderton A Grazia best book of 2021 Stuck in a dead-end job, broken-hearted, broke and estranged from her best friend: Violet's life is nothing like she thought it would be. She wants more - better friends, better sex, a better job - and she wants it now. So, when Lottie - who looks like the woman Violet wants to be when she grows up - offers Violet the chance to join her exciting start-up, she bites. Only it soon becomes clear that Lottie and her husband Simon are not only inviting Violet into their company, they are also inviting her into their lives. Seduced by their townhouse, their expensive candles and their Friday-night sex parties, Violet cannot tear herself away from Lottie, Simon or their friends. But is this really the more Violet yearns for? Will it grant her the satisfaction she is so desperately seeking? Insatiable is about women and desire - lust, longing and the need to be loved. It is a story about being unable to tell whether you are running towards your future or simply running away from your past. The result is at once tender and sad, funny and hopeful. * 'Filthy, funny, and raw, Insatiable is utterly addictive' Louise O'Neill 'A raucous unravelling of female desire and bodily pleasures, in all their maddening complexity' Emma Jane Unsworth 'I'd call Insatiable Jilly Cooper for the Instagram generation, but that wouldn't do this book justice' Lauren Bravo 'Daisy brings characters to life like no other writer, pumping them full of humour, vulnerability and sexy sexy sex' Lucy Vine 'Gloriously rude and brave about the nature of women's desire' Sophia Money-Coutts 'I can't believe this is a fiction debut - she writes stories like she's been doing it for fifty years' Laura Jane Williams 'Insatiable is an unashamedly filthy and yet deeply sensitive exploration of female desire, aspiration and vulnerability, and Daisy is an exciting new voice in contemporary fiction.' Hannah Beckerman 'It reminded me of Bridget Jones's Diary - if Bridget were bisexual and Daniel Cleaver were a couple who were into group sex.' Julie Cohen 'Erica Jong for the Instagram age.' Keith Stuart 'Intelligent, observant prose that gives a snap-shot of life experienced by millennial women.' Kate Sawyer 'Like going for a drink with your wisest and smuttiest friend' Jessica Moor

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/02/2020

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other. 'My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.' Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they'd be in the 21st century - looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in, Daisy's memoir The Sisterhood explores what it's like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home - her adored and infuriating sisters. There's Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul's Drag Race and bears. In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it's made up of - friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love - while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we're all sisters under the skin.

How to Be a Grown-Up

How to Be a Grown-Up

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/06/2018

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Caitlin Moran, a comforting, witty, supportive book for real twenty-something women who want to discover how they can reach the end of the 'fun' decade knowing exactly who they are. Have you ever felt lost, anxious, panicky about adulthood? Have you ever spent a hungover Sunday crying into a bowl of cereal? Have you ever scrolled through Instagram and felt nothing but green-eyed jealousy and evil thoughts? Award-winning journalist, Grazia agony aunt and real-life big sister to five smart, stylish, stunning twenty-something young women, Daisy Buchanan has been there, done that and got the vajazzle. In How to be a Grown-Up, she dispenses all the emotional and practical advice you need to negotiate a difficult decade. Covering everything from how to become more successful and confident at work, how to feel pride in yourself without needing validation from others, how to turn rivals into mentors, and how to *really* enjoy spending time on your own, this is a warm, kind, funny voice in the dark saying Honestly don't worry, you're doing your best and you're amazing!

Wickedly Unofficial Guide to Made in Chelsea

Wickedly Unofficial Guide to Made in Chelsea

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Ebook Release Date: 10/10/2013

Are you a Made in Chelsea addict? Desperate for another series of love-triangles and luxury, drama and deck shoes? Are you hoping that Francis will finally give us a flash of his diamonds or to see Binky actually find true love? If you just can't get enough Kings Road craziness, Daisy Buchanan's hilarious and hugely popular series blogs are collected here to give you a quick fix of your favourite trust-fund TV stars.As well as getting you in the mood for the new series, The Wickedly Unofficial Guide to Made in Chelsea will also help all you SW7-wannabes navigate the choppy waters of high-society hook-ups, avoid fashion faux-pas and learn how to throw a totes amaze pardy. From the writer who coined the nickname 'Jamie Biscuits' comes a guide to Chelsea life that's more 'must have' than the latest Mulberry.

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more