Hideous Creatures

by S. E. Lister

eBooks of the Month Horror Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Hideous Creatures

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A compelling debut by a new young British writer in the tradition of Audrey Niffenegger and Neil Gaiman, on the imperceptible borderlines of fantasy and fable. On the run from a family with a bucketful of dark secrets, the younger son of an English Earl embarks for the New World where with the help of an outlaw's daughter and a native medicine man he ventures into the jungle and the untamed southern wilderness. Simultaneously a tale of adventure, a love story, an unveiling of quiet phantasmagoria and horrors and a coming of age story, this grips and enchants and you never want it to end. A seductive new voice.

Maxim Jakubowski

Hideous Creatures Synopsis

Arthur Hallingham is the youngest son of an English earl. He’s on the run from his former life – from a family where painful, half-understood secrets lurk.

 

Arthur travels on a slave ship to the coast of Virginia. Amidst the teeming squalor and vaulting ambitions of the New World, he encounters Flora, the tough daughter of an outlaw, and Shelo, a native medicine man with mysterious powers who seems to have a plan for him.

 

The three set off on a journey through the thick forests and along the wide rivers of the lush southern wilderness. As they near their destination, Shelo’s terrible and destructive purpose is gradually revealed.

 

This is a rich, beautiful and compelling novel that will appeal to fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Erin Morgenstern and Neil Gaiman, by a young debut author destined for literary stardom.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Dark Legacy
Sweet Heart
Little Eve
Strange Weather

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781908699565
Publication date: 13/05/2014
Publisher: Old Street Publishing
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781908699565
Publication date: 13th May 2014
Author: S. E. Lister
Publisher: Old Street Publishing
Format: Paperback
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror, Literary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About S. E. Lister

S. E. Lister grew up in Gloucestershire, and studied Creative Writing at Warwick University. She has been reading stories since she was old enough to pick up a book, and writing them almost as long. Alongside her creative writing, she has written for various magazines and websites about philosophy and film. She loves vintage clothes, art-house cinemas and growing her own courgettes.

More About S. E. Lister

More Books By S. E. Lister

Cover for The Immortals by S. E. Lister
View All Books By S. E. Lister

Share this book