debuts of the month
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Hideous Creatures by S. E. Lister
  

Hideous Creatures

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A compelling debut by a new young British writer in the tradition of Audrey Niffenegger and Neil Gaiman, on the imperceptible borderlines of fantasy and fable. On the run from a family with a bucketful of dark secrets, the younger son of an English Earl embarks for the New World where with the help of an outlaw's daughter and a native medicine man he ventures into the jungle and the untamed southern wilderness. Simultaneously a tale of adventure, a love story, an unveiling of quiet phantasmagoria and horrors and a coming of age story, this grips and enchants and you never want it to end. A seductive new voice.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Hideous Creatures by S. E. Lister

Arthur Hallingham is the youngest son of an English earl. He’s on the run from his former life – from a family where painful, half-understood secrets lurk.

Arthur travels on a slave ship to the coast of Virginia. Amidst the teeming squalor and vaulting ambitions of the New World, he encounters Flora, the tough daughter of an outlaw, and Shelo, a native medicine man with mysterious powers who seems to have a plan for him.

The three set off on a journey through the thick forests and along the wide rivers of the lush southern wilderness. As they near their destination, Shelo’s terrible and destructive purpose is gradually revealed.

This is a rich, beautiful and compelling novel that will appeal to fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Erin Morgenstern and Neil Gaiman, by a young debut author destined for literary stardom.

About the Author

S. E. Lister

S. E. Lister grew up in Gloucestershire, and studied Creative Writing at Warwick University. She has been reading stories since she was old enough to pick up a book, and writing them almost as long. Alongside her creative writing, she has written for various magazines and websites about philosophy and film. She loves vintage clothes, art-house cinemas and growing her own courgettes.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th May 2014

Author

S. E. Lister

More books by S. E. Lister
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Old Street Publishing

Format

Paperback

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781908699565

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools