join us on facebook likeyoulove twitter
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Hideous Creatures by S. E. Lister
  

Hideous Creatures

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A compelling debut by a new young British writer in the tradition of Audrey Niffenegger and Neil Gaiman, on the imperceptible borderlines of fantasy and fable. On the run from a family with a bucketful of dark secrets, the younger son of an English Earl embarks for the New World where with the help of an outlaw's daughter and a native medicine man he ventures into the jungle and the untamed southern wilderness. Simultaneously a tale of adventure, a love story, an unveiling of quiet phantasmagoria and horrors and a coming of age story, this grips and enchants and you never want it to end. A seductive new voice.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Hideous Creatures by S. E. Lister

Arthur Hallingham is the youngest son of an English earl. He’s on the run from his former life – from a family where painful, half-understood secrets lurk.

Arthur travels on a slave ship to the coast of Virginia. Amidst the teeming squalor and vaulting ambitions of the New World, he encounters Flora, the tough daughter of an outlaw, and Shelo, a native medicine man with mysterious powers who seems to have a plan for him.

The three set off on a journey through the thick forests and along the wide rivers of the lush southern wilderness. As they near their destination, Shelo’s terrible and destructive purpose is gradually revealed.

This is a rich, beautiful and compelling novel that will appeal to fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Erin Morgenstern and Neil Gaiman, by a young debut author destined for literary stardom.

About the Author

S. E. Lister

S. E. Lister grew up in Gloucestershire, and studied Creative Writing at Warwick University. She has been reading stories since she was old enough to pick up a book, and writing them almost as long. Alongside her creative writing, she has written for various magazines and websites about philosophy and film. She loves vintage clothes, art-house cinemas and growing her own courgettes.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th May 2014

Author

S. E. Lister

More books by S. E. Lister
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Old Street Publishing

Format

Paperback

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781908699565

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools