The Devil's Workshop

by Alex Grecian

Part of the Scotland Yard Murder Squad Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Devil's Workshop

We are back in London for the third in this terrific series of early police detection in The Murder Squad.  Full of the smells and dirt of the Victorian underworld contrasting with the opulence of the grand drawing rooms, this is excellent stuff.  Starring Walter Day and his team again, they now have escaped murderers to chase and what looks like Jack the Ripper back in town.  The squad consists of twelve detectives who are aided by early forensic pioneer Dr Bernard Kingsley.  Viewers of the excellent Mr Whicher Ripper Street TV series will revel in this.  They are big books with masses going on.  Great stuff.

 

 

Sarah Broadhurst

The Devil's Workshop Synopsis

The Devil's Workshop is the third historical thriller in Alex Grecian's acclaimed Scotland Yard Murder Squad series. April, 1890. London wakes to the shocking news of a mass prison escape. Walter Day and the Scotland Yard Murder Squad now face a desperate race against time: if they don't re-capture the four convicted murderers before night settles, they'll vanish into the dark alleys of the London's criminal underworld for ever. And in the midst of this mayhem and fear, the city's worst nightmare is realised: Jack the Ripper haunts the streets of London once more...From The Yard and The Black Country author, Alex Grecian, comes The Devil's Workshop - and the return of Jack the Ripper. Expect another gruesome foray into the underbelly of Victorian Britain and early crime forensics. This is historical thriller heaven for fans of Sherlock and Ripper Street. Praise for Alex Grecian: Will keep you riveted from page one . (Jeffery Deaver). CSI: Victorian London . (Daily Express). Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun . (Guardian). Outstanding. If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this, Wilkie Collins surely is . (The New York Times Book Review). Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel, followed by The Black Country.

The Devil's Workshop Press Reviews

Will keep you riveted from page one -- Jeffery Deaver

 

CSI: Victorian London -  Daily Express

 

Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun -  Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Unseeing
The Unseeing
Savage Magic
The Blooding

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405915052
Publication date: 31/07/2014
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405915052
Publication date: 31st July 2014
Author: Alex Grecian
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries, Thriller / suspense,

About Alex Grecian

Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically accalimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son.

More About Alex Grecian

More Books By Alex Grecian

Cover for The Black Country by Alex Grecian
View All Books By Alex Grecian

Share this book