Harry Potter House Eds newgen books for YA readers make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Norfolk Mystery by Ian Sansom
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The first in what is a projected series of 39 books! One for each of the English counties no doubt. It is 1937 and Professor Morley Swanton, a famous author, employs a young, failed schoolmaster and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran, Stephen Sefton, to help him write a series of books entitled The Country Guides. The professor has a beautiful daughter whom I imagine will become the love interest in future books. For now we are briefly introduced to her. Research begins in the seaport village of Blakeney where the reverend is found hanging from the bell rope, Stephen has a brief fling, a young woman burns herself to death and the village assembles for a ‘sherry party’ … this is very much Agatha Christie/Dorothy L Sayers territory with the same period feel both in attitudes and clever dialogue. Nice easy reading, quirky and fun.

If you like Ian Sansom you might also like to read books by Dorothy Sayers, James Hawes and James Runcie.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Norfolk Mystery by Ian Sansom

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder! It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where 'intelligence is essential', he applies. Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder? Beginning a thrilling new detective series, 'The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

Reviews

Praise for 'The Norfolk Mystery': 'A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery set in the Thirties ... There is a touch of Sherlock Holmes and a dash of Lord Peter Wimsey, but the total is put together with a charm that is teasingly precious ... Beautifully crafted by Sansom, Professor Morely promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now
Daily Mail

'Sansom is both celebrating and sending up the golden age of detective novels when, in the 1930s, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie were the queens of crime ... A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour'
Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard

About the Author

Ian Sansom reviews regularly for the Guardian and the London Review of Books. His first book, The Truth About Babies, was published by Granta in 2002.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th June 2014

Author

Ian Sansom

More books by Ian Sansom
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.iansansom.net/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007360482

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools