The Norfolk Mystery

by Ian Sansom

Part of the The County Guides Series

Crime / Mystery

The Norfolk Mystery Synopsis

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder! It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where 'intelligence is essential', he applies. Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder? Beginning a thrilling new detective series, 'The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

The Norfolk Mystery Press Reviews

Praise for 'The Norfolk Mystery': 'A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery set in the Thirties ... There is a touch of Sherlock Holmes and a dash of Lord Peter Wimsey, but the total is put together with a charm that is teasingly precious ... Beautifully crafted by Sansom, Professor Morely promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now
Daily Mail

'Sansom is both celebrating and sending up the golden age of detective novels when, in the 1930s, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie were the queens of crime ... A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour'
Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse
Trains & Lovers The Heart's Journey
The Bertie Project
A Time of Love and Tartan

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007360482
Publication date: 19/06/2014
Publisher: Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007360482
Publication date: 19th June 2014
Author: Ian Sansom
Publisher: Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Ian Sansom

Ian Sansom reviews regularly for the Guardian and the London Review of Books. His first book, The Truth About Babies, was published by Granta in 2002.

More About Ian Sansom

More Books By Ian Sansom

Cover for Essex Poison by Ian Sansom
Cover for Essex Poison by Ian Sansom
Cover for The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom
View All Books By Ian Sansom

Share this book