LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Ian Sansom - Author

About the Author

Ian Sansom reviews regularly for the Guardian and the London Review of Books. His first book, The Truth About Babies, was published by Granta in 2002.

Featured books by Ian Sansom

Essex Poison

Essex Poison

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/01/2018

October 1937. Swanton Morley, the People's Professor, sets off to Essex to continue his history of England, The County Guides. Morley's daughter Miriam continues to cause chaos and his assistant Stephen Sefton continues to slide deeper into depression and despair. Morley is an honorary guest at the Colchester Oyster Festival. But when the mayor dies suddenly at the civic reception suspicion falls on his fellow councillors. Is it a case of food poisoning? Or could it be ... murder? Join Morley, Miriam and Sefton on another journey into the dark heart of England.

ebook of the month
Essex Poison

Essex Poison

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/01/2017

1937. Swanton Morley, the People's Professor, sets off to Essex to continue his history of England, The County Guides. Morley's daughter Miriam continues to cause chaos and his assistant Stephen Sefton continues to slide deeper into depression and despair.

ebook of the month
The Norfolk Mystery

The Norfolk Mystery

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/06/2014

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder! It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where 'intelligence is essential', he applies. Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder? Beginning a thrilling new detective series, 'The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

ebook of the month

Other books by Ian Sansom

The Bad Book Affair

The Bad Book Affair

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2010

The Bad Book Affair features the magnificently hapless Israel Armstrong - the duffle-coat wearing, navel-gazing Jewish librarian who solves crimes, mysteries, and domestic problems whilst driving a mobile library around the north coast of Ireland. In The Bad Book Affair Israel finds himself on the verge of his thirtieth birthday and on the trail of a troubled missing teenager, the daughter of a local politician. Why has the young woman disappeared? Does it have something to do with Israel's lending her A Clockwork Orange and Lady Chatterly's Lover from the library's special `Unshelved' category? Will the young woman's father run Israel out of town? How will Israel recover from his own break-up with his girlfriend, Gloria? And how exactly does a Jewish vegetarian celebrate his thirtieth birthday in Tumdrum? With a bacon scone? And will Israel and his irascible companion Ted ever agree about anything?

The Delegates' Choice

The Delegates' Choice

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2008

Israel Armstrong, one of literature's most unlikely detectives, returns for more crime solving adventure in this hilarious third novel from the Mobile Library series. Israel has been invited to attend the Mobile Meet in London, the annual mobile library convention, with his irascible companion Ted Carson. Back in the UK, Israel is reunited with his family, and there is much eating of paprika chicken, baklava and the drinking of good coffee. But within only twenty-four hours of their arrival, the mobile library has been nicked. Who on earth would want to steal a thirty-year old rust-bucket of a van, and who can the two men turn to for assistance? Can Mr and Mrs Krimholz, the parents of Israel's childhood rival Adam Krimholz, help them out? Amidst all this mayhem, will Israel and Ted, one of literature's oddest oddball couples, ever make it to the Mobile Meet? In this, his most puzzling, personal and problematic case yet, Israel has never had it so bad... neither has his library.

Mr Dixon Disappears

Mr Dixon Disappears

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/11/2006

Israel Armstrong, one of literature's most unlikely detectives, returns for more crime solving adventure in this hilarious second novel from `The Mobile Library' series. The second in the `The Mobile Library ` detective series, `Mr Dixon Disappears' once again features the magnificently hapless Israel Armstrong - the young, Jewish, duffle-coat wearing librarian who solves crimes, mysteries, and domestic problems all whilst driving a mobile library around the coast of Northern Ireland. Dixon and Pickering's, County Antrim's legendary department store, is preparing to celebrate its centenary. But the elderly Mr Dixon - a member of the Ulster Association of Magicians - has gone missing, along with one hundred thousand pounds in cash. It smells, pretty badly, of a kidnap. Israel becomes a suspect in the police investigation and is suspended from his job by his boss, the ever-fearsome Linda Wei. He's having to fight to clear his name. Does Israel's acclaimed five-panel touring exhibition showing the history of Dixon and Pickering's in old photographs and artefacts perhaps hold the key to Mr Dixon's mysterious disappearance? Will romance blossom between Israel and Rosie Hart, the barmaid at the First and Last? Will Linda Wei stick to her diet? And has nobody here heard of Franz Kafka? All will be revealed in this hilarious and endlessly inventive sequel to `The Case of the Missing Books'.

Ring Road There'S No Place Like Home

Ring Road There'S No Place Like Home

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2005

A warm, humane, and sharply observed tale of small town life that is by equal turns hilarious and moving. Big Davey Jones is coming home. He's been gone almost 20 years now, but nobody's forgotten him. Davey's a local hero - his miracle birth as the seventh son of a seventh son brought fame to this little town and they've been grateful ever since. But Davey's home town has changed much in the intervening years. The traditional family business like Billy Finlay's Auto-Supplies and Calton's Bakery and Tea Rooms have been replaced with 'Exciting New Housing Developments!' and even a nightclub called 'Paradise Lost'. The locals haven't changed much though. Bob Savory, who always had it in him, has made a million with his company Sandwich Classics, and he's branching out now, with an Irish themed restaurant on the ring road. Francie McGinn, the divorced minister at The People's Fellowship, is still trying to convert the town through his Fish-and-Chip Biblical Quiz Nights and his Good Friday Carvery & Gospel Night. And Sammy, the town's best plumber, is depressed as ever and looking for solace at the bottom of the whisky bottle. Clever, touching and, above all, utterly spot-on in its depiction of small town life, Ring Road is confirms Ian Sansom's status as one of our most perceptive authors working today.

The Truth About Babies From A-Z

The Truth About Babies From A-Z

Author: Ian Sansom Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/06/2003

Babies are strange creatures. They enter our lives, and things are never the same again. In this unusual book, Ian Sansom (father of three) conveys the oddness and beauty of human beings in their first year of life, and the cataclysmic affect they have on those around them. At a time when most books on babies are manuals crammed with milestones and measurements, The Truth About Babies is different. It is written as a series of meditations on every aspect of babies, from bathing, boredom, breastfeeding and buggies to weaning, weight, words and work. Sansom manages to be both playful and profound, both philosophical and earthy - and frequently very funny.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.iansansom.net/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more