The Liar's Daughter

by Laurie Graham

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

The Liar's Daughter Synopsis

Nan's mother loves to tell her daughter stories, though the details vary according to how much she has drunk. The tale she tells most often claims that Admiral Lord Nelson is Nan's father: he was her lover and she saw him die at Trafalgar. Or so she claims. From poor beginnings, resourceful Nan makes her own determined way through life, but always haunted by the wish to know the truth about her father. From Portsmouth in the early 1800s to the battlefields of the Crimea, Nan discovers the world is full of people with a story about Nelson. There are some questions we can never hope to answer...

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

The Liar's Daughter Press Reviews

'A funny, descriptive, rich and warm-hearted novel; Graham has a knack for bringing alive the sights, sounds and smells of yesteryear ... perfect for fans of Katherine Webb and Deborah Moggach'
We Love This Book

'Through love and loss, hardship and hope, Laurie Graham has once again created a tour de force where nothing is quite as it seems, with characters that breathe life and energy, which will have you laughing and crying in equal measure'
Daily Mail

 

 'Empathetic and entertaining
Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

Girl, Balancing & Other Stories
The Last Secret of the Deverills
Inside the Wave
Birdcage Walk

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780857387868
Publication date: 05/06/2014
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857387868
Publication date: 5th June 2014
Author: Laurie Graham
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Laurie Graham

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, the two most recent were Gone with the Windsors and The Importance of Being Kennedy. She lives in Venice.

More About Laurie Graham

More Books By Laurie Graham

Cover for The Grand Duchess of Nowhere by Laurie Graham
Cover for Life According to Lubka by Laurie Graham
View All Books By Laurie Graham

Share this book