newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause

Maybe a Miracle

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a highly original and hugely entertaining coming of age debut novel about family, rebellion, faith and hope which will appeal to fans of John Irving, Ann Tyler and Alice Sebold.

If you like Brian Strause you might also like to read books by Anne Tyler, Alice Sebold and Ben Sherwood.


Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause

Maybe a Miracle opens on the night of Monroe Andersonâs senior prom. He is uncomfortably dressed, dying for a smoke, and worried about his sexual prospects for the evening. Then he sees his 11 year-old sister, Annika, lying face-down in the family swimming pool. He breathes life back into her body, but her mind remains in a deep and mysterious coma. From this moment on, Monroeâs life will be different. As family and friends rally round, hoping and praying that Annika will wake up, strange things start to happen around her…

Whilst Monroe doesnât believe in miracles – let alone think his little sister can perform them - it seems others are more easily convinced. As stories of Annikaâs healing powers spread, Monroe can only stand by and watch as his mother, her church and the media attempt to elevate his sweet, annoying and wonderfully ordinary sister to virtual sainthood….


‘Incisive…laugh-out-loud funny…provocative and uniqueâ People

‘Strauseâs debut is as tender as a slow dance, as sassy as a rap song, and an utter joy.â Jacquelyn Mitchard

About the Author

Brian Strause

Brian Strause was born in Columbus, Ohio. He graduated from the American Film Institute with an MFA in producing and worked as an associate producer for The 90s for PBS. He has also written TV and film scripts. He lives in Los Angeles.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd March 2006


Brian Strause

More books by Brian Strause
Author 'Like for Like'


Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd




Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites



My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes