desmond elliott 2017 summer reading finding gobi before the fall granchester
Search our site
Best Laid Plans by Kathy Lette Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathy Lette book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause
  

Maybe a Miracle

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a highly original and hugely entertaining coming of age debut novel about family, rebellion, faith and hope which will appeal to fans of John Irving, Ann Tyler and Alice Sebold.

If you like Brian Strause you might also like to read books by Anne Tyler, Ben Sherwood and Alice Sebold.

Synopsis

Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause

Maybe a Miracle opens on the night of Monroe Andersonâs senior prom. He is uncomfortably dressed, dying for a smoke, and worried about his sexual prospects for the evening. Then he sees his 11 year-old sister, Annika, lying face-down in the family swimming pool. He breathes life back into her body, but her mind remains in a deep and mysterious coma. From this moment on, Monroeâs life will be different. As family and friends rally round, hoping and praying that Annika will wake up, strange things start to happen around her…

Whilst Monroe doesnât believe in miracles – let alone think his little sister can perform them - it seems others are more easily convinced. As stories of Annikaâs healing powers spread, Monroe can only stand by and watch as his mother, her church and the media attempt to elevate his sweet, annoying and wonderfully ordinary sister to virtual sainthood….

Reviews

‘Incisive…laugh-out-loud funny…provocative and uniqueâ People

‘Strauseâs debut is as tender as a slow dance, as sassy as a rap song, and an utter joy.â Jacquelyn Mitchard

About the Author

Brian Strause

Brian Strause was born in Columbus, Ohio. He graduated from the American Film Institute with an MFA in producing and worked as an associate producer for The 90s for PBS. He has also written TV and film scripts. He lives in Los Angeles.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd March 2006

Author

Brian Strause

More books by Brian Strause
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780749907655

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools