Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

debuts of the month likeyoulove newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause
  

Maybe a Miracle

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a highly original and hugely entertaining coming of age debut novel about family, rebellion, faith and hope which will appeal to fans of John Irving, Ann Tyler and Alice Sebold.

If you like Brian Strause you might also like to read books by Anne Tyler, Ben Sherwood and Alice Sebold.

Synopsis

Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause

Maybe a Miracle opens on the night of Monroe Andersonâs senior prom. He is uncomfortably dressed, dying for a smoke, and worried about his sexual prospects for the evening. Then he sees his 11 year-old sister, Annika, lying face-down in the family swimming pool. He breathes life back into her body, but her mind remains in a deep and mysterious coma. From this moment on, Monroeâs life will be different. As family and friends rally round, hoping and praying that Annika will wake up, strange things start to happen around her…

Whilst Monroe doesnât believe in miracles – let alone think his little sister can perform them - it seems others are more easily convinced. As stories of Annikaâs healing powers spread, Monroe can only stand by and watch as his mother, her church and the media attempt to elevate his sweet, annoying and wonderfully ordinary sister to virtual sainthood….

Reviews

‘Incisive…laugh-out-loud funny…provocative and uniqueâ People

‘Strauseâs debut is as tender as a slow dance, as sassy as a rap song, and an utter joy.â Jacquelyn Mitchard

About the Author

Brian Strause

Brian Strause was born in Columbus, Ohio. He graduated from the American Film Institute with an MFA in producing and worked as an associate producer for The 90s for PBS. He has also written TV and film scripts. He lives in Los Angeles.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd March 2006

Author

Brian Strause

More books by Brian Strause
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780749907655

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools