Maybe a Miracle

by Brian Strause

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Maybe a Miracle

This is a highly original and hugely entertaining coming of age debut novel about family, rebellion, faith and hope  which will appeal to fans of  John Irving, Ann Tyler and Alice Sebold.

Maybe a Miracle Synopsis

Maybe a Miracle opens on the night of Monroe Anderson’s senior prom. He is uncomfortably dressed, dying for a smoke, and worried about his sexual prospects for the evening.  Then he sees his 11 year-old sister, Annika, lying face-down in the family swimming pool.  He breathes life back into her body, but her mind remains in a deep and mysterious coma.  From this moment on, Monroe’s life will be different. As family and friends rally round, hoping and praying that Annika will wake up, strange things start to happen around her…
 

Whilst Monroe doesn’t believe in miracles – let alone think his little sister can perform them -  it seems others are more easily convinced. As stories of Annika’s healing powers spread, Monroe can only stand by and watch as his mother, her church and the media attempt to elevate his sweet, annoying and wonderfully ordinary sister to virtual sainthood….

Maybe a Miracle Press Reviews

‘Incisive…laugh-out-loud funny…provocative and unique’ People

 â€˜Strause’s debut is as tender as a slow dance, as sassy as a rap song, and an utter joy.’ Jacquelyn Mitchard

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Spool of Blue Thread
A Spool of Blue Thread
Back When We Were Grownups
The Accidental Tourist

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780749907655
Publication date: 02/03/2006
Publisher: Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780749907655
Publication date: 2nd March 2006
Author: Brian Strause
Publisher: Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Brian Strause

Brian Strause was born in Columbus, Ohio. He graduated from the American Film Institute with an MFA in producing and worked as an associate producer for The 90s for PBS. He has also written TV and film scripts. He lives in Los Angeles.

More About Brian Strause

More Books By Brian Strause

Cover for Maybe a Miracle by Brian Strause
View All Books By Brian Strause

Share this book