finding gobi win prizes eligible curtis sittenfeld granchester desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Killing for England by Iain Mcdowall
  

Killing for England

Part of the Jacobson and Kerr Series
Thriller / Suspense   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A gripping police procedural in the tradition of Ian Rankin and Colin Dexter.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 September 2017. The winners will be notified by 13 October 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/09/2017

Synopsis

Killing for England by Iain Mcdowall

Chief Inspector Jacobson and DS Kerr had been on leave when the body of a young black man, Darren McGee, had been fished out of the River Crow. The autopsy had pointed to suicide by drowning. But now Darren’s cousin, Paul Shaw, is in town: a top-notch investigative journalist with an axe to grind and a claim that Darren had really been the victim of a racially-motivated murder.

Jacobson isn’t convinced. But when Paul Shaw turns up as dead and as terminally-wet as his cousin, Jacobson and Kerr are faced with a baffling double-murder to investigate. And a dangerous confrontation lies ahead with the murky world of the Far Right.

Reviews

Praise for Iain McDowall:

‘has a vivid sense of place...Crowby becomes more than a fictional town: it's almost a state of mind. Moreover its inhabitants are wonderfully characterised’ ANDREW TAYLOR

‘a lean, impressive debut...Kerr and Jacobson are a pleasure to meet and who offer hoped for more rich reading in future additions to the series’ WASHINGTON POST

‘compares favorably with Ian Rankin ... McDowall expertly manages a complicated plot and has created realistic, albeit troubled characters ... a compelling, fast-moving story that leaves the reader wondering where he will go from here.’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Iain McDowall has a superb ear for dialogue ... very realistic.’ NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE

About the Author

Iain Mcdowall

Iain McDowall was born in Kilmarnock, Scotland. He worked as a philosophy lecturer and as a computing specialist before turning to crime (writing). Currently, he divides his time between Crowby and his home in the Midlands.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd March 2006

Author

Iain Mcdowall

More books by Iain Mcdowall
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.crowby.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780749936372

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools