finding gobi when i was invisible Harry Potter House Eds granchester eligible curtis sittenfeld
Search our site
They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen Read the opening extract of the brand new Tammy Cohen book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Killing for England by Iain Mcdowall
  

Killing for England

Part of the Jacobson and Kerr Series
Thriller / Suspense   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A gripping police procedural in the tradition of Ian Rankin and Colin Dexter.

Synopsis

Killing for England by Iain Mcdowall

Chief Inspector Jacobson and DS Kerr had been on leave when the body of a young black man, Darren McGee, had been fished out of the River Crow. The autopsy had pointed to suicide by drowning. But now Darren’s cousin, Paul Shaw, is in town: a top-notch investigative journalist with an axe to grind and a claim that Darren had really been the victim of a racially-motivated murder.

Jacobson isn’t convinced. But when Paul Shaw turns up as dead and as terminally-wet as his cousin, Jacobson and Kerr are faced with a baffling double-murder to investigate. And a dangerous confrontation lies ahead with the murky world of the Far Right.

Reviews

Praise for Iain McDowall:

‘has a vivid sense of place...Crowby becomes more than a fictional town: it's almost a state of mind. Moreover its inhabitants are wonderfully characterised’ ANDREW TAYLOR

‘a lean, impressive debut...Kerr and Jacobson are a pleasure to meet and who offer hoped for more rich reading in future additions to the series’ WASHINGTON POST

‘compares favorably with Ian Rankin ... McDowall expertly manages a complicated plot and has created realistic, albeit troubled characters ... a compelling, fast-moving story that leaves the reader wondering where he will go from here.’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Iain McDowall has a superb ear for dialogue ... very realistic.’ NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE

About the Author

Iain Mcdowall

Iain McDowall was born in Kilmarnock, Scotland. He worked as a philosophy lecturer and as a computing specialist before turning to crime (writing). Currently, he divides his time between Crowby and his home in the Midlands.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd March 2006

Author

Iain Mcdowall

More books by Iain Mcdowall
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.crowby.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780749936372

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools