Killing for England

by Iain Mcdowall

Part of the Jacobson and Kerr Series

Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Killing for England

A gripping police procedural in the tradition of Ian Rankin and Colin Dexter.

Killing for England Synopsis

Chief Inspector Jacobson and DS Kerr had been on leave when the body of a young black man, Darren McGee, had been fished out of the River Crow. The autopsy had pointed to suicide by drowning. But now Darren’s cousin, Paul Shaw, is in town: a top-notch investigative journalist with an axe to grind and a claim that Darren had really been the victim of a racially-motivated murder.
 
Jacobson isn’t convinced. But when Paul Shaw turns up as dead and as terminally-wet as his cousin, Jacobson and Kerr are faced with a baffling double-murder to investigate. And a dangerous confrontation lies ahead with the murky world of the Far Right.

Killing for England Press Reviews

Praise for Iain McDowall:

‘has a vivid sense of place...Crowby becomes more than a fictional town: it's almost a state of mind. Moreover its inhabitants are wonderfully characterised’ ANDREW TAYLOR

‘a lean, impressive debut...Kerr and Jacobson are a pleasure to meet and who offer hoped for more rich reading in future additions to the series’ WASHINGTON POST

 ‘compares favorably with Ian Rankin ... McDowall expertly manages a complicated plot and has created realistic, albeit troubled characters ... a compelling, fast-moving story that leaves the reader wondering where he will go from here.’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Iain McDowall has a superb ear for dialogue ... very realistic.’ NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE

If you loved this, you might like these...

Watching You
The French Girl
The Dead Ex
Awakened A Novel

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780749936372
Publication date: 02/03/2006
Publisher: Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780749936372
Publication date: 2nd March 2006
Author: Iain Mcdowall
Publisher: Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Iain Mcdowall

Iain McDowall was born in Kilmarnock, Scotland. He worked as a philosophy lecturer and as a computing specialist before turning to crime (writing). Currently, he divides his time between Crowby and his home in the Midlands.

More About Iain Mcdowall

More Books By Iain Mcdowall

Cover for Cut Her Dead by Iain Mcdowall
View All Books By Iain Mcdowall

Share this book