Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Curiosity

by Stephen Kiernan

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

The Curiosity Synopsis

For readers of Justin Cronin's The Passage, S J Watson's Before I go to Sleep and Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, The Curiosity is a haunting love story in which a man frozen for 100 years wakes up in today's America to be hounded by tabloids, condemned by religious conservatives, and hunted by a presidential candidate while he strives to come to terms with his unique second life, one in which he falls in love with a beautiful scientist from a century after him. Maverick scientific genius Erastus Carthage has developed a technique to bring frozen simple-celled animals back to life. But when his Arctic research vessel discovers a body encased in an iceberg, he seizes the chance to apply his pioneering process to a human being. The man Carthage's lad awakens from death is Jeremiah Rice, a Massachusetts judge, who was born in 1868 and fell overboard in 1906. Jeremiah is an instant celebrity - chased by paparazzi, vilified by the religious right, and overwhelmed by a society he sees as brilliant and diverse but also vulgar and violent. As his only ally biologist Kate Philo attempts to protect him from financial and political exploitation, the two fall in love. Meanwhile, Jeremiah's time on earth is slipping away.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

The Curiosity Press Reviews

'A true page-turner, mixing cutting edge science with an all-too-human love story, while simultaneously taking on the Big Questions ... I'm green with envy at this writer's bold imagination. It's one of the most assured debuts in years, a book that will stop your heard and start it again'
Justin Cronin, author of The Passage

'I absolutely loved The Curiosity. It's thought-provoking, powerful and the writing is breathtakingly beautiful. And that ending? Poignant, luminescent, and absolutely perfect'
Chris Bohjalian, bestselling author of Midwives and The Double Bind Stephen Kiernan

's debut does plenty right SFX A thought-provoking love story Glamour I couldn't stop reading this wacky, dazzling flight of imagination Saga Magazine'


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones
The Sandcastle Girls
The Last Thing She Told Me
The Hunting Party

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781848548787
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848548787
Publication date: 8th May 2014
Author: Stephen Kiernan
Publisher: John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of John Murray General Publishing Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About Stephen Kiernan

Stephen Kiernan is a graduate of John Hopkins University and the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. Over his twenty years plus as a journalist he has won forty awards, including the Bechner Institute's Freedom of Information Award, the Gerald Loeb Award for financial journalism and the George Polk Award. He lives in Vermont with his two sons. The Curiosity is his first novel.

More About Stephen Kiernan

Share this book