Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Curiosity by Stephen Kiernan
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

One hundred years ago a Massachusetts judge, Jeremiah Rice, fell into the sea in 1906. He was incarcerated in an iceberg and now his frozen body has been discovered and brought back to life. Among the scientists caring for him is biologist Kate Philo. You can imagine the furore the discovery creates, how the press and science fall upon him. Now imagine how he feels. He and Kate fall in love and the whole story turns into something very beautiful. This is thought-provoking, powerful, extraordinarily convincing and very memorable, haunting you for days after you’ve finished it. Told in four different voices, those of our three main characters (including the repugnant scientist leading the programme) as well as a journalist, it takes some time before we’re finally allowed in the head of Jeremiah to get answers to some of the big questions the book asks. A lovely, lovely book.

If you like Stephen Kiernan you might also like to read books by Chris Bohjalian, M L Stedman and Jack Wolf.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Curiosity by Stephen Kiernan

For readers of Justin Cronin's The Passage, S J Watson's Before I go to Sleep and Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, The Curiosity is a haunting love story in which a man frozen for 100 years wakes up in today's America to be hounded by tabloids, condemned by religious conservatives, and hunted by a presidential candidate while he strives to come to terms with his unique second life, one in which he falls in love with a beautiful scientist from a century after him. Maverick scientific genius Erastus Carthage has developed a technique to bring frozen simple-celled animals back to life. But when his Arctic research vessel discovers a body encased in an iceberg, he seizes the chance to apply his pioneering process to a human being. The man Carthage's lad awakens from death is Jeremiah Rice, a Massachusetts judge, who was born in 1868 and fell overboard in 1906. Jeremiah is an instant celebrity - chased by paparazzi, vilified by the religious right, and overwhelmed by a society he sees as brilliant and diverse but also vulgar and violent. As his only ally biologist Kate Philo attempts to protect him from financial and political exploitation, the two fall in love. Meanwhile, Jeremiah's time on earth is slipping away.

Reviews

'A true page-turner, mixing cutting edge science with an all-too-human love story, while simultaneously taking on the Big Questions ... I'm green with envy at this writer's bold imagination. It's one of the most assured debuts in years, a book that will stop your heard and start it again'
Justin Cronin, author of The Passage

'I absolutely loved The Curiosity. It's thought-provoking, powerful and the writing is breathtakingly beautiful. And that ending? Poignant, luminescent, and absolutely perfect'
Chris Bohjalian, bestselling author of Midwives and The Double Bind Stephen Kiernan

's debut does plenty right SFX A thought-provoking love story Glamour I couldn't stop reading this wacky, dazzling flight of imagination Saga Magazine'


About the Author

Stephen Kiernan is a graduate of John Hopkins University and the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. Over his twenty years plus as a journalist he has won forty awards, including the Bechner Institute's Freedom of Information Award, the Gerald Loeb Award for financial journalism and the George Polk Award. He lives in Vermont with his two sons. The Curiosity is his first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th May 2014

Author

Stephen Kiernan

More books by Stephen Kiernan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

stephenpkiernan.com/

Publisher

John Murray Publishers Ltd an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781848548787

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools