books of the month debuts of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Bring Me Home by Alan Titchmarsh
  

Bring Me Home

Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £0.00

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A big, sprawling family saga revolving around a Scottish castle and estate. We have births, deaths and marriages galore; tragedy, mysterious students and skulduggery. The head of the household, the laird Charlie, is a sad man who tries to do right, plays his part with a heavy broken heart. This is a typical Titchmarsh saga, full of incident and passion, drama and mystery but not all is resolved and, although beautifully written, he has better books, try The Haunting and Folly.

If you like Alan Titchmarsh you might also like to read books by Madeleine Wickham, Judy Astley and Santa Montefiore.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Bring Me Home by Alan Titchmarsh

The author of eight top ten bestselling novels including Folly and The Haunting, Alan Titchmarsh's new novel moves to the Scottish Highlands and has an involving family mystery at its heart. It is the perfect escapist read for fans of Judy Finnigan and Kate Morton. Britain's favourite gardener and TV presenter Alan Titchmarsh takes us to the scenic highlands of Scotland for his new tale of betrayal, mystery and romance. The author of eight bestselling novels including The Haunting and Folly, Titchmarsh's new multi-generational novel makes the perfect gift this Mother's Day. 'You really are the perfect family, aren't you?' Charlie Stuart, the owner of a Scottish castle and disappointed father of a brood of grown-up children, took in the full irony of his guest's comment at a Sunday house party. His family - and his life - were far from perfect. He had longed since childhood to inherit the Castle on the loch. He had fallen in love with the landscape and the wildlife that surrounded it and looked forward to the responsibilities that came with it, but his mother's devastating death while he was away at school and his father's remarriage to an unwelcome stepmother had swept away any easy path to fulfilling his destiny. Charlie has to grow up quickly, but along with his inheritance and the discovery of the love of his life come unexpected complications that involve espionage, deceit and a mysterious death. Now - thirty years since finally becoming the castle's guardian - his past had caught up with him. It was about to tear his 'perfect' family apart.

Reviews

'Praise for THE HAUNTING:

'A perfect love story. - Katie Fforde

'The story brims with intrigue' - Daily Express


About the Author

Alan Titchmarsh

Alan Titchmarsh is known to millions through the popular BBC TV programmes British Isles: A Natural History, How to be a Gardener, Ground Force and Gardeners' World. But he started out in far humbler beginnings, in a rural childhood on the edge of Ilkley Moor in Yorkshire.

After a spell at Kew he became a horticultural journalist, as an Editor of gardening magazines, before becoming a freelance broadcaster and writer.

He has twice been named 'Gardening Writer of the Year' and for four successive years was voted 'Television Personality of the Year' by the Garden Writers' Guild. In 2004 he received their Lifetime Achievement Award.

Alan has appeared on radio and television both as a gardening expert and as an interviewer and presenter, fronting such programmes as Points of View, Pebble Mill, Songs of Praise, Titchmarsh's Travels and Ask the Family, and since 1983 has presented the BBC's annual coverage of The Chelsea Flower Show. He now has his own daytime TV show on ITV, The Alan Titchmarsh Show. Alan has written more than forty gardening books, as well as seven best-selling novels, including his 2008 success, Folly, which have all made the Sunday Times Bestsellers List. Alan has published three volumes of memoirs; Trowel and Error sold over 200,000 copies in hardback when published in 2002, and Nobbut A Lad, about his Yorkshire childhood, was published in October 2006 with similar success, and his third volume of memoir Knave of Spades was a Sunday Times bestseller.

He was made MBE in the millennium New Year Honours list and holds the Victoria Medal of Honour, the Royal Horticultural Society's highest award. He lives with his wife and a menagerie of animals in Hampshire where he gardens organically.

Author photo by Mark Harrison © Hachette UK

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Alan Titchmarsh

More books by Alan Titchmarsh
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

alantitchmarsh.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780340936917

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools