Sufiya Ahmed - Author

Books by Sufiya Ahmed

Follow the Moon

Follow the Moon

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/09/2022

Follow the Moon by Sufiya Ahmed

Rosie Raja: Churchill's Spy

Rosie Raja: Churchill's Spy

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/08/2022

A thrilling and empowering WWII adventure about the French resistance and their British allies, with a determined, Muslim heroine. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those looking for diverse historical fiction. July, 1941. Rosina Raja is half-Indian and half-English. She has always lived in India, so when her mother passes away and she moves to England (where it rains all the time) she is miserable and doesn't have any friends. Life changes dramatically for Rosie when she discovers that her army captain father is actually a spy for the British government. She can't bear to be left behind so she stows away in his plane. Finding herself in occupied France, Rosie is soon drawn into the struggle against the Nazis. With new allies and new enemies at every turn, she must help her father complete his mission, and more importantly... make sure they both get home alive.

Brave Spies

Brave Spies

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2022

Collins Big Cat supports every primary child on their reading journey from phonics to fluency. Top authors and illustrators have created fiction and non-fiction books that children love to read. Book banded for guided and independent reading, there are reading notes in the back, comprehensive teaching and assessment support and ebooks available. In 1940 a private army of spies were specially trained and sent to France to work undercover to defeat Adolf Hitler's Nazis. Many of these spies were brave, daring women whose fearless actions helped Britain win the war. These are their heroic stories. Diamond/Band 17 books offer more complex, underlying themes to give opportunities for children to understand causes and points of view. Ideas for reading in the back of the book provide practical support and stimulating activities.

Searching for Jamila

Searching for Jamila

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2022

Collins Big Cat supports every primary child on their reading journey from phonics to fluency. Top authors and illustrators have created fiction and non-fiction books that children love to read. Book banded for guided and independent reading, there are reading notes in the back, comprehensive teaching and assessment support and ebooks available. Matt and Alex and their little sister Lizzie have returned to England from their fun-filled holiday in India. Accompanying them is their young ayah, Jamila. The day after they return home, the children wake to find Jamila gone. Who made her leave? Where did she go? She is alone and penniless in a new country and the children know they must find her. And so, the search for the ayah begins. Pearl/Band 18 books offer fluent readers a complex, substantial text with challenging themes to facilitate sustained comprehension, bridging the gap between a reading programme and longer chapter books. Ideas for reading in the back of the book provide practical support and stimulating activities.

Princess Sophia Duleep Singh

Princess Sophia Duleep Singh

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/01/2022

My Story: Princess Sophia Duleep Singh - the thrilling story of the princess and suffragette. Born in Britain to Indian and Egyptian parents, Princess Sophia Duleep Singh was a prominent suffragette and campaigned for the women's right to vote. Explore Sophia's incredible life with My Story. Perfect for any child wanting to learn more about history's untold stories Great background reading for Key Stage 2 & 3 My Story: exciting stories with reliable and accurate historical detail Experience history first-hand with My Story.

Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Reflect: Oxford Reading Level 11: Here to Stay

Oxford Reading Tree TreeTops Reflect: Oxford Reading Level 11: Here to Stay

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/01/2022

Grand-papa is moving in and Mina's family is preparing for things to change at home. Mina is keen to do her bit to help - he is very old and surely needs looking after. But, when Grand-papa doesn't behave as Mina expects, she starts to think that she may have been wrong ... Reflect is a series of emotionally powerful fiction and non-fiction with realistic settings, carefully crafted to promote thoughtful discussions and develop higher-level reading comprehension. Written by top authors and developed with Literacy expert Nikki Gamble, these are books you can trust to engage, entertain and support children's personal development and wellbeing. The books are finely levelled, making it easy to match every child to books with the right depth and complexity, and helping them to progress. Each book contains inside cover notes to help children deepen their understanding and support their reading comprehension. Teaching notes on Oxford Owl offer cross-curricular links to Relationships Education and support literacy skills.

Ruby Ali's Mission Break Up: A Bloomsbury Reader

Ruby Ali's Mission Break Up: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/08/2021

A contemporary story about life in foster care, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. Ruby Ali's eighteen-year-old sister Alisha has left the care centre where they live, and Ruby is being sent to live with a new foster family. If she can sabotage life at her new home, she'll get to go and live with her sister again, right? But mission break up doesn't go exactly according to plan... This funny, heart-warming story about a Muslim girl finding her place in the world features black-and-white illustrations by Parwinder Singh. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with book-banded stories to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2 by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence. With engaging illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for home and school. All titles are quizzed for Accelerated Reader. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Dark Red, ideal for ages 10+

Noor Inayat Khan

Noor Inayat Khan

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/08/2020

My Story: Noor-un-Nissa Inayat Khan is the thrilling story of British-Indian World War Two heroine, Noor-un-Nissa Inayat Khan. It's 1940 and hundreds of families are being forced to flee Nazi-occupied France. Noor refuses to stand by while Nazi forces invade her home and terrorise her people, so she travels to England and signs up to join the war efforts, despite her mother's wishes. It isn't long before her talents are noticed and she is chosen by Winston Churchill to sneak back into France as an undercover agent. Noor returns home - but this time, as a secret agent... Can Noor keep her true identity hidden, report her findings back to London and help the Allies win the war? Perfect for any child wanting to learn more about history's untold stories Great background reading for Key Stage 2 & 3 My Story: exciting stories with reliable and accurate historical detail Experience history first-hand with My Story.

Secrets of the Henna Girl

Secrets of the Henna Girl

Author: Sufiya Ahmed Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2012

Sufiya Ahmed has recently written for the bestselling non-fiction anthology IT'S NOT ABOUT THE BURQA. Read her debut YA novel now! Life as Zeba knows it could be over for good . . . Zeba Khan is like any other sixteen-year-old girl: enjoying herself, waiting for exam results . . . and dreaming of the day she'll meet her one true love. Except her parents have other plans. In Pakistan for the summer, Zeba's world is shattered. Her future is threatened by an unthinkable - and forced - duty to protect her father's honour. But does she hold the secrets that will help her escape?