LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Margaret Wise Brown - Author

About the Author

Margaret Wise Brown (1910 - 1952) was an American author of many popular tales for children, but is best known for her stories Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny. Clement Hurd (1908 - 1988) studied art in Paris and worked as a freelance decorative artist in New York before becoming a children's book illustrator. Best known for Goodnight Moon, he later created on many beautiful books with his wife Edith Thacher Hurd.

Featured books by Margaret Wise Brown

Other books by Margaret Wise Brown

The Runaway Bunny

The Runaway Bunny

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/05/2021

This book is packed with beautiful images and reassuring words as a mother bunny tells her baby bunny how much she loves him. The runaway bunny, first published in 1942, has indeed become a classic picture book. Generations of readers have fallen in love with the gentle magic of its reassuring words and loving pictures. This beautiful new edition will be loved and shared by families for years to come. The genius of this book lies in its touching simplicity. It belies the depth and power of its message. Emma Thompson.

From the World of Goodnight Moon: 100 First Words

From the World of Goodnight Moon: 100 First Words

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Board book Release Date: 01/10/2020

A delightful word book illustrated with familiar and comforting art from the world of Goodnight Moon. Sturdy board pages with 100 words organized into categories such as Animals, Colors, Toys, and Bedtime makes this word book just right for helping babies and toddlers identify words they're beginning to learn. There's no better way to get kids pointing, naming, and talking than with the iconic words and illustrations readers will recognize from Margaret Wise Brown's and Clement Hurd's beloved classics Goodnight Moon and My World. Perfect for tiny hands and growing minds, this word book is a great addition to every child's first bookshelf.

The Noon Balloon

The Noon Balloon

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Two Little Trains

Two Little Trains

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Skillfully designed and composed, Pizzoli's cheerful interpretation is thoroughly modern and charming. Swoonworthy for train lovers and preschoolers alike. -Kirkus (starred review) The classic picture book from Margaret Wise Brown about two trains and their cross-country journey from east to west, with a bold new look from Geisel Award-winning artist Greg Pizzoli. Two little trains went down the track, Two little trains went West. PUFF PUFF PUFF CHUG CHUG CHUG Two little trains to the West. A streamlined train and a little old train journey through hills and over mountains, crossing rivers and plains, in this treasured story from Margaret Wise Brown, author of Goodnight Moon. Reimagined with bold and vibrant art by Geisel Award-winning artist Greg Pizzoli, this updated edition is perfect for fans of things that go. Makes for a great baby shower gift! Pizzoli's illustrations...add texture, vibrancy, and bring the journey to new life....Toddlers and preschoolers who love trains will delight in the tale while adults familiar with the original book will appreciate the opportunity to introduce it to a new generation. -School Library Journal (starred review) The soothing clickity-clack of the late Brown's verse lulls as effectively as when it first appeared 70 years ago. -Publishers Weekly (starred review) This is a storytime winner. Blocky clear shapes, vivid colors, and simple designs make each page burst with an energy that will appeal to the smallest child. -Booklist

Goodnight Songs Treasury

Goodnight Songs Treasury

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/11/2019

Age range 3 to 9 Goodnight Songs Treasury collects Margaret Wise Brown's poems from the New York Times-bestselling Goodnight Songs and A Celebration of the Season in one volume for the first time. Brown's sweet verses are beautifully brought to life by 24 award-winning artists, including Sophie Blackall, Melissa Sweet, and Peter Brown.

On Christmas Day

On Christmas Day

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Board book Release Date: 31/10/2019

All is warm and bright in this peaceful look at the first Christmas night. In lilting verse, Margaret Wise Brown welcomes animals and children to the manger where baby Jesus lies. Children will want to snuggle in close as they hear the gentle invitation: 'O come all ye children/ O come one and all/ O come to the stable in Bethlehem's stall.' In soft, cozy hues, watercolor illustrations depict the newborn King surrounded by his adoring guests. This simple Christmas board book encourages families to slow down and marvel at the meaning of Christmas.

Margaret Wise Brown 5-Minute Stories

Margaret Wise Brown 5-Minute Stories

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/09/2019

A Home in the Barn

A Home in the Barn

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/10/2018

An Indie Next List Pick! A glorious tribute to Brown's timeless classic. -Booklist (starred review) Perfect for fans of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and Big Red Barn, this never-before-published picture book from beloved children's book author Margaret Wise Brown tells the comforting, snowy story of animals seeking shelter from the cold in a big warm barn. Brought to beautiful life by Caldecott Medalist and multiple award-winner Jerry Pinkney, this is a must-have for every child's library and is perfect for cozy wintertime readings. Outside in the cold, hear the wind rattle, come to the barn, keep warm with the cattle...

Celebration of the Seasons, A

Celebration of the Seasons, A

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Loose-leaf Release Date: 07/10/2018

Good Day, Good Night

Good Day, Good Night

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2018

A never-before-published picture book from Margaret Wise Brown, the bestselling author of Goodnight Moon, brought to life by Loren Long, #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator. When the sun comes up and the day begins, the little bunny says good day to all the familiar things outside. To the birds in the skies and the bees in their hives, to everything one by one. And as the sun starts to set, it's time for the little bunny to say good night. Good night, kitty. Good night, bear. Good night, people everywhere. This never-before-published text by beloved children's book author Margaret Wise Brown uses her signature word pattern from the classic Goodnight Moon that has soothed generations of children to sleep. Paired with Loren Long's gorgeous illustrations, this story is perfect for sleepy children aged 3 and up.

Train to Timbuctoo

Train to Timbuctoo

Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Art Seiden Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/01/2018

Golden Egg Book

Golden Egg Book

Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Leonard Weisgard Format: Board book Release Date: 09/01/2018

Goodnight Songs

Goodnight Songs

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Board book Release Date: 07/12/2017

Baby sail the seven seas Safely in my arms When the waves go up and down You are safe from harm. Now this New York Times bestselling collection of charming lullabies by Margaret Wise Brown (Goodnight Moon) comes in an adorable board edition--still gorgeously illustrated by 12 award-winning artists. The roster of celebrated names includes Carin Berger, whose The Little Yellow Leaf was a New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book; Eric Puybaret, who brought the bestselling Puff, the Magic Dragon to life on the page; Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Sean Qualls; and Caldecott Honor medalist Melissa Sweet. It's the perfect gift to wish children a sweet goodnight. The illustrators are Jonathan Bean * Carin Berger * Sophie Blackall * Linda Bleck * Renata Liwska * Christopher Silas Neal * Zachariah OHora * Eric Puybaret * Sean Qualls * Isabel Roxas * Melissa Sweet * Dan Yaccarino

The Quiet Noisy Book

The Quiet Noisy Book

Author: Margaret Wise Brown Format: Board book Release Date: 10/08/2017

From Margaret Wise Brown-author of the childhood favorite Goodnight Moon-and Caldecott-winning illustrator Leonard Weisgard comes The Quiet Noisy Book, now back in print in a sturdy board book! Muffin, the little dog, has been asleep all night. Quietly something wakes him up. A very quiet noise. What could it be? Originally published in 1950, the classic story of the little dog, Muffin, accompanied by big and bright illustrations is sure to show readers that sometimes the quietest of sounds are the most important of all.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more