Hollie Overton - Author

About the Author

Debut author Hollie Overton is a television writer who has written for ABC Family, CBS and Lifetime. Overton's father was a member of Austin, Texas notorious Overton gang, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter.

Raised by her single mother, Hollie an identical twin herself, draws on her unique childhood experiences to lend realism and compassion to her depictions of violence and complicated family dynamics.

Featured books by Hollie Overton

Other books by Hollie Overton

The Runaway

The Runaway

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/08/2018

The captivating new novel from the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll. Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton's The Child and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door. Ashley Naylor is a teenage runaway - she is found beaten, stabbed and left for dead in the backstreets of LA. When Ash's foster mother, Becca, discovers that Ash has been murdered, she sets out to track down the killer, seeking justice for this broken girl and salvation for herself. Ash's trail leads Becca to Hollywood, where souls are sold for the illusive promise of fame, and where using and throwing away a teenage girl is just another day at the office. But it's on the streets of downtown LA that Becca will ultimately find the answers she's desperately seeking, thrusting her into the untamed no-mans land of Skid Row, a ruthless mini society with its own rules and its own justice system...

The Runaway

The Runaway

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/08/2018

The captivating new novel from the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll. Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton's The Child and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door. Ashley Naylor is a teenage runaway - she is found beaten, stabbed and left for dead in the backstreets of LA. When Ash's foster mother, Becca, discovers that Ash has been murdered, she sets out to track down the killer, seeking justice for this broken girl and salvation for herself. Ash's trail leads Becca to Hollywood, where souls are sold for the illusive promise of fame, and where using and throwing away a teenage girl is just another day at the office. But it's on the streets of downtown LA that Becca will ultimately find the answers she's desperately seeking, thrusting her into the untamed no-mans land of Skid Row, a ruthless mini society with its own rules and its own justice system...

The Walls

The Walls

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/07/2018

From the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll, comes a riveting thriller with domestic violence, murder and how far one woman will go to protect her family at its core. 'Every bit as gripping as her best-selling debut Baby Doll ... an addictive and suspenseful thriller' Sunday Mirror 'Stunning... Dark tale' Heat 'Will keep you gripped' Fabulous, The Sun on Sunday 5 stars 'From the author of the stunning Baby Doll comes this dark tale' HEAT magazine 'A suspense-fuelled read, offering a unique insight into domestic violence' i Paper 'Baby Doll was dark, twisty and magnificent and [this] builds on her ability to place her female characters in the darkest of situations, only to see them fight their way to a world of survival' Stylist.co.uk *********************************************************************** What if murder is your only way out? Single mom Kristy Tucker works as a press agent for the Texas Department of Corrections handling everything on death row from inmate interviews, to chronicling the last moments during an execution. Her job exposes Kristy to the worst of humanity and it's one that's beginning to take its toll. So when Kristy meets Lance Dobson, her son's martial arts instructor, she believes she's finally found her happy ending. She's wrong. Kristy soon discovers that Lance is a monster. Forced to endure his verbal and physical abuse, Kristy is serving her own life sentence . . . unless she's willing to take matters into her own hands. Perfectly poised to exploit the criminal justice system she knows so well, Kristy sets out to get rid of Lance - permanently.

The Walls

The Walls

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/08/2017

What if you could get away with murder? Single mom Kristy Tucker works as press agent for the Texas Department of Corrections - handling everything on death row, from inmate interviews to chronicling the last moments during an execution. Her job exposes Kristy to the worst of humanity and it's one that's beginning to take its toll. So when Kristy meets Lance Dobson, her son's martial arts instructor, she believed she finally found her happy ending. She was wrong. Kristy soon discovers that Lance is a monster. Forced to endure his verbal and physical abuse, Kristy is serving her own life sentence . . . unless she's willing to take matters into her hands. Perfectly poised to exploit the criminal justice system she knows so well, Kristy sets out to get rid of Lance - permanently. THE WALLS explores domestic violence, the morality of murder and how far one woman will go to protect her family.

The Walls

The Walls

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/08/2017

From the author of Sunday Times bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club pick, Baby Doll, comes a riveting thriller with domestic violence, murder and how far one woman will go to protect her family at its core. 'Every bit as gripping as her best-selling debut Baby Doll ... an addictive and suspenseful thriller' Sunday Mirror 'Stunning... Dark tale' Heat 'Will keep you gripped' Fabulous, The Sun on Sunday 5 stars 'From the author of the stunning Baby Doll comes this dark tale' HEAT magazine 'A suspense-fuelled read, offering a unique insight into domestic violence' i Paper 'Baby Doll was dark, twisty and magnificent and [this] builds on her ability to place her female characters in the darkest of situations, only to see them fight their way to a world of survival' Stylist.co.uk *********************************************************************** What if murder is your only way out? Single mom Kristy Tucker works as a press agent for the Texas Department of Corrections handling everything on death row from inmate interviews, to chronicling the last moments during an execution. Her job exposes Kristy to the worst of humanity and it's one that's beginning to take its toll. So when Kristy meets Lance Dobson, her son's martial arts instructor, she believes she's finally found her happy ending. She's wrong. Kristy soon discovers that Lance is a monster. Forced to endure his verbal and physical abuse, Kristy is serving her own life sentence . . . unless she's willing to take matters into her own hands. Perfectly poised to exploit the criminal justice system she knows so well, Kristy sets out to get rid of Lance - permanently.

Baby Doll The twisted Richard and Judy Book Club thriller

Baby Doll The twisted Richard and Judy Book Club thriller

Author: Hollie Overton Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/06/2016

A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER AND RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK Read the novel that kept Tess Gerritsen transfixed and entertained until the very last page You've been held captive in one room. You've been mentally and physically abused every day since you were sixteen years old. Then, one night, you realise your captor has left the door to your cell unlocked. For the first time in eight years you're free. This is what happens next. Praise for Baby Doll `What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page.'- Tess Gerritsen 'An incredibly powerful debut' - Sunday Mirror `Compelling psychological thriller.' - Daily Express `With a narrative that can only be described as 'nuclear', the story of newly freed Lily and her daughter Sky moves at breakneck speed ... It's a really good read.' - Stylist `Compelling first novel ... Overton throws in enough twists, turns, and surprises to keep the reader wondering what on earth can happen next.' - Publishers Weekly `If Overton's debut is anything to go by, she'll soon be up there with the best of them!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph `Riveting from the first line.' - Woman's Own `Gritty, captivating thriller.' - Love Reading `A gripping page-turner that will make you think about what it means to be free.' - Glamour South Africa `Riveting and difficult to put down.' - News Gazette `You'll feel the sudden urge to check the locks on your front door.' - The Line Up `A fast paced and intense story that once I started I found I could not put down... the sheer heartbreak and horror of this story will keep you hooked...' - Feminisia Libros Reviews

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.hollieoverton.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Hollie Overton on Facebook