LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mark Stay - Author

About the Author

By night, Mark Stay is a film script writer and novelist who lives and works in London. By day, he is a Key Accounts manager within the Orion Sales department, where he performs astonishing sales feats every day. You can follow @markstay and @Robot--_Overlords on Twitter.

Featured books by Mark Stay

Robot Overlords Robots Never Lie

Robot Overlords Robots Never Lie

Author: Mark Stay Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/02/2015

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule: STAY IN YOUR HOMES Step outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first. But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS. This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

ebook of the month

Other books by Mark Stay

The End of Magic

The End of Magic

Author: Mark Stay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic. Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she's worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills. Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, but dreams of an apocalypse are giving him massive anxiety attacks. Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise to save the life of a young girl that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic's ending. A stand alone fantasy novel for readers of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch ** The sort of book you give to people who say prove to me why I should read fantasy ... A simply terrific read. - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes. - RJ Barker, author of the Wounded Kingdom Trilogy The sort of book you give to people who say prove to me why I should read fantasy ... A simply terrific read. - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story... exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of. - Gavin G. Smith, author of the Veteran series Stay does for George RR Martin what Pratchett did for Tolkien. - Julian Barr, author of The Way Home Like Game of Thrones without the boobs! - Amazon UK Reviewer This was a blast, hints of Joe Abercrombie's books and his dark humour, but presented in a world in chaos. - Amazon UK Reviewer The most fun I've had reading a fantasy novel since Red Country by Joe Abercrombie. - Amazon UK Reviewer This book grabbed me in the first couple of pages... Couldn't stop. Really want more! - Amazon UK Reviewer I may never forgive the author for that (spoiler) death scene... *When you read it you'll understand* Rarely have I shed tears so early on in a book. - Amazon UK Reviewer

Robot Overlords Robots Never Lie

Robot Overlords Robots Never Lie

Author: Mark Stay Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/02/2015

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule: STAY IN YOUR HOMES Step outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first. But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS. This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

ebook of the month

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more