Charlie Fletcher - Author

About the Author

Charlie Fletcher is a screenwriter and children's author living in Edinburgh. His Stoneheart trilogy has been translated into a dozen languages and the film rights have been sold to Paramount. The first volume, Stoneheart, was shortlisted for the Branford Boase award and longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. His standalone novel for children, Far Rockaway, was published last year to great critical acclaim and has been longlisted for the Carnegie prize. He can be found on twitter at @CharlieFletch_r.

Featured books by Charlie Fletcher

The Oversight

The Oversight

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/05/2014

Only five still guard the borders between the worlds. Only five hold back what waits on the other side. Once the Oversight, the secret society that polices the lines between the mundane and the magic, counted hundreds of brave souls among its members. Now their number can be tallied on a single hand. When a drunkard brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, it seems their hopes for a new recruit will be fulfilled - but the girl is a trap, her appearance a puzzle the five remaining guardians must solve or lose each other, and their society, for good. As the borders between the natural and the supernatural begin to break down, brutal murders erupt across the city, the Oversight are torn viciously apart, and their enemies close in for the final blow. This dark Dickensian fantasy spins a tale of witch-hunters, magicians, mirror-walkers and the unlikeliest of heroes drawn from the depths of British folklore. Meet the Oversight, and remember: when they fall, so do we all.

Other books by Charlie Fletcher

The Remnant

The Remnant

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/09/2017

'The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that.' The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself. 'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised' - M. R. Carey on The Oversight

The Remnant

The Remnant

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/03/2017

The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that. The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now, at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself. The final instalment in the Oversight trilogy; this dark and beguiling series comes to a thrilling end in The Remnant. M. R. Carey says 'exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised'. For fans of Neil Gaiman or The Essex Serpent.

Dragon Shield: The City of Beasts Book 3

Dragon Shield: The City of Beasts Book 3

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/04/2016

New allies and new hope leave siblings Will and Jo ready to face the dark force that lurks in the British Museum. It has frozen London, leaving the life force of the city's inhabitants to drain away. But with nearly all the animal statues of London and a nest of dragons against them, will they be able to save their mum - and the world - before time runs out? With beautiful illustrations by Nick Tankard.

The Paradox

The Paradox

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/12/2015

The last members of the secret society known as the Oversight still patrol the border between the natural and supernatural, holding a candle to the darkness. But the society's new members are unproven, its veterans weary and battle-scarred. Their vulnerability brings new enemies to London, and surprising new allies from across the sea. But most surprising of all are revelations about the Oversight's past, secrets that will expose the true peril of the world in which their friends Sharp and Sara are trapped - the riddle of the Black Mirrors, and what lies beyond. And the catastrophic danger that will follow the duo home, if they ever manage to return. The dark waters rise. The candle is guttering. But the light still remains. For now . . .

Dragon Shield: The London Pride Book 2

Dragon Shield: The London Pride Book 2

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/03/2015

A dark force has woken in the British Museum and stopped time, freezing London and its inhabitants. Will and Jo are the only humans unaffected by the spell, and have been fighting alongside London's statues to locate the source of the disruption. But now their statue allies have been frozen too, leaving brother and sister alone and pursued by murderous dragons. What is more, they have noticed that the unmoving people of London are getting colder by the hour ... No longer able to rely on London's statues for help, Will and Jo must stop the source of the evil before the life force of London's inhabitants drains away.

The Oversight A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

The Oversight A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/11/2014

'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing' -M. R. Carey, author of The Girl With All the Gifts WHEN THEY FALL, SO DO WE ALL Once the Oversight, the secret society that polices the lines between the mundane and the magic, counted hundreds of brave souls among its members. Now their number can be tallied on a single hand. When a drunkard brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, it seems their hopes for a new recruit will be fulfilled - but the girl is a trap, her appearance a puzzle the five remaining guardians must solve or lose each other, and their society, for good. As the borders between the natural and the supernatural begin to break down, brutal murders erupt across the city, the Oversight are torn viciously apart and their enemies close in for the final blow. This dark Dickensian fantasy spins a tale of witch-hunters, magicians, mirror-walkers and the unlikeliest of heroes drawn from the depths of British folklore. Meet the Oversight, and remember: when they fall, so do we all. The Oversight Trilogy begins with The Oversight, continues in The Paradox and concludes in The Remnant.

Dragon Shield Book 1

Dragon Shield Book 1

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2014

The start of a thrilling, action-packed trilogy from Charlie Fletcher, set in a world where statues come to life and dragons and heroes battle. Something dark has woken in the British Museum, and it has stopped time, literally freezing the city in its tracks. The people are there, but unmoving, unseeing - like statues. The statues, on the other hand, can move, and are astonished at what they see. In the Great Ormond Street Hospital, Will and Jo are suddenly plunged into this world of statues - and find themselves pursued by murderous dragons. With help from a couple of friendly statues, Will and Jo must escape the evil that stalks them in the streets of London. With beautiful illustrations by Nick Tankard.

Oversight

Oversight

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: eBook Release Date: 06/05/2014

"e;Exciting, exhilaring, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realized."e; - M. R. Carey "e;The end always happens faster than you think."e; Once there were hundreds of members of the Oversight, the brave souls who guard the borders between the mundane and the magic. Now there are only five.When a vagabond brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, she could answer their hopes for new recruit, or she could be the instrument of their downfall. The Oversight seriesThe OversightThe ParadoxThe Remnant

Far Rockaway

Far Rockaway

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/01/2013

Cat is knocked down by a speeding fire truck whilst crossing 55th St and 3rd Ave in Central Manhattan. She wakes in a world made from all the books her grandfather used to read to her, peopled by some of the most memorable heroes of classic adventure fiction, brought vividly to life. Cat must earn their friendship and help as she begins an odyssey and epic quest to find the mythic Castle at the World's End. And the name of that distant, mythic, wave-tumbled fastness? It is, of course, the castle of Far Rockaway. If you enjoy reading good books; swashbuckling adventures with sword fights and pirates - then Far Rockaway is the book for you. Join Cat as she embarks on the journey of a lifetime. Far Rockaway has been longlisted for the Carnegie Book Award 2013.

Stoneheart: Silvertongue Book 3

Stoneheart: Silvertongue Book 3

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/04/2009

George and Edie are travelling through unLondon, a world of danger on the city streets, and they are quite alone. Time is standing still, and the rest of London is unaware of their plight, unaware of the hidden world of living statues, of Shackleton and the Queen of Time. In the concluding part of the breathtaking and critically acclaimed Stoneheart trilogy, Edie and George look deeper into Edie's past, and her future.

Stoneheart Book 1

Stoneheart Book 1

Author: Charlie Fletcher Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/09/2007

'Deep in the City something had been woken, so old that people had been walking past it for centuries without giving it a second look...' When George breaks the dragon's head outside the Natural History Museum he awakes an ancient power. This prehistoric beast, sentry-still for centuries, hunts him down with a terrifying wrath. And this is just the beginning... The taints and spits - statues with opposing natures - are warring forces; wreaking deadly havoc on the city landscape. The World War One gunner offers protection of sorts; and the wisdom of the Sphinx is legendary. But George and his companion Edie are trapped in a world of danger. And worse - they are quite alone. The rest of London is oblivious to their plight. This epic adventure exposes forces long-layered in the fabric of London. After entering its richly original and breathtaking world, the city streets and skyline will never again seem the same!

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more