LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Carolyn Jess-Cooke - Author

About the Author

Following a PhD at Queen's University, Carolyn Jess-Cooke took up a lectureship in Film Studies at the University of Sunderland. She has published non-fiction books in Film Studies and Shakespeare and is the author of the multi award-winning collection of poetry INROADS.

 

Author photo © Bec Hughes

Featured books by Carolyn Jess-Cooke

The Guardian Angel's Journal

The Guardian Angel's Journal

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/04/2011

April 2011 Debut of the Month. This is a tear-jerking tale of a dead 42 year old coming back to look after herself from birth to death.  It's dark and yet lightly told and clever and it comes with top marks from us.   Lovereading comment: Based on an imaginative and ambitious core idea, the question that has to be asked is does this book deliver in terms of narrative and characterisation? Does it go anywhere? Does it arrest you? The answer is that if you are able to go along with the fantasy, then this is a fulfilling read. If you find the fantasy a stretch, then so might be this book. But it is worth a try. This is the first novel by an intelligent and skillful writer from whom we cannot help feel that there are more good things to come. Note - there is the interesting inclusion of 'Reading Group Discussion Points' at the end. Plus an author Q&A, in which she admits to being inspired, among others, by Rachmaninov, Bjork and Coldplay.If this book is Bjork, we await Rachmaninov with interest!

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Boom!

Boom!

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/04/2014

Boom! by Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Boy Who Could See Demons

Boy Who Could See Demons

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Ebook Release Date: 13/08/2013

Bestselling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soulperfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining caseone that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible. Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary ';friend' Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will. But Anya has seen this kind of behavior beforewith her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex's condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered. A rich and deeply moving page-turner, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the reader changed.Praise for The Boy Who Could See Demons ';A well written, engaging read filled with compassion for those suffering the whims of an untamed mental illness . . . A poignant read, The Boy Who Could See Demons is a suspenseful novel that probes the issues surrounding the devastating effects of mental illness. The author delves into the psychological issues of schizophrenia and mental disorders with such dexterity it leaves the reader stirred and affected, questioning throughout the story what is real and what is not. . . . As the conclusion draws near, the story takes unexpected turns, making it even more dramatic and compelling.'New York Journal of Books ';Impressive . . . Jess-Cooke is every bit as skillful in her vivid portrayals of unworldly beings . . . as in illustrating the dreadful toll taken by mental illness.'Booklist ';A searing novel of suspense.'Publishers Weekly';A psychologically complex thriller, told with compassion in a marvelously suspenseful narrative that keeps you engaged from the first page to the last . . . This book has it all: a dark and dangerous setting, characters full of depth, rich emotions, and a clever plot. You'll fall in love with Alexand his demons.'Chevy Stevens, author of Still Missing ';Top-notch psychological suspense . . . Beware what you think you know. It might be only the demons talking.'Lisa Gardner, author of Touch & Go ';Brilliant! Rich with fully formed characters, this heart-gripping novel will keep you riveted from first page to last.'Jeffery Deaver, author of XO ';Utterly captivating, this is a book I adored and savored from the first to the very last magical page.'Tess Gerritsen, author of Ice ColdFrom the Hardcover edition.

The Boy Who Could See Demons

The Boy Who Could See Demons

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/05/2012

I first met my demon the morning that Mum said Dad had gone. 'My name is Alex. I'm ten years old. I like onions on toast and I can balance on the back legs of my chair for fourteen minutes. I can also see demons. My best friend is one. He likes Mozart, table tennis and bread and butter pudding. My mum is sick. Ruen says he can help her. Only Ruen wants me to do something really bad. He wants me to kill someone.'

Film Sequels

Film Sequels

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/02/2012

The film sequel has been much maligned in popular culture as a vampirish corporative exercise in profit-making and narrative regurgitation. Drawing upon a wide range of filmic examples from early cinema to the twenty-first century, this exciting new volume reveals the increasing popularity of, and experimentation with, film sequels as a central dynamic of Hollywood cinema. Now creeping into world cinemas and independent film festivals, the sequel is persistently employed as a vehicle for cross-cultural dialogue and as a structure by which memories and cultural narratives can be circulated across geographical and historical locations. This book aims to account for some of the major critical contexts within which sequelisation operates by exploring sequel production beyond box office figures. Its account ranges from sequels in recent mainstream cinema, art-house and 'indie' sequels, non-Hollywood sequels, the effects of the domestic market on sequelisation, and the impact of the video game industry on Hollywood. The book: *Situates the sequel within its industrial, cultural, theoretical and global contexts.* Offers an essential resource for students and critics interested in film and literary studies, adaptation, critical theory and cultural studies. *Provides the first study of film sequels in world cinemas and independent film-making.

Inroads

Inroads

Author: Carolyn Jess-Cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/01/2010

Inroads by Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Shakespeare on Film - Such Things as Dreams Are Made Of

Shakespeare on Film - Such Things as Dreams Are Made Of

Author: Carolyn Jess-cooke Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/09/2007

Shakespeare on Film - Such Things as Dreams Are Made Of by Carolyn Jess-cooke