LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Peter Macon

Browse audiobooks narrated by Peter Macon, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man Audiobook Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man
    1
  2. The Sin Eater Audiobook The Sin Eater
    2
  3. Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Be Audiobook Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Be
    3
  4. Near Dark: A Thriller Audiobook Near Dark: A Thriller
    4
  5. Coming Home to Island House Audiobook Coming Home to Island House
    5
  6. Outsider: A Novel of Suspense Audiobook Outsider: A Novel of Suspense
    6
  7. What You Wish For: A Novel Audiobook What You Wish For: A Novel
    7
  8. The Alchemist Audiobook The Alchemist
    8
  9. Relationship Goals: How to Win at Dating, Marriage, and Sex Audiobook Relationship Goals: How to Win at Dating, Marriage, and Sex
    9
  10. Tempt Me Audiobook Tempt Me
    10
Filter
Bingo’s Run: A Novel Audiobook

Bingo’s Run: A Novel

Author: James A. Levine Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: January 2014

For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction. Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera’s garbage mound; “lipping” safari tourists of their cash; and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running “white” to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for “protection,” Bingo’s life changes, and he learns that life itself is the “run.” A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo’s Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive. “James A. Levine is a deeply gifted writer who reaches into the dirt, sweat, and diesel of modern-day Nairobi and introduces us to a young innocent whose adventures are unforgettable. Bingo’s runs between joy and death, laughter and sorrow, survival and redemption, will make you feel like cheering.”—James McBride, New York Times bestselling author

Show more
The New Space Opera Audiobook

The New Space Opera

This dazzling anthology includes epic interstellar adventures, tales of space and wonder, from some of the brightest names in science fiction. Authors include Kage Baker, Stephen Baxter, Gregory Benford, Tony Daniel, Greg Egan, Peter F. Hamilton, Gwyneth Jones, James Patrick Kelly, Nancy Kress, Ken Macleod, Paul J. McAuley, Ian McDonald, Robert Reed, Alastair Reynolds, Mary Rosenblum, Robert Silverberg, Dan Simmons, and Walter Jon Williams. “Inside the science fiction I love the best, there is a rip-roaring space opera just waiting to take me for a ride. This anthology is a reminder of why science fiction captured the hearts and minds of generations of readers.”—Orson Scott Card

Show more
Quest for the Well of Souls Audiobook

Quest for the Well of Souls

Author: Jack L. Chalker Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: July 2013

Mavra Chang was once a master criminal, notorious throughout the galaxy. But for eleven long years she has been trapped in a nonhuman body on the Well World—the master control planet for the universe, where untold numbers of strange races exist, separated by barriers erected by the mysterious, vanished race that built the Well World billions of years ago. Orbiting the planet is a planetoid concealing Obie, a supercomputer that could restore Mavra Chang to her original form—if she can reach it. Unfortunately, the only spaceship on the planet is hidden in the northern hemisphere, a place no living creature can survive. She soon learns that her enemies are plotting to eliminate her, steal the ship, and escape from the Well World. But many others have planned her demise before, and Mavra Chang is still alive and well—which is more than can be said of those who once wished her ill. “Chalker knows how to tell a story…A master!”—Fantasy & Science Fiction magazine

Show more
Exiles at the Well of Souls Audiobook

Exiles at the Well of Souls

Author: Jack L. Chalker Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: June 2013

The war of the Well World has begun. Antor Trelig, head of a ruthless interstellar syndicate, has seized a supercomputer with godlike powers that could make him omnipotent. The Council offers master criminal Mavra Chang any reward she desires if she can stop Trelig—and horrible, lingering death if she fails. But neither Trelig nor Mavra has taken the Well World into consideration. Built by the ancient Markovians, the Well World controls the design of the cosmos. When the opponents are drawn across space to the mysterious planet, they find themselves in new, alien bodies and in the middle of a battle where strange races fight desperately—with the control of the entire universe as the prize. “A powerful storyteller.”—Orson Scott Card, Washington Post Book World

Show more
Midnight at the Well of Souls Audiobook

Midnight at the Well of Souls

Author: Jack L. Chalker Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: May 2013

At the heart of a bizarre planet lay the goal of every being that had ever lived... Below average in height and unprepossessing in appearance, Nathan Brazil is an unassuming if cynical starship owner, carrying passengers and cargo for a living-hardly the sort of person to hold the fate of the entire universe in his hands. But when Nathan detours from his route to answer a distress call, a hidden stargate hurls him and his passengers to the Well World, the master control planet for the cosmos. Billions of years ago, a godlike race unlocked all the secrets of space and time and remade the universe according to their grand design. Then they vanished and left behind the Well World to maintain the pattern of the universe. Now someone is searching for the planet's hidden control room-the Well of Souls-to seize control of the cosmos. Nathan must stop them, but this planet causes bizarre metamorphoses in visitors, changing them into centaurs, mermaids, and giant insects seemingly at random. As a result, Nathan no longer recognizes his friends, let alone his unknown enemies. His task seems hopeless-until his long-suppressed memories begin to return and he realizes who he really is. "A big, bold book that takes traditional science fiction and turns it upside down!"-Leigh Brackett, science fiction author and screenwriter on The Empire Strikes Back

Show more
Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley Audiobook

Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley

Author: Timothy White Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: March 2013

This is the classic biography of reggae legend Bob Marley, updated and revised for the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death. Bob Marley left an indelible mark on modern music, both as a reggae pioneer and as an enduring cultural icon. Catch a Fire, now a classic rock biography, delves into the life of this man, the leader of a musical and spiritual revolution that continues today. The book chronicles Marley's life and career, as well as the milieu that shaped his spiritual and political beliefs. Under the supervision of the author's widow and with the collaboration of a Marley expert, this fourth edition contains a wealth of new material, including many revisions made by the author before his untimely death. This new edition, factually updated throughout, chronicles Marley's legacy in recent years, as well as the ongoing controversy over the possibility that Marley's remains might be exhumed from Nine Mile, Jamaica, and reburied in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, where hundreds of Rastafarians live. Fascinating inside information about the intrigues of the reggae music business, the dramatic rise of Marley's musical offspring, the complex legal struggles surrounding the Marley estate, and a sweeping social history of modern Jamaica, as well as the Rastafarian religion, also make up this expanded edition.

Show more
Vacation Audiobook

Vacation

Author: Matthew J. Costello Narrator: Peter Macon Release Date: September 2011

Jack Murphy and his family need a vacation. This one might just kill them. After a global crisis causes crops to fail and species to disappear, something even more deadly happens. Masses around the world suddenly become predators, feeding off their own kind. These "Can Heads" grow to such a threat that fences, gated compounds, and SWAT-style police protection become absolutely necessary to live. After one attack leaves NYPD cop Jack Murphy wounded and his partner dead, Jack takes his wife and kids on a vacation far up north, to the Paterville Family Camp, a fortress-like compound in the mountains where families can still swim and take boats out on a lake. At first, it's idyllic. There's plenty of food, fun stuff for their children, and another nice young couple with kids of their own. And when the camp suffers a Can Head attack, Jack even helps defend it. He's immediately offered a job in security. His family wants to stay. But Jack slowly comes to realize that there's something else going on at Paterville Family Camp, and when he makes a gruesome discovery, he will be forced to get his family out, no matter who-or what-stands in his way. "I absolutely devoured Vacation...It's dark, subversive, deeply disturbing, and absolutely compelling."-Jonathan Maberry, Bram Stoker Award-winning author

Show more