The Favour

Fortune favours the fraud... When she was thirteen years old, Ada Howell lost not just her father, but the life she felt she was destined to lead. Now, at eighteen, Ada is given a second chance when her wealthy godmother gifts her with an extravagant art history trip to Italy.

Book Cover for The Favour  by Laura Vaughan

The Key In The Lock

An exquisitely eloquent, provocative and powerful historical mystery set in Cornwall at the beginning of the twentieth century.

Book Cover for The Key In The Lock by Beth Underdown

Breaking Point

This chilling, emotional thriller explores the burdens placed on working mothers in the wake of a high-flying doctor’s tragic mistake.

Book Cover for Breaking Point by Edel Coffey

The Last House on the Street

Social issues from the dark past of the USA hit home in this novel that welds two time frames, two women, and a mystery together.

Book Cover for The Last House on the Street by Diane Chamberlain

The Sentence

Through the lens of its unforgettable Native American protagonist, this brilliant bookstore-set ghost story provides a dazzling commentary on these unsettling days.

Book Cover for The Sentence by Louise Erdrich

While Paris Slept

On a platform in occupied Paris, a mother whispers goodbye. It is the end. But also the beginning. Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily's Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman's The Light Between Oceans. Santa Cruz 1953.

Book Cover for While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart

Daughter of the Moon Goddess

This LoveReading Star Book is a captivating vibrant high fantasy influenced by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess.

Book Cover for Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

The Green Lunch Box

60 super-tasty veggie recipes that are good for you, good for your pocket, and good for the planet.

Book Cover for The Green Lunch Box by Becky Alexander

Betrayal

A vividly intense spy thriller overflowing with courage, resourceful smarts, and a whole host of furious combative encounters.

Book Cover for Betrayal by David Gilman

Unsettled Ground

What if the life you have always known is taken from you in an instant? What would you do to get it back? Twins Jeanie and Julius have always been different from other people. At 51 years old, they still live with their mother, Dot, in rural isolation and poverty.

Book Cover for Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller

Rabbit Hole

Fall down this Rabbit Hole and discover a mind-altering world as a murder investigation takes place on a psychiatric ward.

Book Cover for Rabbit Hole by Mark Billingham

Would I Lie to You?

From fresh new voice Aliya Ali-Afzfal, Would I Lie to You? is a page-turning, warm and funny debut about what happens when you have your dream life - and are about to lose it. At the school gates, Faiza fits in.

Book Cover for Would I Lie to You? by Aliya Ali-Afzal

Mrs Death Misses Death

Mrs Death has had enough. She is exhausted from spending eternity doing her job and now she seeks someone to unburden her conscience to. Wolf Willeford, a troubled young writer, is well acquainted with death, but until now hadn't met Death in person - a black, working-class woman who shape-shifts and does her work unseen.

Book Cover for Mrs Death Misses Death by Salena Godden

Mrs Death Misses Death

Mrs Death has had enough. She is exhausted from spending eternity doing her job and now she seeks someone to unburden her conscience to. Wolf Willeford, a troubled young writer, is well acquainted with death, but until now hadn't met Death in person - a black, working-class woman who shape-shifts and does her work unseen.

Book Cover for Mrs Death Misses Death by Salena Godden

Opal Country

This LoveReading Star Book carves into the Australian outback and delivers an absolutely cracking slice of crime fiction.

Book Cover for Opal Country by Chris Hammer

Unsettled Ground

What if the life you have always known is taken from you in an instant? What would you do to get it back? Twins Jeanie and Julius have always been different from other people. At 51 years old, they still live with their mother, Dot, in rural isolation and poverty.

Book Cover for Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller

Betrayal

A vividly intense spy thriller overflowing with courage, resourceful smarts, and a whole host of furious combative encounters.

Book Cover for Betrayal by David Gilman

The Storyteller

The nicest man in rock shares a real and raw collection of tales of life and music from all periods of his life from Springfield Virginia, to Scream, to Nirvana, to the Foo Fighters.

Book Cover for The Storyteller by Dave Grohl

Mirrorland

No. 36 Westeryk Road, an imposing flat-stone house on the outskirts of Edinburgh. A house of curving shadows and crumbling grandeur. But it's what lies under the house that is extraordinary - Mirrorland. A vivid make-believe world that twin sisters Cat and El created as children. A place of escape, but from what?

Book Cover for Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

Good Eggs

Meet the Gogartys; cantankerous gran Millie (whose eccentricities include a penchant for petty-theft and reckless driving); bitter downtrodden stepson Kevin (erstwhile journalist whose stay-at-home parenting is pushing him to the brink); and habitually moody, disaffected teenage daughter Aideen.

Book Cover for Good Eggs  by Rebecca Hardiman

Fragile

Everything she touches breaks . . . Nell Ballard is a runaway. A former foster child with a dark secret she is desperate to keep, all Nell wants is to find a place she can belong. So when a job comes up at Starling Villas, home to the enigmatic Robin Wilder, she seizes the opportunity with both hands.

Book Cover for Fragile by Sarah Hilary

Diddly Squat

Man has been growing crops for 12,000 years, how hard can it be, right? Accompany Clarkson on his voyage of discovery as he learns to become a farmer in his year at Diddly Squat Farm.

Book Cover for Diddly Squat by Jeremy Clarkson

The Unravelling

An eerie tang of longing hovers over this expressive and moving novel set on a wild island off of the English coast.

Book Cover for The Unravelling by Polly Crosby

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

Travel with Ailey as she explores her family through two hundred years in this penetrating and powerful novel we proclaim as a must-read future classic.

Book Cover for The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois by Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Rabbit Hole

Fall down this Rabbit Hole and discover a mind-altering world as a murder investigation takes place on a psychiatric ward.

Book Cover for Rabbit Hole by Mark Billingham

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

Travel with Ailey as she explores her family through two hundred years in this penetrating and powerful novel we proclaim as a must-read future classic.

Book Cover for The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois by Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

While Paris Slept

On a platform in occupied Paris, a mother whispers goodbye. It is the end. But also the beginning. Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily's Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman's The Light Between Oceans. Santa Cruz 1953.

Book Cover for While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart

Latest Expert Book Reviews

The 50 Greatest Architects

200 pages of informative words and stirring images covering seminal architects and their creations, from Hemiunu’s Great Gaza Pyramid to leading contemporary lights.


Underpinned by a desire to “awaken a greater appreciation of your built environment”, this elegant anthology from award-winning architect Ike Ijeh showcases the world’s fifty greatest architects, through time, and across the globe. Framed in a compelling relatable context (“Of all art forms, architecture is ultimately a human story, and the most rewarding aspect of unravelling that story and shedding light on those who have made it great is that we learn a little something about ourselves”), Ijeh provides us with engaging biographies of each architect, alongside showstopping photos and illustrated plans of their ... Read Full Review

Joanne Owen

Call Us What We Carry

A beautiful, powerful and lyrical anthology of poems by the incredible inaugural presidential poet Amanda Gorman


In 2021, Amanda Gorman delivered the inaugural poem on the day Joe Biden became President and became about as famous as a poet can be. This poetry collection is the follow up to that award-winning The Hill We Climb she delivered that day which received critical acclaim and international recognition. She was a ray of sunshine in her yellow suit. I was spellbound, and I’ll be honest, frantically googling her to find out more about her. On the cover of Call Us What We Carry Malala Yousafzai says: "this is a book of poetry so alive you want to ... Read Full Review

LoveReading

The Fairy Tellers

Our need for stories is age old, and here we meet the tellers of fairy tales in the most revealing, atmospheric, and captivating read.


Fascinating and utterly bewitching, if you love fairy tales, in fact stories of any kind, then this is the book for you. Nicholas Jubber examines the history of the fairy tellers, those who started the fairy tales that have twisted and reformed and are still alive today. I have to say that this book is so ‘right up my street’ that it’s parked on double yellows, thrown its doors open and invited everyone to gather round and listen, so of course we declare it a LoveReading Star Book. The book itself is completely engaging, from the ... Read Full Review

Liz Robinson

About LoveReading

LoveReading is the UK’s leading book recommendation website. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the book reviews, tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book.

Our Editorial Experts and their book reviews make it easy for you to choose the perfect book to read next, and, membership of the site delivers a helpful range of unique online tools, including 10-15 page opening extracts and listening to samples of audio books from specially selected titles. You can save books to your wishlist, price compare and buy from the website. We only feature books we have enjoyed so much we’d love to share them with others.

Read more

Love for LoveReading

Linda Rollins

"Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions. "

View all