Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers







     
The Whale Road by Robert Low


The Whale Road

Robert Low

Part of the 'The Oathsworn Series' Series
Sorry this version of this title isn't available,
see 'Other Formats' for additional ones including eBooks
Price £6.74
RRP: £8.99
Saving £2.25 (25%)
Add this book to your wishlist Share this book page Compare Book Price at Amazon and many other online stores

---------------------------------------------------------------

Synopsis

The Whale Road by Robert Low
The first in the Oathsworn series, charting the adventures of a band of Vikings on the chase for the secret hoard of Attila the Hun. Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn - so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood - and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder. But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious 'White Christ' are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the 'whale road', toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together. Robert Low, a significant up and coming voice in historical fiction, has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, THE WHALE ROAD is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin. The Oathsworn series is sure to hook old and new readers alike.

Reviews

'A company of warriors, desperate battles, an enthralling read'
BERNARD CORNWELL

'A fantastic book, one of the best I have read for years. There's a wonderful earthiness to proceedings and he creates a tangible sense of being there. There's a sturdy, lyrical and epic quality about the writing which makes it feel like the kind of saga a Viking would recount in his old age.'
SIMON SCARROW

'A stirring Viking series of blockbuster battles and religious intrigue.'
Publishing News

'All the right ingredients are firmly in place...above all there is the storyline itself; told in an earthy, rough-and-ready stylewhich perfectly compliments this saga for the 21st Century.'
Yorkshire Evening Post

'A fascinating read'
The Glasgow Herald

'The Hangman humour of the band of sworn brothers gives Low's epic but brutal tale real humanity and the detail of 10th century life is wonderfully vivd. The action is fast and furious...shockingly believably so. Low's debut novel hits the mark with maximum impact.'
Bridlington Today


About the Author

Robert Low has been a journalist and writer since the age of seventeen. He covered the wars in Vietnam, Sarajevo, Romania and Kosovo until common sense and the concerns of his wife and daughter prevailed. To satisfy his craving for action, having moved to an area rich in Viking tradition, he took up re-enactment, joining The Vikings. He now spends his summers fighting furiously in helmet and mail in shieldwalls all over Britain and winters training hard. He lives in Largs, Scotland.
More books by this author

Author 'Like for Like' recommendation

Book info
Loading other formats...
Format
Paperback
400 pages

Author
Robert Low

More books by Robert Low


Author's Website
www.robert-low.com



Publisher
Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
www.harpercollins.co.uk

Publication date
1st August 2007


ISBN
9780007215300
 



















Share or bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 

Notify me when an extract becomes available

Notify me by email when an extract from this book becomes available for download.


Your Name
Your Email
 

We respect your privacy. E-mail addresses you enter here are used only for sending extract availability notifications only. Please read our Privacy Policy.


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS