make the most of Lovereading twitter likeyoulove eligible curtis sittenfeld book price comparison
Search our site
They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen Read the opening extract of the brand new Tammy Cohen book before its publication on 13/07/2017

The Whale Road by Robert Low
  

The Whale Road

Part of the The Oathsworn Series Series

RRP £9.99

Synopsis

The Whale Road by Robert Low

The first in the Oathsworn series, charting the adventures of a band of Vikings on the chase for the secret hoard of Attila the Hun. Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn - so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood - and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder. But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious 'White Christ' are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the 'whale road', toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together. Robert Low, a significant up and coming voice in historical fiction, has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, THE WHALE ROAD is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin. The Oathsworn series is sure to hook old and new readers alike.

Reviews

'A company of warriors, desperate battles, an enthralling read'
BERNARD CORNWELL



'A fantastic book, one of the best I have read for years. There's a wonderful earthiness to proceedings and he creates a tangible sense of being there. There's a sturdy, lyrical and epic quality about the writing which makes it feel like the kind of saga a Viking would recount in his old age.'SIMON SCARROW

`A stirring Viking series of blockbuster battles and religious intrigue.'Publishing News

`All the right ingredients are firmly in place...above all there is the storyline itself; told in an earthy, rough-and-ready stylewhich perfectly compliments this saga for the 21st Century.'Yorkshire Evening Post

`A fascinating read'
The Glasgow Herald



`The Hangman humour of the band of sworn brothers gives Low's epic but brutal tale real humanity and the detail of 10th century life is wonderfully vivd. The action is fast and furious...shockingly believably so. Low's debut novel hits the mark with maximum impact.'Bridlington Today


About the Author

Robert Low has been a journalist and writer since the age of seventeen. He covered the wars in Vietnam, Sarajevo, Romania and Kosovo until common sense and the concerns of his wife and daughter prevailed. To satisfy his craving for action, having moved to an area rich in Viking tradition, he took up re-enactment, joining The Vikings. He now spends his summers fighting furiously in helmet and mail in shieldwalls all over Britain and winters training hard. He lives in Largs, Scotland.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2007

Author

Robert Low

More books by Robert Low
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007215300

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools