broken trilogy make the most of Lovereading birdcage walk helen dunmore win prizes jonathan unleashed
Vouchers


Sagas and Romance Sagas and Romance

Rags to riches heroines and tight-knit communities, Journeys far and wide to find home and heart, these are epic stories on small playing fields.

This Month's Featured Books

Mothering Sunday by Rosie Goodwin
Mothering Sunday
Rosie Goodwin
In the late 1800s, left on the steps of a workhouse as a new born, named Sunday to mark the day and subjected to a hard and often cruel childhood, our heroine, as a teenager, catches the eye of the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
A Dangerous Crossing by Rachel Rhys
A Dangerous Crossing
Rachel Rhys
All aboard for an Agatha Christie-esque mystery set on a ship bound for the distant shores of Australia in 1939. As the world teeters on the edge of another war, working class Lily is about to plunge headlong into a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lady of Hay by Barbara Erskine
Lady of Hay
Barbara Erskine
Barbara Erskine's iconic debut novel still delights generations of readers thirty years after its first publication. A story spanning centuries. A long awaited revenge. In London, journalist Jo Clifford plans to debunk the belief in past-lives in a hard-hitting magazine...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
The Boy with the Latch Key by Cathy Sharp
The Boy with the Latch Key
Cathy Sharp
Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. Archie and his sister June have been 'latch key' kids; fending for themselves while their caring but harassed and careworn mum tries...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
Born to be Trouble by Sheila Jeffries
Born to be Trouble
Sheila Jeffries
The poignant and gripping new saga from the author of the bestselling The Girl by the River and The Boy with No Boots, perfect for fans of Margeret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
The Cavendon Luck (Cavendon Chronicles, Book 3) by Barbara Taylor Bradford
The Cavendon Luck (Cavendon Chronicles, Book 3)
Barbara Taylor Bradford
Two families, the aristocratic Inghams and the Swanns who serve them, have been bound by loyalty since the first stone was laid. But when war looms, sons, husbands and brothers are called up to fight; trials and tragedies strike the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
No Place for a Woman by Val Wood
No Place for a Woman
Val Wood
Can a woman find her place on the front line of battle? Will Lucy be able to follow her dreams - and find love - in a world shattered by war? With the dark clouds of the First World War...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/01/2017
It Was Only Ever You by Kate Kerrigan
It Was Only Ever You
Kate Kerrigan
Winner of the RNA Historical Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2017. Heartbreak and misunderstandings are woven through this uplifting story of a woman who can never quite believe that her gorgeous husband really loves her. Set, like Maeve...
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/10/2016

Last Month's Featured Books

The Girl Below Stairs by Jennie Felton

The Girl Below Stairs
Jennie Felton
The Girl Below Stairs is the third powerful saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court,...

The Forget-Me-Not Child by Anne Bennett

The Forget-Me-Not Child
Anne Bennett
A story of struggle and hardship and one girl's battle for survival from the bestselling author of If You Were the Only Girl and Another Man's Child. Tragedy...

The Month Before's Featured Books

How to Find Love in a Book Shop by Veronica Henry

Reader Reviewed How to Find Love in a Book Shop
Veronica Henry
One of our Books of the Year 2016. A lovely, gentle read, full of interesting characters, and at the heart of it all, a rather wonderful book shop called Nightingale...

Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams by Mary Gibson

Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
Mary Gibson
Matty Gilbie must rebuild her life in Bermondsey after the Wall Street Crash destroys her dreams of silver screen stardom. Once home in Bermondsey, she goes into hiding and starts...

A Family Secret by Josephine Cox

A Family Secret
Josephine Cox
This latest novel from Josephine Cox gets straight to the heart of family life and the dramas that surround them. What begins as a gentle, seaside holiday in Blackpool with...

Those Were the Days by Lynda Page

Those Were the Days
Lynda Page
The fourth nostalgic saga set in Jolly's holiday camp in the 1960s. Lynda Page's dramatic novel follows on from The Time of our Lives, Where Memories are Made...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta
  
Add to favourites

Love in a Cold Climate

__________________________

We all love a good saga. From Wuthering Heights and Jamaica Inn, to the modern works of authors like Katie Flynn, Katherine Webb and Nadine Dorries, there is something so captivating about the journey of a romantic heroine through an unfamiliar world, where the hearts and desires of all around her form the centre of everything. These stories can take place on grand settings: on the High Seas and foreign lands, or on a small cobbled street in a northern mining town. It doesn’t matter, as the journey of the heart is the most important of all. Get your tissues at the ready and find yourself happily shipwrecked on the ragged rocks of epic romance.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Dilly Court
Margaret Dickinson
Margaret Graham
Katie Flynn
Lizzie Lane
Lyn Andrews
Ellie Dean
June Hampson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools