Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Great Cornish Getaway by Fern Britton Read the opening extract of the brand new Fern Britton book before its publication on 01/02/2018

Sagas and Romance Sagas and Romance

Rags to riches heroines and tight-knit communities, Journeys far and wide to find home and heart, these are epic stories on small playing fields.

This Month's Featured Books

With a Kiss and a Prayer by Ellie Dean
With a Kiss and a Prayer
Ellie Dean
Cliffehaven, May 1944 The tension is rising for Peggy Reilly and the inhabitants of Cliffehaven as the planes continue to roar above the town and there is still no news of the long-awaited Allied invasion into France. There seems to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/01/2018
One Kind Man by Anna Jacobs
One Kind Man
Anna Jacobs
The second book in beloved and bestselling Anna Jacobs' new Lancashire-based saga.
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/01/2018

Last Month's Featured Books

Outcast Child by Kitty Neale

Outcast Child
Kitty Neale
Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn, this is a rags to riches story from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Mother's Sacrifice and A Family Scandal.

Music Across the Mersey by Geraldine O'Neill

Music Across the Mersey
Geraldine O'Neill
A heartwarming saga of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews from storyteller Geraldine O'Neill.

The Month Before's Featured Books

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson

Monsoon Summer
Julia Gregson
From the bestselling author of the Richard and Judy Book Club summer read, East of the Sun, Julia Gregson returns with this compelling love story set in India - perfect...

A Family Secret by Josephine Cox

A Family Secret
Josephine Cox
This latest novel from Josephine Cox gets straight to the heart of family life and the dramas that surround them. What begins as a gentle, seaside holiday in Blackpool with...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges
  
Add to favourites

Love in a Cold Climate

__________________________

We all love a good saga. From Wuthering Heights and Jamaica Inn, to the modern works of authors like Katie Flynn, Katherine Webb and Nadine Dorries, there is something so captivating about the journey of a romantic heroine through an unfamiliar world, where the hearts and desires of all around her form the centre of everything. These stories can take place on grand settings: on the High Seas and foreign lands, or on a small cobbled street in a northern mining town. It doesn’t matter, as the journey of the heart is the most important of all. Get your tissues at the ready and find yourself happily shipwrecked on the ragged rocks of epic romance.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Dilly Court
Margaret Dickinson
Margaret Graham
Katie Flynn
Lizzie Lane
Lyn Andrews
Ellie Dean
June Hampson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools