Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading join us on facebook win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson
  

Lovereading view...

I don’t know why Swedish authors seem obsessed with narrative coming from the perspective of the dead victim and when this occurs here I thought “oh no, not again” but on this occasion it works well for we have many narratives with Rebecka Martinsson among them, her fourth outing. Interestingly, although you can guess the identity of the killer way before the end, your attention is still gripped as you strive to understand the motives behind the acts of violence. There is a certain amount of background lost if you haven’t read the earlier books and lots to carry on to the next, but in the main it stands alone well.

If you like Asa Larsson you might also like to read books by Stieg Larsson, Camilla Lackberg and Mons Kallentoft.

Synopsis

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson

In the first thaw of spring the body of a young woman surfaces in the River Torne in the far north of Sweden. Rebecka Martinsson is working as a prosecutor in nearby Kiruna, her sleep troubled by visions of a shadowy, accusing figure. Could the body belong to the girl in her dream? Joining forces with Police Inspector Anna-Maria Mella, Martinsson will need all her courage to face a killer who will kill again to keep the past buried under half a century of silent ice and snow.

Reviews

'Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will not be disappointed' - Publishers Weekly

'Larsson's laid back style makes her unflinching probing of icy depths of the human heart all the more chilling' - Jake Kerridge, The Telegraph

'This book was so good! A lot of Swedish crime books carry the comparison of being as good as Henning Mankell and many of them simply aren't. However, I actually thought that this was better than Mankell's books ... Asa Larsson weaves an extremely intricate plot and we view the actions directly from several different characters ...' - Dot Scribbles

'A brutal, yet beautiful, tragedy. The strength of Asa Larsson's characters made it very difficult to put the book down ... I just had to keep turning those pages' - Erik Lundqvist, in I Will Read Books


About the Author

Asa Larsson

Åsa Larsson was born in 1966 and grew up in Kiruna, Sweden. She is a qualified lawyer. Her first novel, The Savage Altar, was awarded the Swedish Crime Writers’ Association prize for best debut. Its sequel, The Blood Spilt, was chosen as Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2004.

Author photo © Orlando G Boström

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st January 2014

Author

Asa Larsson

More books by Asa Larsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.asa-larsson.com/

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery
Fiction in translation

ISBN

9781780870984

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools