newgen books for YA readers make the most of Lovereading Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson
  

Lovereading view...

I don’t know why Swedish authors seem obsessed with narrative coming from the perspective of the dead victim and when this occurs here I thought “oh no, not again” but on this occasion it works well for we have many narratives with Rebecka Martinsson among them, her fourth outing. Interestingly, although you can guess the identity of the killer way before the end, your attention is still gripped as you strive to understand the motives behind the acts of violence. There is a certain amount of background lost if you haven’t read the earlier books and lots to carry on to the next, but in the main it stands alone well.

If you like Asa Larsson you might also like to read books by Stieg Larsson, Karin Fossum and Jo Nesbo.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson

In the first thaw of spring the body of a young woman surfaces in the River Torne in the far north of Sweden. Rebecka Martinsson is working as a prosecutor in nearby Kiruna, her sleep troubled by visions of a shadowy, accusing figure. Could the body belong to the girl in her dream? Joining forces with Police Inspector Anna-Maria Mella, Martinsson will need all her courage to face a killer who will kill again to keep the past buried under half a century of silent ice and snow.

Reviews

'Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will not be disappointed' - Publishers Weekly

'Larsson's laid back style makes her unflinching probing of icy depths of the human heart all the more chilling' - Jake Kerridge, The Telegraph

'This book was so good! A lot of Swedish crime books carry the comparison of being as good as Henning Mankell and many of them simply aren't. However, I actually thought that this was better than Mankell's books ... Asa Larsson weaves an extremely intricate plot and we view the actions directly from several different characters ...' - Dot Scribbles

'A brutal, yet beautiful, tragedy. The strength of Asa Larsson's characters made it very difficult to put the book down ... I just had to keep turning those pages' - Erik Lundqvist, in I Will Read Books


About the Author

Asa Larsson

Åsa Larsson was born in 1966 and grew up in Kiruna, Sweden. She is a qualified lawyer. Her first novel, The Savage Altar, was awarded the Swedish Crime Writers’ Association prize for best debut. Its sequel, The Blood Spilt, was chosen as Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2004.

Author photo © Orlando G Boström

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st January 2014

Author

Asa Larsson

More books by Asa Larsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.asa-larsson.com/

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery
Fiction in translation

ISBN

9781780870984

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools