Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson
  

Lovereading view...

I don’t know why Swedish authors seem obsessed with narrative coming from the perspective of the dead victim and when this occurs here I thought “oh no, not again” but on this occasion it works well for we have many narratives with Rebecka Martinsson among them, her fourth outing. Interestingly, although you can guess the identity of the killer way before the end, your attention is still gripped as you strive to understand the motives behind the acts of violence. There is a certain amount of background lost if you haven’t read the earlier books and lots to carry on to the next, but in the main it stands alone well.

If you like Asa Larsson you might also like to read books by Mons Kallentoft, Camilla Lackberg and Jo Nesbo.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Until Thy Wrath Be Past A Rebecka Martinsson Investigation by Asa Larsson

In the first thaw of spring the body of a young woman surfaces in the River Torne in the far north of Sweden. Rebecka Martinsson is working as a prosecutor in nearby Kiruna, her sleep troubled by visions of a shadowy, accusing figure. Could the body belong to the girl in her dream? Joining forces with Police Inspector Anna-Maria Mella, Martinsson will need all her courage to face a killer who will kill again to keep the past buried under half a century of silent ice and snow.

Reviews

'Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will not be disappointed' - Publishers Weekly

'Larsson's laid back style makes her unflinching probing of icy depths of the human heart all the more chilling' - Jake Kerridge, The Telegraph

'This book was so good! A lot of Swedish crime books carry the comparison of being as good as Henning Mankell and many of them simply aren't. However, I actually thought that this was better than Mankell's books ... Asa Larsson weaves an extremely intricate plot and we view the actions directly from several different characters ...' - Dot Scribbles

'A brutal, yet beautiful, tragedy. The strength of Asa Larsson's characters made it very difficult to put the book down ... I just had to keep turning those pages' - Erik Lundqvist, in I Will Read Books


About the Author

Asa Larsson

Åsa Larsson was born in 1966 and grew up in Kiruna, Sweden. She is a qualified lawyer. Her first novel, The Savage Altar, was awarded the Swedish Crime Writers’ Association prize for best debut. Its sequel, The Blood Spilt, was chosen as Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2004.

Author photo © Orlando G Boström

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st January 2014

Author

Asa Larsson

More books by Asa Larsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.asa-larsson.com/

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime & mystery
Fiction in translation

ISBN

9781780870984

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools