make the most of Lovereading debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Tudor Bride by Joanna Hickson
  

The Tudor Bride

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

Starting where The Agincourt Bride left off with Catherine de Valois, now Queen of England, awaiting her coronation. Told from the point of view of her former nursemaid, Mette, this shows a strong willed, spoilt girl who, as we know, did indeed bear Henry V a son only, once Henry dies, she has a hard fight on her hands to keep her position. This is a very fine retelling of an exciting and uncertain period as the Wars of the Roses loom. Highly recommended.

If you like Joanna Hickson you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Chadwick, Philippa Gregory and Sharon Penman.

Synopsis

The Tudor Bride by Joanna Hickson

The thrilling story of Catherine de Valois - the French princess who became an English queen. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. Even the greatest of queens have rules - to break them would cost her dearly...King Henry V's new French Queen, Catherine, dazzles the crowds in England but life at court is full of intrigue and her loyal companion, Mette, suspects that the beautiful Eleanor Cobham, protegee of the Duke of Gloucester, is spying for him. Catherine believes herself invincible as she gives birth to an heir, then tragically King Henry is struck down by fever back in France and a weeping dowager queen follows his coffin back to England, comforted by the music of the King's Harper, Owen Tudor. Unable to outwit those who seek to remove the new young king from her care, Catherine retires from court. At the secluded manor of Hadham a smouldering ember bursts into flame and Catherine and Owen Tudor become lovers. But their love cannot remain a secret forever, and when a grab for power is made by Gloucester, Catherine - and those dearest to her - face mortal danger...

Reviews

Praise for The Agincourt Bride

'Gripping and emotional.' - Woman

'Superb...a real find.' - The Bookseller

About the Author

Joanna Hickson

Joanna Hickson spent twenty-five years at the BBC writing and presenting for radio and television. Gripped by Shakespeare's historical plays, Joanna began researching the King Henry V's 'fair Kate' as a schoolgirl and the story of Catherine de Valois and the Tudor genesis has remained with her throughout life. Joanna Hickson lives in an old farmhouse in East Lothian and is married with a large family and a wayward Irish terrier.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th November 2013

Author

Joanna Hickson

More books by Joanna Hickson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
592 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007446995

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools