before the fall Harry Potter House Eds granchester
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Tudor Bride by Joanna Hickson
  

The Tudor Bride

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Lovereading view...

Starting where The Agincourt Bride left off with Catherine de Valois, now Queen of England, awaiting her coronation. Told from the point of view of her former nursemaid, Mette, this shows a strong willed, spoilt girl who, as we know, did indeed bear Henry V a son only, once Henry dies, she has a hard fight on her hands to keep her position. This is a very fine retelling of an exciting and uncertain period as the Wars of the Roses loom. Highly recommended.

If you like Joanna Hickson you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Chadwick, Sharon Penman and Philippa Gregory.

Synopsis

The Tudor Bride by Joanna Hickson

The thrilling story of Catherine de Valois - the French princess who became an English queen. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. Even the greatest of queens have rules - to break them would cost her dearly...King Henry V's new French Queen, Catherine, dazzles the crowds in England but life at court is full of intrigue and her loyal companion, Mette, suspects that the beautiful Eleanor Cobham, protegee of the Duke of Gloucester, is spying for him. Catherine believes herself invincible as she gives birth to an heir, then tragically King Henry is struck down by fever back in France and a weeping dowager queen follows his coffin back to England, comforted by the music of the King's Harper, Owen Tudor. Unable to outwit those who seek to remove the new young king from her care, Catherine retires from court. At the secluded manor of Hadham a smouldering ember bursts into flame and Catherine and Owen Tudor become lovers. But their love cannot remain a secret forever, and when a grab for power is made by Gloucester, Catherine - and those dearest to her - face mortal danger...

Reviews

Praise for The Agincourt Bride

'Gripping and emotional.' - Woman

'Superb...a real find.' - The Bookseller

About the Author

Joanna Hickson

Joanna Hickson spent twenty-five years at the BBC writing and presenting for radio and television. Gripped by Shakespeare's historical plays, Joanna began researching the King Henry V's 'fair Kate' as a schoolgirl and the story of Catherine de Valois and the Tudor genesis has remained with her throughout life. Joanna Hickson lives in an old farmhouse in East Lothian and is married with a large family and a wayward Irish terrier.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th December 2013

Author

Joanna Hickson

More books by Joanna Hickson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
592 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780007446995

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools