join us on facebook book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Dead Gone by Luca Veste
  

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A Liverpool-set crime debut and already a deserved e-book bestseller, this initial case for DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi is set in the corridors of local academia, which the author knows well. A serial killer is terrorising the Merseyside streets with a sinister psychological agenda and a race against time develops to catch him before the death toll grows even further. Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page riproaring read for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride or anyone who prefers to read at night with the light on. Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Set around Liverpool with the University very central to the action, this is a multi-voiced serial killer tale with a depressed detective, a very bright side-kick covering for him and a nasty spate of murders which appear to be scientifically linked. One word … Terrific … that’s all I’m saying else I spoil it for you; complex, intriguing and well worth reading.

If you like Luca Veste you might also like to read books by Stuart MacBride, Mark Billington and Chris Mooney.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Dead Gone by Luca Veste

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last. A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will you chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham. A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous unethical and deadly psychological experiments. When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too. With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.

Reviews

'A chilling debut from a writer to watch...' Mark Billingham

'Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable debut.' Steve Mosby

'Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed debut thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation.' Chris Ewan

About the Author

Luca Veste is a writer of Italian and Scouse heritage, currently living on the wrong side of the River Mersey. He is married with two young daughters, and is himself one of nine children. He is currently a mature student, studying Psychology and Criminology in Liverpool. He is the editor of the Spinetingler Award nominated charity anthology series 'Off The Record', which raises money for children's literacy charities. He also has short stories in numerous publications. A former civil servant, actor, and musician, he now divides his time between home life, University work and writing.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2014

Author

Luca Veste

More books by Luca Veste
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lucaveste.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007525577

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools