win prizes make the most of Lovereading likeyoulove
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Dead Gone by Luca Veste
  

Dead Gone

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A Liverpool-set crime debut and already a deserved e-book bestseller, this initial case for DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi is set in the corridors of local academia, which the author knows well. A serial killer is terrorising the Merseyside streets with a sinister psychological agenda and a race against time develops to catch him before the death toll grows even further. Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page riproaring read for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride or anyone who prefers to read at night with the light on. Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Set around Liverpool with the University very central to the action, this is a multi-voiced serial killer tale with a depressed detective, a very bright side-kick covering for him and a nasty spate of murders which appear to be scientifically linked. One word … Terrific … that’s all I’m saying else I spoil it for you; complex, intriguing and well worth reading.

If you like Luca Veste you might also like to read books by Steve Mosby, Chris Mooney and Paul Finch.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Dead Gone by Luca Veste

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last. A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will you chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham. A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous unethical and deadly psychological experiments. When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too. With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.

Reviews

'A chilling debut from a writer to watch...' Mark Billingham

'Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable debut.' Steve Mosby

'Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed debut thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation.' Chris Ewan

About the Author

Luca Veste is a writer of Italian and Scouse heritage, currently living on the wrong side of the River Mersey. He is married with two young daughters, and is himself one of nine children. He is currently a mature student, studying Psychology and Criminology in Liverpool. He is the editor of the Spinetingler Award nominated charity anthology series 'Off The Record', which raises money for children's literacy charities. He also has short stories in numerous publications. A former civil servant, actor, and musician, he now divides his time between home life, University work and writing.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2014

Author

Luca Veste

More books by Luca Veste
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lucaveste.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007525577

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools