make the most of Lovereading debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Dead Gone by Luca Veste

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

A Liverpool-set crime debut and already a deserved e-book bestseller, this initial case for DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi is set in the corridors of local academia, which the author knows well. A serial killer is terrorising the Merseyside streets with a sinister psychological agenda and a race against time develops to catch him before the death toll grows even further. Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page riproaring read for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride or anyone who prefers to read at night with the light on. Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Set around Liverpool with the University very central to the action, this is a multi-voiced serial killer tale with a depressed detective, a very bright side-kick covering for him and a nasty spate of murders which appear to be scientifically linked. One word … Terrific … that’s all I’m saying else I spoil it for you; complex, intriguing and well worth reading.

If you like Luca Veste you might also like to read books by Chris Mooney, Stuart MacBride and Mark Billington.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Dead Gone by Luca Veste

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last. A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will you chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham. A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous unethical and deadly psychological experiments. When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too. With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.


'A chilling debut from a writer to watch...' Mark Billingham

'Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable debut.' Steve Mosby

'Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed debut thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation.' Chris Ewan

About the Author

Luca Veste is a writer of Italian and Scouse heritage, currently living on the wrong side of the River Mersey. He is married with two young daughters, and is himself one of nine children. He is currently a mature student, studying Psychology and Criminology in Liverpool. He is the editor of the Spinetingler Award nominated charity anthology series 'Off The Record', which raises money for children's literacy charities. He also has short stories in numerous publications. A former civil servant, actor, and musician, he now divides his time between home life, University work and writing.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th January 2014


Luca Veste

More books by Luca Veste
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


416 pages


Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery



I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins