The Shot

Paperback edition released 28/04/2022

by Sarah Sultoon

Political / Legal Thrillers Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense Action Adventure eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Shot

A fast-paced thriller that puts you inside the international newsroom, bringing to life the people behind the headlines

For readers with an interest in what happens behind the scenes in the newsrooms – of which there are many – The Shot is sure to satisfy their thirst for the next big scoop.

Given her first chance in the spotlight, young TV journalist Samira is out to prove her worth. Alongside seasoned photographer Kris, they take a photograph – a shot that has thrown their whole mission and lives in peril.

As a former CNN news executive, author Sarah Sultoon packs her novel with the kind of details that only someone who’s been on the frontline of war reporting can – from what life is like in conflict zones, to the petty squabbles in the newsroom.

What many readers may be left with is the full effect and exposure of the realities of war reporting. Sultoon’s style never veers into gratuitous violence, but her book is made only more visceral by the current conflict in Ukraine.  

Julie Vuong

The Shot Synopsis

Samira is an up-and-coming TV journalist, working the nightshift at a major news channel and yearning for greater things. So when she's offered a trip to the Middle East, with Kris, the station's brilliant but impetuous star photographer, she leaps at the chance

In the field together, Sami and Kris feel invincible, shining a light into the darkest of corners ... except the newsroom, and the rest of the world, doesn't seem to care as much as they do. Until Kris takes the photograph.

With a single image of young Sudanese mother, injured in a raid on her camp, Sami and the genocide in Darfur are catapulted into the limelight. But everything is not as it seems, and the shots taken by Kris reveal something deeper and much darker ... something that puts not only their careers but their lives in mortal danger.

Sarah Sultoon brings all her experience as a CNN news executive to bear on this shocking, searingly authentic thriller, which asks immense questions about the world we live in. You'll never look at a news report in the same way again...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781914585081
Publication date: 28th April 2022
Author: Sarah Sultoon
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 276 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/07/2022

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to July. A perfect opportunity to stock up on some brilliant reads to enjoy this summer. The titles up for grabs are: Quicksand of Memory by Michael J. Malone - Published 14th April The Shot by Sarah Sultoon - Published 28th April Keep Her Sweet by Helen Fitzgerald - Published 26th May Little Drummer by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 26th May Nothing Else by Louise Beech - Published 23rd June Tasting Sunlight by Ewald Arenz - Published 23rd June The Daves Next Door by Will Carver - Published 21st July This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Little Drummer
River Clyde
Faceless
Quicksand of memory

Sarah Sultoon Press Reviews

‘A powerful story of the brutality of front-line journalism. Authentic, provocative and terrifyingly relevant’ Will Carver

‘A gritty, jarring page-turner’ Peter Hain

‘Passionate, disturbing storytelling at its best’ James Brabazon

‘You won't read another book like this in 2022! Raw, authentic, powerful ... you won't see the end coming!’ E C Scullion

‘Brilliantly conveys both the exhilaration and the unspeakable horror of life on the international news frontline’ Jo Turner

Praise for The Source

**Winner: Crime Fiction Lover Best Debut Award**

‘A brave and thought-provoking debut novel’ Adam Hamdy

‘A taut and thought-provoking book that’s all the more unnerving for how much it echoes the headlines in real life’ CultureFly

‘A tense thriller, a remarkable debut, heartbreaking, but ultimately this is a story of resilience and survival’ New Books Magazine

‘A powerful, compelling read that doesn’t shy away from some upsetting truths … written with such energy’ Fanny Blake

‘Tautly written and compelling, not afraid to shine a spotlight on the darker forces at work in society’ Rupert Wallis

‘So authentic and exhilarating … breathtaking pace and relentless ingenuity’ Nick Paton Walsh, CNN

‘A gripping, dark thriller’ Geoff Hill, ITV

‘My heart was racing … fiction to thrill even the most hard-core adrenaline junkies’ Diana Magnay, Sky News

‘Unflinching and sharply observed. A hard-hitting, deftly woven debut’ Ruth Field

‘A hard-hitting, myth-busting rollercoaster of a debut’ Eve Smith

‘I could picture and feel each scene, all the fear, tension and hope’ Katie Allen

For fans of Holly Watt, Sarah Vaughan, Laura Lippman and Karin Slaughter

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781914585081
Publication date: 28/04/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781914585098
Publication date: 02/04/2022
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Sarah Sultoon

Sarah Sultoon is a journalist and writer, whose work as an international news executive at CNN has taken her all over the world, from the seats of power in both Westminster and Washington to the frontlines of Iraq and Afghanistan. She has extensive experience in conflict zones, winning three Peabody awards for her work on the war in Syria, an Emmy for her contribution to the coverage of Europe's migrant crisis in 2015, and a number of Royal Television Society gongs. As passionate about fiction as nonfiction, she recently completed a Masters of Studies in Creative Writing at the University of ...

More About Sarah Sultoon

More Books By Sarah Sultoon

The Shot
View All Books By Sarah Sultoon

Share this book