Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Silent Music

by Jane Hawking

Part of the The Immortal Souls Series

Silent Music Synopsis

Growing up in London in the aftermath of the Second World War, Ruth is an observant and thoughtful child who finds herself in a confusing and mysterious adult world. She seeks refuge in her memories of her idyllic stays with her grandparents in the picturesque East Anglian countryside - which provide comforting visions of a simpler life. As she comes to terms with her surroundings and her own adolescence, Ruth finds the motivation to pursue the tantalizing dream which has governed her childhood, and discovers some family secrets along the way. A coming-of-age novel about the unpredictable nature of human behaviour and about taking control of one's destiny, Silent Music is a timeless portrait of post-war Britain, as well as a lyrical paean to hope and aspiration.

Silent Music Press Reviews

If I am right and there are further episodes of this to come then all I can say is the sooner the better as I am curious!! -- Dorothy Flaxman * Nudge Books *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846884122
Publication date: 22nd September 2016
Author: Jane Hawking
Publisher: Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 300 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Jane Hawking

Dr Jane Hawking, Stephen Hawking's wife for over twenty-five years, is a writer, teacher and public speaker. Her memoir Travelling to Infinity, which became an Oscar-winning movie in 2015 under the title The Theory of Everything and was a number-one bestseller in the UK, was followed in 2016 by the novel Silent Music, the first volume in the Immortal Souls series.

More About Jane Hawking

More Books By Jane Hawking

Cover for Travelling to Infinity: The True Story Behind the Theory of Everything by Jane Hawking
Cover for Cry to Dream Again by Jane Hawking
Cover for Cry to Dream Again by Jane Hawking
View All Books By Jane Hawking

Share this book