The Sun is God

Paperback edition released 03/07/2014

by Adrian McKinty

Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense Historical fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Sun is God

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Alongside Ken Bruen and Stuart Neville, McKinty sits atop the Irish contemporary crime writing scene, so this comes as a pleasant surprise: a quirky historical mystery, based on a true life case, set in 1906 on a remote South Pacific island. Will Prior, previously a military foot policeman in the Boer War, is there in self-imposed exile when a German local government representative asks for his assistance to investigate a case on a nearby island populated by a group of European back to nature eccentrics one of whom has died in mysterious circumstances. Prior and a 'lady traveller' foisted on him, reluctantly travel there. Resolutely old-fashioned storytelling with an edge that will delight no end.

Maxim Jakubowski

The Sun is God Synopsis

It is 1906 and Will Prior is in self-imposed exile on a remote South Pacific island, working a small, and failing, plantation. He should never have told anyone about his previous existence as a military foot policeman in the Boer War, but a man needs friends, even if they are as stuffy and, well, German, as Hauptmann Kessler, the local government representative. So it is that Kessler approaches Will one hot afternoon, with a request for his help with a problem on a neighbouring island, inhabited by a reclusive, cultish group of European 'cocovores', who believe that sun worship and eating only coconuts will bring them eternal life. Unfortunately, one of their number has died in suspicious circumstances, and Kessler has been tasked with uncovering the real reason for his demise. So along with a 'lady traveller', Bessie Pullen-Burry, who is foisted on them by the archipelago's eccentric owner, they travel to the island of Kabakon, to find out what is really going on.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781846689833
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Adrian McKinty
Publisher: Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:

Like For Like Featured Books

Fate and Fortune: A Hew Cullan Mystery
The Girl From Venice
Pilgrim Soul
The Infidel Stain

The Good Book Guide Review

On a South Pacific island in the early years of the 20th century, a bizarre murder takes place. Concert pianist Max Lutzow is a member of the Sonnenorden, a strange German sect whose followers worship the sun and eat only coconuts in the hope of eternal life. Lutzow’s fellow adherents insist he has died of malaria, but an autopsy conducted on his body suggests that all is not as it seems, and it transpires that the musician is not the first person to have died mysteriously on the island. Struggling local plantation owner and former military policeman Will Prior is drafted in to delve reluctantly into the strange practices of the sun-worshippers, and to uncover the truth behind Lutzow’s death. He soon finds himself in danger as the Sonnenordens’ secret practices come to light. Loosely based on real events, this imaginative and cleverly realised historical mystery is entertaining, surprising and engrossing.

Adrian McKinty Press Reviews

An exciting new voice -- Ian Rankin


A writer of substance  - Guardian


A seriously brilliant novelist Australian McKinty gets better and better  - The Times

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781846689840
Publication date: 28/05/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781846689833
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Adrian McKinty

Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Northern Ireland. He studied law, politics and philosophy at university. He moved to New York City in the early nineties where he worked in bars, bookstores and building sites. He now lives in Melbourne, Australia and writes a popular blog on film, music, politics and literature at and tweets @adrianmckinty. McKinty is best known for his series of Sean Duffy thrillers. The first, The Cold Cold Ground, was published in 2012 and won the 2013 Spinetingler Award and its sequel I Hear The Sirens In The Street has been shortlisted for ...

More About Adrian McKinty

More Books By Adrian McKinty

The Sun is God
The Sun is God
The Sun is God
View All Books By Adrian McKinty

Share this book