10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Dangerous Remedy

"History meets dark magic and mystery in this flamboyant female-fronted, post-revolution-Paris page-turner"

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

LoveReading Says

LoveReading Says

Kat Dunn’s deliciously dark debut - the first in a series - is a riot of rebellion, ruthlessness and extraordinary science interlaced with the all-consuming love between two young women in post-Revolution Paris. 

 

Following the revolution, France had been filled with the hope of “finding a better, fairer way to rule” but now, five years on, “people still starved, inequality continued. The country splintered and the different factions spat at each other like a serpent with many heads.”

And in such explosive circumstances Camille, the daughter of a revolutionary, leads the Battalion of the Dead, “the last port of call for anyone with a loved one in trouble - whatever side they were on - with prison breaks their specialty”. While no stranger to trouble, the Battalion’s latest rescue, a girl called Olympe, unnerves even Camille. Olympe is a “wretched, nightmarish creature” with peculiar powers that see her wanted by both Royalists and Revolutionaries. And so a tinderbox of treachery and terror, of peril and passion threatens to spark as Camille’s loyalties are tested to extremes.

 

The writing is richly sensory - you smell gunpowder, and the “sweet scent of lavender” masking mildew and sewage. You feel fresh straw underfoot, and skin singed by the crackling sparks of magic. It’s a banquet of atmosphere and action; a meaty mélange for fans of Frankenstein, The Scarlet Pimpernel and Six of Crows.

Joanne Owen

Find This Book In

Primary Genre Young Adult Fiction

About

Press Reviews

Author

You Might Also Like...

Let's Get Lost

Adi Alsaid

Paperback

In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

Rebel Angels

Libba Bray

Ebook (Epub)

Digital. Available Immediately. Country restrictions apply.

£10.60

Like A Charm

Elle McNicoll

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

The Serpent King

Jeff Zentner

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Torment

Lauren Kate

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

Seafire

Natalie C. Parker

Ebook (Epub)

Digital. Available Immediately. Country restrictions apply.

£3.99