10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

The Secrets We Keep

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

The Secrets We Keep Synopsis

‘Truly gripping… I loved it.’ Jill Mansell, Sunday Times bestseller A heartbreakingly beautiful novel which captures the endurance and strength of ordinary people in the darkest of times, and the courage of one woman who put her life on the line to join the resistance. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Secret Messenger. 1944, the Cote d’Azur. Artist Marguerite Segal is recruited by British Intelligence into befriending Etienne Valade, a local priest. Her mission is to persuade him to pass on information from the high-ranking German officers who attend his church: evidence of their war crimes. Connected by a passion for art, Marguerite and Etienne soon fall in love, but their association increasingly puts her at danger of violent reprisals. With his church frequented by Nazis, Etienne is a suspected collaborator, and distrust is high. And Marguerite is keeping her own secret too. Like the Jews whose identity cards she forges to hide them from the Third Reich, she is hiding behind a false name, her true identity and past known only to her closest friend. Marguerite must get hold of the documents that will condemn the German officers but, in a world where everything is at stake, can she truly trust anyone – even the man she loves? Praise for The Secrets We Keep: ‘I absolutely loved this… Vivid and heartbreaking.’ Lana Kortchik, USA Today bestselling author of Sisters of War ‘War, passion and tragedy unite in this atmospheric and moving tale.’ S D Sykes, author of the Oswald de Lacy Medieval Murders series ‘A wonderfully immersive, emotional read.’ Annabelle Thorpe, author of The Enemy of Love ‘I stayed up late into the night to finish… A thrilling, exciting story… You might want to have some tissues handy.’ Reader review ‘I enjoyed this novel very much!’ Reader review ‘I highly recommend reading this.’ Reader review ‘Wonderful.’ Reader review

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008547882
Publication date: 10th November 2022
Author: Theresa Howes
Publisher: HQ Digital an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction
Second World War fiction
Historical romance
Espionage and Spy Thriller
Narrative theme: Love and relationships