LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Every Time a Bell Rings

by Carmel Harrington

Every Time a Bell Rings Synopsis

'Embraces the spirit and the message of the movie...A must read' - Karolyn Grimes, actress, 'Zuzu' in 'It's a Wonderful Life' 'Beautiful and uplifting...Written with such heart it warms the soul' - Claudia Carroll, bestselling author of 'Meet Me in Manhattan' 'A compelling, magical, festive cracker of a book' - Alexandra Brown, bestselling author of 'The Great Village Show' An angel gets its wings... Belle has taken all the Christmas decorations down. This year they won't be celebrating. As foster parents, Belle and Jim have given many children the chance of a happier start in life. They've loved them as if they were their own. They shouldn't have favourites but little Lauren has touched their hearts. And now her mother is well enough to take her back and Belle can't bear the loss. Hence, Christmas is cancelled. So when Jim crashes his car one icy December night, after an argument about Lauren, Belle can only blame herself. Everything she loves is lost. And Belle finds herself standing on The Ha'Penny Bridge wishing she had never been born. But what happens to a Christmas wish when an angel is listening... Will Belle realise, before it's too late, that her life is the most wonderful life of all? Inspired by the timeless tale of beloved Christmas movie, It's a Wonderful Life, Carmel Harrington's next book tells the story of Belle, a young woman and foster carer from Dublin who faces the hardest decision of her life this Christmas on The Ha'Penny Bridge. Full of Irish charm, magic, and the warmth of the festive season this is an emotional, heartwarming story that will stay with you long after you've reached 'The End'. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern & Jojo Moyes. Carmel is the bestselling author of The Life You Left & Beyond Grace's Rainbow, voted Romantic eBook of the Year 2013.

Every Time a Bell Rings Press Reviews

'By far one of my very favourite books of the year' - Sophie, Reviewed the Book 'Heartfelt and beautiful' - Books by Bunny 'A captivating read that will bring a lump to your throat' - Rea Book Reviews 'A beautiful story that took my breath away...Emotional, heartbreaking but also optimistic and full of hope...everybody should read it!' - Agi On My Book Shelf 'I really didn't want Every Time a Bell Rings to end and read it over several hours, as I was totally lost in this riveting, consuming story' - Emma Crowley on Shaz's Book Blog 'Yet again, Carmel Harrington has created a magnificent story full of heartbreak, love and hope. Readers will warm to the characters and may just find a piece of themselves in the storyline. With the Christmas spirit wrapping every page, Every Time a Bell Rings is simply perfect!' - ChickLit Club 'A festive treat laced with multiple important themes including a really interesting and in-depth look at fostering and the effect it can have on so many people. It is a story that will stay with you after you've turned the final page and has lovely life lessons inside' - Blabbering About Books 'I love romantic stories, especially when true love is involved. This Christmas story is so special. I didn't want it to end and loved every word. Every Time a Bell Rings has a gorgeous cover. Both the outside and the inside of the book are filled with love and joy. It's exactly what a good Christmas book should be like' - Librarian Lavender 'Take the phone off the hook, put on your comfiest pj's, line up some snacks and your favourite tipple, then wrap yourself up all snuggly and get ready to lose yourself in the world of Belle and Jim! I want to shout from the rooftops 'hooray! Carmel is back and her writing is as magical as ever!' - Jill Loves To Read 'Full of charming sentiment, realistic life stories and characters so authentic, you expect them to be sitting in the room with you.' - Jane Hunt Writer

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008156565
Publication date: 19th November 2015
Author: Carmel Harrington
Publisher: One More Chapter an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 416 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Romance,

About Carmel Harrington

Irish Sunday Times bestseller Carmel Harrington writes issue driven contemporary fiction. With comparisons to Maeve Binchy & Liane Moriarty, Carmel writes with warmth and compassion about characters so believable that they could be sitting beside you. From Co. Wexford she lives in a small village with her husband Roger and two young children, Amelia and Nate. Carmel has published six novels, won two writing awards - Kindle Book of the Year 2013 and Romantic eBook of the Year 2013 and been shortlisted for a BGE Irish Book Award in 2016. Her books are published worldwide, regular chart toppers and are translated into eight languages ...

More About Carmel Harrington

More Books By Carmel Harrington

Cover for A Thousand Roads Home by Carmel Harrington
Cover for The Woman at 72 Derry Lane by Carmel Harrington
Cover for Cold Feet: The Lost Years by Carmel Harrington
View All Books By Carmel Harrington

Share this book