Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

A Burnable Book

by Bruce Holsinger

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on A Burnable Book

February 2014 Debut of the Month.

A challenging, big, historical novel steeped in fact and really quite an excellent history lesson.  It seems Geoffrey Chaucer has lost an important book that has been tampered with and its content now treasonable.  It contains a secret some will murder for.  But this is no Dan Brown.  This is serious historical stuff, difficult to know where fact and fiction part.  It concerns a plot against Richard II and if you are into medieval history it is superb, full of lovely names of different areas depicting the trades associated with it, like Gropecunt Lane!  Fascinating.

 

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for A Burnable Book a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy.  A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.'  Anita Wallas.

 

Scroll down to read more reviews.

Sarah Broadhurst

A Burnable Book Synopsis

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th century, for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidant, fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer, calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse. The request is simple: track down a missing book. It should be easy for a man of Gower's talents, who knows the back-alleys of Southwark as intimately as the courts and palaces of Westminster. But what Gower does not know is that this book has already caused one murder, and that its contents could destroy his life. Because its words are behind the highest treason - a conspiracy to kill the king and reduce his reign to ashes...

Win A Copy of the 20th Anniversary Edition of Girl With A Pearl Earring AND Treats!

Win A Copy of the 20th Anniversary Edition of Girl With A Pearl Earring AND Treats!

Closing date: 21/02/2019

The Classic Girl With A Pearl Earring has been published as a 20th Anniversary Edition! We have 3 copies of the Book to give away PLUS Godiva Chocolate Pearls to enjoy while reading AND Vermeer postcards.  "At once a compelling page-turner and a tour de force of tension and coming-of-age turmoil, this novel remains a must-read for historical fiction fans some twenty years after publication." - Joanne Owen Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 21st February 2019. The winners will be notified by 1st March 2019.

Enter Now

A Burnable Book Reader Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Burnable Book. You can read their reviews below.

 

Nailah Afghan - 'Drawing on real historical figures to add depth and realism to the plot, Bruce Holsinger has created a real page turner of a mystery which I would highly recommend.' Click Here to read the full review.

Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A clever, well written book and a very good social history lesson. I enjoyed it.' Click Here to read the full review.


Linda Birt -
'Historical fiction at its very best, combining fact and fiction in a page turning debut thriller.' Click Here to read the full review.

Teresa Majury - 'A well-paced but complex story with many twists and turns.' Click Here to read the full review.


Peter Land - '
This book has everything – history, love, deceit, sex and violence and reveals not only the politics of the 14th Century court, but also the politics of the street.' Click Here to read the full review.


Clair Chaytors - '
Historical writing at its best… If you liked Hilary Mantel you will love Bruce Holsinger… ' Click Here to read the full review.


Glynis Elliott -
'An Insight into Medieval England.'  Click Here to read the full review.

Anita Wallas - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy.  A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.'  Click Here to read the full review.

 

Jane Carter - 'A wonderful tale of historical intrigue.' Click Here to read the full review.

 

Vanessa Wild - 'Combining fact with fiction, A Burnable Book is a well paced, absorbing and exciting historical thriller...evocatively written and gripping to the last page.' Click Here to read the full review.

______________________________ 

 

Further praise for A Burnable Book.

 

'A murder, a verse and a whore; the prologue of Bruce Holsinger's A BURNABLE BOOK draws the reader in and does not let go. A deep understanding of the period combines with sophisticated writing to create a richly imagined world. Excellent historical fiction' - Harry Sidebottom, bestselling author of the WARRIOR OF ROME series

A Burnable Book Press Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Burnable Book. You can read their reviews below.

 

Nailah Afghan - 'Drawing on real historical figures to add depth and realism to the plot, Bruce Holsinger has created a real page turner of a mystery which I would highly recommend.' Click Here to read the full review.

Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A clever, well written book and a very good social history lesson. I enjoyed it.' Click Here to read the full review.


Linda Birt -
'Historical fiction at its very best, combining fact and fiction in a page turning debut thriller.' Click Here to read the full review.

Teresa Majury - 'A well-paced but complex story with many twists and turns.' Click Here to read the full review.


Peter Land - '
This book has everything – history, love, deceit, sex and violence and reveals not only the politics of the 14th Century court, but also the politics of the street.' Click Here to read the full review.


Clair Chaytors - '
Historical writing at its best… If you liked Hilary Mantel you will love Bruce Holsinger… ' Click Here to read the full review.


Glynis Elliott -
'An Insight into Medieval England.'  Click Here to read the full review.

Anita Wallas - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy.  A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.'  Click Here to read the full review.

 

Jane Carter - 'A wonderful tale of historical intrigue.' Click Here to read the full review.

 

Vanessa Wild - 'Combining fact with fiction, A Burnable Book is a well paced, absorbing and exciting historical thriller...evocatively written and gripping to the last page.' Click Here to read the full review.

______________________________ 

 

Further praise for A Burnable Book.

 

'A murder, a verse and a whore; the prologue of Bruce Holsinger's A BURNABLE BOOK draws the reader in and does not let go. A deep understanding of the period combines with sophisticated writing to create a richly imagined world. Excellent historical fiction' - Harry Sidebottom, bestselling author of the WARRIOR OF ROME series

If you loved this, you might like these...

Becoming Mrs. Lewis
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
The Courier
The Missing Sister

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007493326
Publication date: 28/08/2014
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007493302
Publication date: 30/01/2014
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007493302
Publication date: 30th January 2014
Author: Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Bruce Holsinger

Bruce W. Holsinger is a prolific and award-winning scholar of the Middle Ages who teaches at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. His books on medieval culture have won numerous prizes from the Modern Language Association, the Medieval Academy of America, and other scholarly organizations, and he is the co-author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Movies, Flicks, and Film. He is a Guggenheim Fellow and a recipient of research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Council of Learned Societies. A Burnable Book is his first novel.   Author photo © Daniel Addison

More About Bruce Holsinger

More Books By Bruce Holsinger

Cover for The Invention of Fire by Bruce Holsinger
Cover for A Burnable Book by Bruce Holsinger
View All Books By Bruce Holsinger

Share this book