Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
A Burnable Book by Bruce Holsinger

A Burnable Book

Historical Fiction   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

February 2014 Debut of the Month.

A challenging, big, historical novel steeped in fact and really quite an excellent history lesson. It seems Geoffrey Chaucer has lost an important book that has been tampered with and its content now treasonable. It contains a secret some will murder for. But this is no Dan Brown. This is serious historical stuff, difficult to know where fact and fiction part. It concerns a plot against Richard II and if you are into medieval history it is superb, full of lovely names of different areas depicting the trades associated with it, like Gropecunt Lane! Fascinating.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for A Burnable Book a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy. A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.' Anita Wallas.

Scroll down to read more reviews.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


A Burnable Book by Bruce Holsinger

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th century, for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidant, fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer, calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse. The request is simple: track down a missing book. It should be easy for a man of Gower's talents, who knows the back-alleys of Southwark as intimately as the courts and palaces of Westminster. But what Gower does not know is that this book has already caused one murder, and that its contents could destroy his life. Because its words are behind the highest treason - a conspiracy to kill the king and reduce his reign to ashes...


We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Burnable Book. You can read their reviews below.

Nailah Afghan - 'Drawing on real historical figures to add depth and realism to the plot, Bruce Holsinger has created a real page turner of a mystery which I would highly recommend.' Click Here to read the full review.

Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A clever, well written book and a very good social history lesson. I enjoyed it.' Click Here to read the full review.

Linda Birt -
'Historical fiction at its very best, combining fact and fiction in a page turning debut thriller.' Click Here to read the full review.

Teresa Majury - 'A well-paced but complex story with many twists and turns.' Click Here to read the full review.

Peter Land - '
This book has everything – history, love, deceit, sex and violence and reveals not only the politics of the 14th Century court, but also the politics of the street.' Click Here to read the full review.

Clair Chaytors - '
Historical writing at its best… If you liked Hilary Mantel you will love Bruce Holsinger… ' Click Here to read the full review.

Glynis Elliott -
'An Insight into Medieval England.' Click Here to read the full review.

Anita Wallas - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy. A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.' Click Here to read the full review.

Jane Carter - 'A wonderful tale of historical intrigue.' Click Here to read the full review.

Vanessa Wild - 'Combining fact with fiction, A Burnable Book is a well paced, absorbing and exciting historical thriller...evocatively written and gripping to the last page.' Click Here to read the full review.


Further praise for A Burnable Book.

'A murder, a verse and a whore; the prologue of Bruce Holsinger's A BURNABLE BOOK draws the reader in and does not let go. A deep understanding of the period combines with sophisticated writing to create a richly imagined world. Excellent historical fiction' - Harry Sidebottom, bestselling author of the WARRIOR OF ROME series

About the Author

Bruce Holsinger

Bruce W. Holsinger is a prolific and award-winning scholar of the Middle Ages who teaches at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. His books on medieval culture have won numerous prizes from the Modern Language Association, the Medieval Academy of America, and other scholarly organizations, and he is the co-author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Movies, Flicks, and Film. He is a Guggenheim Fellow and a recipient of research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Council of Learned Societies. A Burnable Book is his first novel.

Author photo © Daniel Addison

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th January 2014


Bruce Holsinger

More books by Bruce Holsinger
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers




Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites



Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!