The Husband's Secret

by Liane Moriarty

Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Husband's Secret

One of our Books of the Year 2013.

Cecilia finds a letter in her husband’s writing with “For my wife – to be opened only in the event of my death”.  Very foolishly Cecilia opens it.  Tess’s husband has fallen for another woman, Rachel’s daughter died a few years back and her life now centres on her grandchild.  Three unconnected women who, of course, are connected (through school).  We take some time getting to the content of Cecilia’s letter but once we read it for ourselves this whole novel changes gear.  It is clever, it’s startling, it’s a terrific read.  Probably one of the best books of its type you will read this year.  Excellent.

 

The Lovereading view...

Ordinary families made special by unfortunate circumstances are the centre of this funny, heartbreaking novel of marriage, grief, love and secrets. Rachel, Cecilia and Tess; three women who don’t know each other but are connected and changed by a letter written and then lost that holds a shocking confession. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, or anyone who enjoyed One Moment, One Morning or The Midwife's Confession.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Husband's Secret Synopsis

At the heart of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty is a letter that's not meant to be read...Imagine you found a letter you were never meant to see. You opened it. Read it. And discovered your husband's deepest, darkest secret. Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all - she's an incredibly successful business woman, a pillar of her small community and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But her husband's letter changes everything, and Cecilia must decide whether or not to keep his secret. Sharing it will have earth-shattering consequences, and not just for her...

The Husband's Secret Press Reviews

Praise for The Husband's Secret:

 

'Fascinating and compassionate' Daily Telegraph on The Hypnotist's Love Story

 

'A bittersweet tale by a gifted writer' Women's Weekly on What Alice Forgot

 

'Fresh, very funny and entertaining, but also intelligent and unsentimental' Marian Keyes on Three Wishes

If you loved this, you might like these...

Still Me
Into the Water
Still Me
The Good Mother

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405916363
Publication date: 29/08/2013
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405916363
Publication date: 29th August 2013
Author: Liane Moriarty
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Family Drama, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Liane Moriarty

Liane Moriarty is the bestselling author of five novels, Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, What Alice Forgot and most recently The Hypnotist's Love Story, and The Husband's Secret  as well as the Space Brigade series for children. She lives in Sydney with her husband and son.

More About Liane Moriarty

More Books By Liane Moriarty

Cover for Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
Cover for Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
Cover for Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty
View All Books By Liane Moriarty

Share this book