books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Almost Love by Christina James
  

Almost Love

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

How could a drugs syndicate, using children as couriers, and a missing famous archaeologist be connected? DI Tim Yates is back for his 2nd case. Again, this is a highly readable, atmospheric and compelling psychological crime thriller set in the South Lincolnshire Fens perfect for fans of Peter Robinson and Stephen Booth.

The DI Yates series:

1. In the Family

2. Almost Love

Click here to read an interview with this author.

An editorial perspective of the crime writer Christina James by Chris Hamitlon-Emery, Salt Publishing...

'Reading and editing the novels of Christina James are twin pleasures, because she is a writer who engages her audience immediately with the subtle elegance of her prose, the convincing realism of her dialogue, the interest of her compelling characters and the intricacies of her plots and because she is a perfectionist, whose own self-editing skills guarantee that her work comes already highly-polished, needing just an objective eye to manage the discrepancies that afflict all authors.' Click here to read the full comment.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Almost Love by Christina James

Guy Maichment, a landscape gardener, pays a late-night visit to his aunt, Dame Claudia McRae, the well-known veteran archaeologist who lives in an isolated cottage near Helpston, and sees that her front door is wide open. When he enters the house he discovers that his aunt has vanished, leaving no clue of what has happened to her except a broad smear of blood on her hall wall. The Spalding Archaeological Society is holding its annual conference at the Welland Manor Hotel nearby. Alex Tarrant, its attractive Secretary, is about to embark upon an affair with Edmund Baker, the County Archaeologist. Edmund and Oliver Sparham, the County Heritage Officer, were both Claudia's proteges in their youth. Oliver visits her on the day of her disappearance, making him the last known person to see her alive. Detective Inspector Tim Yates is detailed by his boss to investigate, even though Helpston is outside the area normally served by South Lincolnshire police. He is frustrated at therefore being excluded from the pursuit of an organised drugs syndicate which employs young children as couriers. Detective Constable Juliet Armstrong delves into Dame Claudia's past, and discovers that some of her celebrated theories derive from questionable political opinions forged during the Second World War. Meanwhile Tom Tarrant, Alex's social worker husband, tries to help two terrified young brothers who have been recruited by the drugs gang. DI Yates himself has personal problems: his normally cheerful and supportive wife, Katrin, is desperately unhappy, but won't tell him why.

Reviews

"I'd like to describe this as a page turner but I read it on a Blackberry, so there were no pages to turn. And it's really hard reading a novel on a Blackberry. But I did and I finished it which should tell any potential reader how good it is. " -- Richard Charkin, Executive Director, Bloomsbury

“A book that I would read again, not only because of the rich tapestry of images, dialogue and internal landscapes, but also the thoughtful use of the written word. I can’t wait to read the next Tim Yates novel.” —Elaine Aldred


“Christina James has given me back my taste for good, gripping crime fiction.” —Valerie Poore


“A compelling read, holding the suspension and intrigue all the way through…” —Mark Majurey


“With a well-written and cleverly plotted story and, above all, rich characterisation, this new piece of crime fiction is both believable and addictive from the start.” —Blandine Bastie


“The prose is beautifully crafted and of a literary quality that is sadly missing in many modern novels. ‘In the Family’ richly porttays human traits and failings and produces a level of empathy with the cha!acters that is akin to William Boyd's work.” — Ernst Kallus

About the Author

Christina James

Christina James was born in Spalding and sets her novels in the evocative Fenland countryside of South Lincolnshire. She works as a bookseller, researcher and teacher. She has a lifelong fascination with crime fiction and its history. She is also a well-established non-fiction writer, under a separate name.

Author photo © Jim Bennett

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th June 2013

Author

Christina James

More books by Christina James
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Salt Publishing

Format

Paperback
360 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Readers Guide
Download

ISBN

9781907773464

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools