Sweet Tooth

by Ian McEwan

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

Sweet Tooth Synopsis

The year is 1972. The Cold War is far from over. Britain is being torn apart by industrial unrest and terrorism. Serena Frome is being groomed for MI5. Serena is sent on a secret mission which brings her into the world of Tom Haley, a promising young writer. First she loves his stories, then she begins to love the man. Serena must abandon the first rule of espionage - trust no one.

Sweet Tooth Press Reviews

'Riveting... Delicious... Gripping' Guardian Sweet


'Tooth takes the expectations and tropes of the Cold War thriller and ratchets up the suspense, while turning it into something else... A well-crafted pleasure to read, its smooth prose and slippery intelligence sliding down like cream' -- Amanda Craig, Independent


'A thoroughly clever novel...a sublime novel about novels, about writing them and reading them and the spying that goes on in doing both...very impressive...rich and enjoyable' -- Lucy Kellaway, Financial Times


'Gloriously readable and, at times, wickedly funny -- Arminta Wallace' Irish Times


'Playful, comic... This is a great big Russian doll of a novel, and in its construction - deft, tight, exhilaratingly immaculate - is a huge part of its pleasure...exerts a keen emotional pull' -- Julie Myerson Observer

If you loved this, you might like these...

Peculiar Ground
A Long Way From Home
The Dreams of Bethany Mellmoth
The Little Friend

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780099578789
Publication date: 09/05/2013
Publisher: Vintage
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780099578789
Publication date: 9th May 2013
Author: Ian McEwan
Publisher: Vintage
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement and Saturday.

More About Ian McEwan

More Books By Ian McEwan

Cover for Nutshell by Ian McEwan
Cover for Nutshell by Ian McEwan
Cover for The Children Act by Ian McEwan
View All Books By Ian McEwan

Share this book