Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Safe House by Chris Ewan
  

Safe House

Thriller / Suspense   All Shortlists and Winners   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the 2013 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

This 'edge of the seat' psychological thriller was a no.1 bestseller when it was released in kindle format on Christmas day and it is easy to see why. Fast-paced, full of twists and turns, it will keep you engrossed and guessing what is really going on. After a motorcycle crash Rob Hale’s memories seem to be all mixed up, where is Lena, a woman he is sure he has just met? - and why does she bear a striking resemblance to his dead sister? For fans of S. J. Watson and Stuart Neville this modern take on the classic British thriller shouldn’t be missed.

Look out for Chris Ewan's new ‘race against time’ thriller, Dead Line, which is published in August 2013.

If you like Chris Ewan you might also like to read books by James Oswald, Peter May and David Bell.

Synopsis

Safe House by Chris Ewan

When Rob Hale wakes up in hospital after a motorcycle crash he is told that Lena, the woman he claims was travelling with him, doesn't exist.

The woman he describes bears a striking resemblance to his recently deceased sister, Laura, but has he really only imagined her? Rob sets out to find the answers to who Lena is and where she has gone. He is aided by Rebecca Lewis, a London-based PI, who has come to the Isle of Man at the behest of his parents to investigate his sister's suicide. But who is Rebecca really and how did she know his sister? Together Rob and Rebecca follow the clues to discover who took Lena. In doing so they discover that even on an island where most people know each other, everyone hides a secret, and that sometimes your best option isn't to hide but to stay and fight.

About the Author

Chris Ewan

Chris Ewan is the award-winning author of The Good Thief's Guide to... series of mystery novels. His debut, The Good Thief's Guide to Amsterdam, won the Long Barn Books First Novel Award and is published in 10 countries, and Amsterdam, Paris and Vegas have all been shortlisted for CrimeFest's Last Laugh Award. Born in Taunton in 1976, he now lives in the Isle of Man with his wife, Jo.

Author photo © Phil Kneen

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th March 2013

Author

Chris Ewan

More books by Chris Ewan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

chrisewan.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780571282210

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools