books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Safe House by Chris Ewan
  

Safe House

Thriller / Suspense   All Shortlists and Winners   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the 2013 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

This 'edge of the seat' psychological thriller was a no.1 bestseller when it was released in kindle format on Christmas day and it is easy to see why. Fast-paced, full of twists and turns, it will keep you engrossed and guessing what is really going on. After a motorcycle crash Rob Hale’s memories seem to be all mixed up, where is Lena, a woman he is sure he has just met? - and why does she bear a striking resemblance to his dead sister? For fans of S. J. Watson and Stuart Neville this modern take on the classic British thriller shouldn’t be missed.

Look out for Chris Ewan's new ‘race against time’ thriller, Dead Line, which is published in August 2013.

If you like Chris Ewan you might also like to read books by Peter May, James Oswald and David Bell.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Safe House by Chris Ewan

When Rob Hale wakes up in hospital after a motorcycle crash he is told that Lena, the woman he claims was travelling with him, doesn't exist.

The woman he describes bears a striking resemblance to his recently deceased sister, Laura, but has he really only imagined her? Rob sets out to find the answers to who Lena is and where she has gone. He is aided by Rebecca Lewis, a London-based PI, who has come to the Isle of Man at the behest of his parents to investigate his sister's suicide. But who is Rebecca really and how did she know his sister? Together Rob and Rebecca follow the clues to discover who took Lena. In doing so they discover that even on an island where most people know each other, everyone hides a secret, and that sometimes your best option isn't to hide but to stay and fight.

About the Author

Chris Ewan

Chris Ewan is the award-winning author of The Good Thief's Guide to... series of mystery novels. His debut, The Good Thief's Guide to Amsterdam, won the Long Barn Books First Novel Award and is published in 10 countries, and Amsterdam, Paris and Vegas have all been shortlisted for CrimeFest's Last Laugh Award. Born in Taunton in 1976, he now lives in the Isle of Man with his wife, Jo.

Author photo © Phil Kneen

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th March 2013

Author

Chris Ewan

More books by Chris Ewan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

chrisewan.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780571282210

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools