likeyoulove debuts of the month
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Safe House by Chris Ewan
  

Safe House

Thriller / Suspense   All Shortlists and Winners   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the 2013 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

This 'edge of the seat' psychological thriller was a no.1 bestseller when it was released in kindle format on Christmas day and it is easy to see why. Fast-paced, full of twists and turns, it will keep you engrossed and guessing what is really going on. After a motorcycle crash Rob Hale’s memories seem to be all mixed up, where is Lena, a woman he is sure he has just met? - and why does she bear a striking resemblance to his dead sister? For fans of S. J. Watson and Stuart Neville this modern take on the classic British thriller shouldn’t be missed.

Look out for Chris Ewan's new ‘race against time’ thriller, Dead Line, which is published in August 2013.

If you like Chris Ewan you might also like to read books by James Oswald, Peter May and John Gordon Sinclair.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Safe House by Chris Ewan

When Rob Hale wakes up in hospital after a motorcycle crash he is told that Lena, the woman he claims was travelling with him, doesn't exist.

The woman he describes bears a striking resemblance to his recently deceased sister, Laura, but has he really only imagined her? Rob sets out to find the answers to who Lena is and where she has gone. He is aided by Rebecca Lewis, a London-based PI, who has come to the Isle of Man at the behest of his parents to investigate his sister's suicide. But who is Rebecca really and how did she know his sister? Together Rob and Rebecca follow the clues to discover who took Lena. In doing so they discover that even on an island where most people know each other, everyone hides a secret, and that sometimes your best option isn't to hide but to stay and fight.

About the Author

Chris Ewan

Chris Ewan is the award-winning author of The Good Thief's Guide to... series of mystery novels. His debut, The Good Thief's Guide to Amsterdam, won the Long Barn Books First Novel Award and is published in 10 countries, and Amsterdam, Paris and Vegas have all been shortlisted for CrimeFest's Last Laugh Award. Born in Taunton in 1976, he now lives in the Isle of Man with his wife, Jo.

Author photo © Phil Kneen

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th March 2013

Author

Chris Ewan

More books by Chris Ewan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

chrisewan.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
464 pages
Interest Age: From 0 to 0 years

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
All Shortlists and Winners
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780571282210

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools