book price comparison newgen books for YA readers desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper
  

One Last Thing Before I Go

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 eBook of the Month.

The author of How to Talk to a Widower brings us another witty, impeccably well observed tale of modern America. Silver is a divorced 44 year old who finds out his only daughter is pregnant (which will put more than a wrinkle in her plans to take Princeton by storm) and he has a fatal heart condition. What can he do to make the best of things in his time left? Laugh-out-loud funny and tear-jerkingly sad great for fans of David Nicholls or Nick Hornby.

If you like Jonathan Tropper you might also like to read books by Tom Rachman, John Harding and Ben Elton.

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper

Meet Silver. Forty-four, divorced and living alone. His once celebrated music career is now a faded memory and his ex-wife is about to marry another man. The only good thing in Silver's life is his Princeton-bound teenage daughter, Casey - and she would probably say the exact opposite about him. So in Silver's opinion, things could be going better ...a lot better. Then Casey drops a bombshell: she's pregnant. Yes, it was her first time, and, no, she hasn't told her mom. Silver knows things have got to change, and when he discovers he has a fatal heart condition that means he could drop dead at any minute, he decides it's time to make a list: 1. Be a better father 2. Be a better man 3. Fall in love 4. Die But the question is, can Silver rebuild his life, regain the respect of his family, and be there for Casey when she needs him most, or has he left it all too late?

Reviews

Genuinely very funny, as well as engaging and rather moving DAIL MAIL Witty story of Silver, a lonely middle-aged ex-rockstar with a pregnant teenage daughter. HEAT Another tear-jerker that's told with great wit, this time written from a bloke's point of view. Jonathan has been a pick on the Richard and Judy Book Club before, and this is a nicely observed poignant take on learning to be a man and a father before time runs out. STAR magazine Tropper is a master of the mid-life male coming-of-age story, and his latest is full of the charm and wit his readers cherish BOOKLIST It's amazing what can happen in the hands of the casually brilliant author... Read and weep with laughter ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY 'A poignant story about facing death and celebrating life, even when things seem well beyond repair
THE DAILY BEAST

'Eminently quotable, hilariously funny, and emotionally draining, this arresting tour de force will entertain well after the book is done'
LIBRARY JOURNAL

'A tender and unexpectedly hilarious take on the messiness of family life'
PEOPLE Very well

-observed ... fabulously entertaining THE TIMES on THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU Consistently witty, often insightful and full of strong and engaging characters DAILY TELEGRAPH on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER Sad, funny, brilliant EVENING HERALD on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER 'Darkly entertaining ... fast and fresh
NEW YORK TIMES on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER a genuinely funny, and moving, novel written with real wit and an assured lightness of touch. DAILY MAIL SUMMER BEACH READS

About the Author

Jonathan Tropper

Jonathan Tropper was born and raised in Riverdale, New York. He attended the creative writing program at New York University Graduate School of Arts and Science, where he received a Masters degree. His novels have been translated into more than ten languages. He lives with his wife and children in Westchester, New York, and teaches writing at Manhattanville College.

Author photo © Greg Yaitanes

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd January 2013

Author

Jonathan Tropper

More books by Jonathan Tropper
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jonathantropper.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409127734

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools