Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper

One Last Thing Before I Go

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 eBook of the Month.

The author of How to Talk to a Widower brings us another witty, impeccably well observed tale of modern America. Silver is a divorced 44 year old who finds out his only daughter is pregnant (which will put more than a wrinkle in her plans to take Princeton by storm) and he has a fatal heart condition. What can he do to make the best of things in his time left? Laugh-out-loud funny and tear-jerkingly sad great for fans of David Nicholls or Nick Hornby.

If you like Jonathan Tropper you might also like to read books by Ben Elton, Matt Beaumont and Tony Parsons.


One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper

Meet Silver. Forty-four, divorced and living alone. His once celebrated music career is now a faded memory and his ex-wife is about to marry another man. The only good thing in Silver's life is his Princeton-bound teenage daughter, Casey - and she would probably say the exact opposite about him. So in Silver's opinion, things could be going better ...a lot better. Then Casey drops a bombshell: she's pregnant. Yes, it was her first time, and, no, she hasn't told her mom. Silver knows things have got to change, and when he discovers he has a fatal heart condition that means he could drop dead at any minute, he decides it's time to make a list: 1. Be a better father 2. Be a better man 3. Fall in love 4. Die But the question is, can Silver rebuild his life, regain the respect of his family, and be there for Casey when she needs him most, or has he left it all too late?

About the Author

Jonathan Tropper

Jonathan Tropper was born and raised in Riverdale, New York. He attended the creative writing program at New York University Graduate School of Arts and Science, where he received a Masters degree. His novels have been translated into more than ten languages. He lives with his wife and children in Westchester, New York, and teaches writing at Manhattanville College.

Author photo © Greg Yaitanes

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd January 2013


Jonathan Tropper

More books by Jonathan Tropper
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co




Relationship Stories
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites



If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements