Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin
  

Where We Belong

Family Drama   Books of the Month   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2012 Book of the Month.

Easy to read but packing a real emotional punch, this is a moving tale of the powerful bond between mother and daughter.

A successful TV producer’s life is turned upside down when the daughter she had adopted, and kept secret, turns up on her doorstep.

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Melissa Bank or Carmen Reid

If you like Emily Giffin you might also like to read books by Melissa Bank, Paige Toon and Sophie Kinsella.

Synopsis

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Marian Caldwell is a television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door ...only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian's perfectly constructed world-and her very identity-will be shaken to its core, resurrecting memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her. For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will force her to re-evaluate her family and future. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves-a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

About the Author

Emily Giffin

Emily Giffin is in her thirties. She graduated from Wake Forest University and the University of Virginia School of Law. She practiced law in New York City for several years before moving to London, where she began writing full time. She now lives in Atlanta with her husband and three children. She is the author of four previous novels: Something Borrowed reached the number 1 spot on The Bookseller Heatseekers’ list with a weekly sale of +6000 copies and the movie – starring Kate Hudson and Ginnifer Goodwin – was released in 2011. Where We Belong is her sixth novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd August 2012

Author

Emily Giffin

More books by Emily Giffin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.emilygiffin.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback

Categories

Family Drama
Books of the Month
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781409114475

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools