Harry Potter House Eds books of the month
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin
  

Where We Belong

Family Drama   Books of the Month   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £16.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2012 Book of the Month.

Easy to read but packing a real emotional punch, this is a moving tale of the powerful bond between mother and daughter.

A successful TV producer’s life is turned upside down when the daughter she had adopted, and kept secret, turns up on her doorstep.

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Melissa Bank or Carmen Reid

If you like Emily Giffin you might also like to read books by Paige Toon, Melissa Bank and Carmen Reid.

Synopsis

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Marian Caldwell is a television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door ...only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian's perfectly constructed world-and her very identity-will be shaken to its core, resurrecting memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her. For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will force her to re-evaluate her family and future. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves-a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

Reviews

This powerful, moving story about the complexities of family life is a real lump-in-the throat read. CLOSER 20120825 The believable characters, page-turning plot and unblinking look at the choices we make as women mean this is much more than formulaic chick-lit. WEIGHTWATCHERS MAGAZINE 20120901


About the Author

Emily Giffin

Emily Giffin is in her thirties. She graduated from Wake Forest University and the University of Virginia School of Law. She practiced law in New York City for several years before moving to London, where she began writing full time. She now lives in Atlanta with her husband and three children. She is the author of four previous novels: Something Borrowed reached the number 1 spot on The Bookseller Heatseekers’ list with a weekly sale of +6000 copies and the movie – starring Kate Hudson and Ginnifer Goodwin – was released in 2011. Where We Belong is her sixth novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd August 2012

Author

Emily Giffin

More books by Emily Giffin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.emilygiffin.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback
384 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Books of the Month
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409114475

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools