win prizes
Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

That Gallagher Girl by Kate Thompson

That Gallagher Girl

Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

If you feel stuck in a rut, hemmed in perhaps, by a routine job and/or the day-to-day grind of children and housework then Cat Gallagher, the heroine of this book, will bring out the rebellious hippy maverick you could have been. Go fetch that old bandana; dig out that shawl and those comfortably loose cotton trousers; crack open a bottle of wine and lose yourself in this enjoyable book. You'll find you have escaped to the changeable weather of the Western Irish Coast and the consistently quirky life of a distinctly appealing character.

If you like Kate Thompson you might also like to read books by Donna Hay.


That Gallagher Girl by Kate Thompson

Times are hard in the village of Lissamore on Ireland's West Coast. So it's lucky that free-spirited Cat Gallagher knows a thing or two about breaking and entering. Times are hard in the village of Lissamore on Ireland's West Coast. So it's lucky that free-spirited Cat Gallagher knows a thing or two about breaking and entering. When her beloved houseboat burns down she finds herself eyeing up the abandoned Villa which seems to suit her purposes admirably. But when a mystery buyer turns up, Cat is in a quandary. She needs money, a roof over her head and for the first time in her life Cat needs a helping hand! Rio Kinsella is also in a predicament. She is in possession of a secret that has the potential to transform not only her own life, but the lives of those dearest to her. Before long, Rio finds herself lost in a labyrinth of lies, deceit and good intentions gone wrong. Can the two women find a way through their problems? That Gallagher Girl takes us back to the wonderful world of Lissamore with another heart-warming tale filled with a wonderful cast of characters. Full of tears and laughter it is the perfect read for fans of Cathy Kelly and Maeve Binchy.


'To know Cat Gallagher is to love her. A wonderful book.'
Marian Keyes

About the Author

Kate Thompson

Kate Thompson is one of the most exciting authors writing for young people today for she is a born storyteller, is highly original and thought-provoking in her ideas. She has travelled widely in the USA and India and studied law in London. After living in County Clare, she moved to Kinvara in County Galway and there, three years ago, she discovered her passion for playing the fiddle. She is now an accomplished player and also has a great interest in restoring instruments. Kate Thompson has won the Children’s Books Ireland Bisto Book of the Year award three times – in 2002 for The Beguilers, in 2003 for The Alchemist’s Apprentice and in 2004 for Annan Water. The New Policeman won the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize and the Whitbread Book Award Children’s category in 2005.

Image Copyright © 2005 Random House Publishers

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th March 2011


Kate Thompson

More books by Kate Thompson
Author 'Like for Like'


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


400 pages


Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter