desmond elliott 2017 rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

New York Valentine by Carmen Reid
  

New York Valentine

Part of the Annie Valentine Series
Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Snapping at Sophie Kinsella’s heels, Carmen Reid has written a must-read tale of romance but with an edge as Annie Valentine, personal shopper extraordinaire with a dream job in Manhatten must make a choice; that of her new love in New York or her family in London but Annie thinks she can have both, but can she? Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Sex and the City will love it!

If you like Carmen Reid you might also like to read books by Adele Parks, Josie, Rees, Emlyn Lloyd and Arabella Weir.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

New York Valentine by Carmen Reid

Love is in the air! Personal shopper Annie Valentine has a dream job in the heart of fabulous Manhattan. Daughter Lana is lost in the heat of first love, but has she fallen for a heart-breaker? In London husband Ed faces a scandal at work and knows, in his heart, he needs Annie back. What's a girl to do when her true love is in London but her new love is New York? Does it have to be fashion or family, or can Annie Valentine have it all?


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'Outrageously funny, this Gok Wan-esque story is filled with shopaholic fabulousness' Now Magazine

'Annie Valentine is a wonderful character - I want her to burst into my life and sort out my wardrobe for me!' Jill Mansell

'Cleverer that the average slice of chick-lit and much more entertaining too' Heat

'A brilliant read that'll be popular with fashionistas! 4 stars' Closer

About the Author

Carmen Reid

Carmen Reid was our Guest Editor in February 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Carmen Reid was born and brought up in a chilly and windy corner of Scotland in the depths of the countryside.

This may explain her lifelong phobia of cows and abiding interest in cities, department stores, books, the cinema and newspapers.

Her parents still live on the organic farm she grew up on and she goes back regularly to eat the alarmingly healthy home-grown meals which probably turned her into a 6" lass.

She spent four teenage years at a girls' boarding school in Edinburgh (yes, just like the one in Secrets at St Jude's!) where she read her way through the school library. Favourite subjects: English, German, French and Spanish.

After school, she went to study English Literature at University College, London, though her fashion sense will remain "Edinburgh-with-an-edge" forever.

Being a student in London was fantastic - she even paid a few bills with modelling jobs. After uni, she went back to Scotland to work as a local newspaper reporter: a brilliant job for anyone planning a career as an author.

London kept calling and she was soon back working for news agencies then a national tabloid. She has interviewed many famous (and often unwilling) people but was especially dazzled by Hugh Grant (even better looking in real life!), Rupert Everett and Elle Macpherson.

Knowing deep down that she was supposed to be an author not a journo, she left her day job to have a baby and write her first novel. (Hey, and just a few sleepless, penniless years later it was published!)

Although there is a corner of her heart that will always belong to London (and she still knows all the streets like a cabbie) Carmen now lives in Glasgow, Scotland, with her husband, Thomas, her two lovely children, Jimmy the Jack Russell and the (now sadly) two goldfish. She writes full-time and is aiming to have four new books out in 2011.

Fortunately her hobbies include laundry, cooking, cleaning, arguing about whose turn it is to walk the dog, cleaning the fish tank, doing the school run... and so on.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th January 2011

Author

Carmen Reid

More books by Carmen Reid
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.carmenreid.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780552163170

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools