Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

books of the month debuts of the month tudor queens series
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

New York Valentine by Carmen Reid
  

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Snapping at Sophie Kinsella’s heels, Carmen Reid has written a must-read tale of romance but with an edge as Annie Valentine, personal shopper extraordinaire with a dream job in Manhatten must make a choice; that of her new love in New York or her family in London but Annie thinks she can have both, but can she? Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Sex and the City will love it!

If you like Carmen Reid you might also like to read books by Jane Costello, Adele Parks and Sophie Kinsella.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

New York Valentine by Carmen Reid

Love is in the air! Personal shopper Annie Valentine has a dream job in the heart of fabulous Manhattan. Daughter Lana is lost in the heat of first love, but has she fallen for a heart-breaker? In London husband Ed faces a scandal at work and knows, in his heart, he needs Annie back. What's a girl to do when her true love is in London but her new love is New York? Does it have to be fashion or family, or can Annie Valentine have it all?


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'Outrageously funny, this Gok Wan-esque story is filled with shopaholic fabulousness' Now Magazine

'Annie Valentine is a wonderful character - I want her to burst into my life and sort out my wardrobe for me!' Jill Mansell

'Cleverer that the average slice of chick-lit and much more entertaining too' Heat

'A brilliant read that'll be popular with fashionistas! 4 stars' Closer

About the Author

Carmen Reid

Carmen Reid was our Guest Editor in February 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Carmen Reid was born and brought up in a chilly and windy corner of Scotland in the depths of the countryside.

This may explain her lifelong phobia of cows and abiding interest in cities, department stores, books, the cinema and newspapers.

Her parents still live on the organic farm she grew up on and she goes back regularly to eat the alarmingly healthy home-grown meals which probably turned her into a 6" lass.

She spent four teenage years at a girls' boarding school in Edinburgh (yes, just like the one in Secrets at St Jude's!) where she read her way through the school library. Favourite subjects: English, German, French and Spanish.

After school, she went to study English Literature at University College, London, though her fashion sense will remain "Edinburgh-with-an-edge" forever.

Being a student in London was fantastic - she even paid a few bills with modelling jobs. After uni, she went back to Scotland to work as a local newspaper reporter: a brilliant job for anyone planning a career as an author.

London kept calling and she was soon back working for news agencies then a national tabloid. She has interviewed many famous (and often unwilling) people but was especially dazzled by Hugh Grant (even better looking in real life!), Rupert Everett and Elle Macpherson.

Knowing deep down that she was supposed to be an author not a journo, she left her day job to have a baby and write her first novel. (Hey, and just a few sleepless, penniless years later it was published!)

Although there is a corner of her heart that will always belong to London (and she still knows all the streets like a cabbie) Carmen now lives in Glasgow, Scotland, with her husband, Thomas, her two lovely children, Jimmy the Jack Russell and the (now sadly) two goldfish. She writes full-time and is aiming to have four new books out in 2011.

Fortunately her hobbies include laundry, cooking, cleaning, arguing about whose turn it is to walk the dog, cleaning the fish tank, doing the school run... and so on.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th January 2011

Author

Carmen Reid

More books by Carmen Reid
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.carmenreid.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780552163170

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools