Eagle's Prey

by Simon Scarrow

Part of the Eagle Series

Historical fiction eBooks of the Month Action Adventure

LoveReading Expert Review of Eagle's Prey

Late summer AD44 and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. Veteran officer Macro and recently appointed centurion Cato face another challenge in their battle for control of the British Isles. This is the fifth in this engrossing series of blood, guts, treachery and grit. They do stand on their own but it is so much more fun if you follow through the characters as they build. Under the Eagle is the first.

Comparison: Manda Scott’s Boudica, Steven Pressfield, Conn Iggulden.
Similar this month: Bernard Cornwell, James Barrington.

Sarah Broadhurst

Eagle's Prey Synopsis

THE EAGLE'S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's gripping historical novels: 'Ferocious and compelling' Daily Express

Britannia, AD 44. The time has come to claim Britain for the Empire. Centurions Cato and Macro are preparing for what their leaders say will be the final battle against those natives refusing to accept the civilising force of Rome. The British savages will surely stand no chance against the might of the unstoppable Roman army.

But young Cato is more concerned about hot-headed cohort commander, Maximius, than about the enemy, and with Roman troops being brutally slaughtered, even grizzled veteran Macro is having doubts about the promised ease of their success. Will they be victorious - or will the battle cost both of them more than they could ever imagine?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780755349999
Publication date: 13th November 2008
Author: Simon Scarrow
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win A Pair of Tickets to The Witchfinder's Sister!

Win A Pair of Tickets to The Witchfinder's Sister!

Closing date: 28/10/2021

The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown has been adapted for the stage.   This spellbinding and haunting historical thriller was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and has been adapted for the stage by award-nominated playwright Vickie Donoghue. To celebrate the World premiere of this chilling and creepy tale of Essex witch hunts we're working with Queen's Theatre, Hornchurch to offer 2 pairs of tickets to the 2:30pm matinee performance on Saturday the 30th September. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 28th October 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Eagle's Prey

Britannia
 Rizzio: Darkland Tales
When the Eagle Hunts
Painted in Blood

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780755349999
Publication date: 13/11/2008
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His bestsellers include his earlier novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently Praetorian and The Legion, as well as Sword and Scimitar, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and four novels about the lives of the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon Bonaparte - Young Bloods, The Generals, Fire and Sword and The Fields of Death. He is the author with T. J. Andrew s of the bestselling Arena. Simon's novels have been published in the USA and in translation all around the world.   Author photo © Crest Photography

More About Simon Scarrow

More Books By Simon Scarrow

Eagle's Prey
Eagle's Prey
Eagle's Prey
View All Books By Simon Scarrow

Share this book