LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Eagle's Prey

by Simon Scarrow

Part of the Eagle Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Eagle's Prey

Late summer AD44 and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. Veteran officer Macro and recently appointed centurion Cato face another challenge in their battle for control of the British Isles. This is the fifth in this engrossing series of blood, guts, treachery and grit. They do stand on their own but it is so much more fun if you follow through the characters as they build. Under the Eagle is the first.

Comparison: Manda Scott’s Boudica, Steven Pressfield, Conn Iggulden.
Similar this month: Bernard Cornwell, James Barrington.

Sarah Broadhurst

Eagle's Prey Synopsis

THE EAGLE'S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's gripping historical novels: 'Ferocious and compelling' Daily Express

Britannia, AD 44. The time has come to claim Britain for the Empire. Centurions Cato and Macro are preparing for what their leaders say will be the final battle against those natives refusing to accept the civilising force of Rome. The British savages will surely stand no chance against the might of the unstoppable Roman army.

But young Cato is more concerned about hot-headed cohort commander, Maximius, than about the enemy, and with Roman troops being brutally slaughtered, even grizzled veteran Macro is having doubts about the promised ease of their success. Will they be victorious - or will the battle cost both of them more than they could ever imagine?

124 copies of The Great Gatsby to mark the 124th anniversary of Fitzgerald's birth!

124 copies of The Great Gatsby to mark the 124th anniversary of Fitzgerald's birth!

Closing date: 25/10/2020

To celebrate the 124th anniversary of F. Scott Fitzgerald's birth we're working with No Exit Press to give away a whopping 124 copies of Fitzgerald's most popular title The Great Gatsby! This new edition of the classic includes a foreword by critically acclaimed novelist Michael Farris Smith, as well as an exclusive extract of his forthcoming novel, NICK, which imagines narrator Nick Carraway’s life before The Great Gatsby. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 25th October 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

Cilka's Journey
The Devil and the Dark Water
The Lost Lights of St Kilda
The Evening and the Morning

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755349999
Publication date: 13/11/2008
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755349999
Publication date: 13th November 2008
Author: Simon Scarrow
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His bestsellers include his earlier novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently Praetorian and The Legion, as well as Sword and Scimitar, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and four novels about the lives of the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon Bonaparte - Young Bloods, The Generals, Fire and Sword and The Fields of Death. He is the author with T. J. Andrew s of the bestselling Arena. Simon's novels have been published in the USA and in translation all around the world.   Author photo © Crest Photography

More About Simon Scarrow

More Books By Simon Scarrow

Cover for Hearts of Stone by Simon Scarrow
Cover for Britannia by Simon Scarrow
Cover for Britannia by Simon Scarrow
View All Books By Simon Scarrow

Share this book