Stone's Fall

by Iain Pears

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Stone's Fall

 

Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 25 July 2010.

 

Shortlisted for the inaugural Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction 2010.

 

A brilliantly plotted novel tracing back through John Stones’s life in three distinct segments allowing the reader to slowly unravel the mystery behind John’s death at the beginning of the novel. An exceptional book, both fascinating and gripping.

Stone's Fall Synopsis

In his most dazzling and brilliant novel since An Instance of the Fingerpost, Iain Pears tells the story of John Stone, financier and armaments manufacturer, a man so wealthy that in the years before World War One he was able to manipulate markets, industries and indeed whole countries and continents. A panoramic novel with a riveting mystery at its heart, Stone's Fall is a quest to discover how and why John Stone dies, falling out of a window at his London home. Chronologically, it goes backwards - London in 1909, then Paris in 1890, and finally Venice in 1867 - and Stone's character and motivation deepen as the book progresses; in the first part he is almost an abstraction, existing only in the memory of those who knew him; in the second he is a character, but only a secondary one; and, in the third he is the narrator of the story. A quest, then, but also a love story and a murder mystery, set against the backdrop of the evolution of high-stakes international finance, Europe's first great age of espionage and the start of the twentieth century's arms race. Like Fingerpost , Stone's Fall is an intricate and richly satisfying puzzle, completely engaging on many levels, a triumphant return for one of the world's great storytellers.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

Nutshell
Nutshell
Revolution A History of England Volume IV
Seveneves

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780099516170
Publication date: 03/06/2010
Publisher: Vintage an imprint of CCV
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780099516170
Publication date: 3rd June 2010
Author: Iain Pears
Publisher: Vintage an imprint of CCV
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 608 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Iain Pears

Iain Pears was born in 1955, educated at Wadham College, Oxford and won the Getty Scholarship to Yale University. He has worked as a journalist, an art historian and a television consultant. He is the author of many books, including the bestselling An Instance of the Fingerpost and The Dream Of Scipio.  He lives with his wife and son in Oxford.

More About Iain Pears

More Books By Iain Pears

Cover for Arcadia by Iain Pears
Cover for Portrait by Iain Pears
View All Books By Iain Pears

Share this book