book price comparison Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

No One You Know by Michelle Richmond
  

No One You Know

Family Drama   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

June 2009 Debut of the Month.

The devastating effect on a close family when their genius daughter is murdered. The younger, carefree sister narrates this tragic tale 14 years after the event when she is at last able to piece the clues together and find a solution. It’s an absorbing read made urgent by needing to know ‘whodunit’. But it is much more than that, being a tale of family, loss, love and misused trust to the point of betrayal. A clever, unusual read.

Comparison: Alice Sebold, Donna Tartt.

If you like Michelle Richmond you might also like to read books by Donna Tartt, Alice Sebold and Diane Chamberlain.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

No One You Know by Michelle Richmond

Ellie Enderlin spent most of her childhood living in her sister’s shadow. Lila was the good daughter – a mathematical genius who could do no wrong in their parents’ eyes. Whereas Ellie was younger, wilder and could never quite match up. Until one day the shape of their family changes forever. Lila is brutally murdered. In the aftermath of her sister’s death, Ellie entrusts her most intimate feelings to a man who betrays her utterly by turning the story into a bestselling true crime book - a book that both devastates her family and identifies one of Lila’s professors as her killer.

Twenty years later and two Americans meet by chance in a remote village in Nicaragua. Ellie is now a professional coffee buyer, an inveterate traveller and incapable of trust. Peter is the academic who saw his career ruined by being named as Lila’s killer. He protests his innocence and leaves Ellie with a gift - the notebook that Lila carried everywhere, a piece of evidence not found with her body. Stunned, Ellie will return home to San Francisco to explore the mysteries of Lila’s notebook, filled with mathematical equations, and begin a search that has been waiting for her all these years. It will lead her to discover more about the lover no one knew Lila had, to the motives and fate of the man who profited from their family’s anguish - and to the deepest secrets even sisters keep from each other.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'Thoughtful, involving, intricately constructed, and well written…It's an intelligent, emotionally convincing tale about a family tragedy and the process of storytelling' Boston Globe

'Michelle Richmond is a talent to watch.' Joshilyn Jackson, author of GODS IN ALABAMA

'The whodunit in this luminous novel is not really the hunt for the killer but what drives people’s action and the decisions they make. As complex and beautiful as a mathematical proof, this gripping, thought-provoking novel will keep you thinking long after the last page has been turned...a riveting mystery about truth, loss and the power of love' Family Circle

‘A terrific literary mystery' - Daily Mail

'Perfect for fans of Donna Tartt and Alice Sebold' – Press Association

**** - OK! Magazine

About the Author

Michelle Richmond is the New York Times bestselling author of The Year of Fog. Her award-winning stories and essays have appeared in Glimmer Train, Playboy, The Oxford American, and elsewhere. She has been a James Michener Fellow, and her fiction has received the Associated Writing Programs Award and the Mississippi Review Prize. A native of Mobile, Alabama, Michelle lives with her husband and son in San Francisco, where she is at work on her next novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th June 2009

Author

Michelle Richmond

More books by Michelle Richmond
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

michellerichmond.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Ebury Press

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780091928919

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools